The Old Dog Explains: What I Learned About Money From Cleaning Out My Sock Drawer!

in #fiat6 years ago (edited)

Ok, Ok, I exaggerated. I didn't really clean out my sock drawer but my wife cleaned out hers and the lessons were REAL!

How Did Cleaning Out a Sock Drawer Teach Me About Money?


Do you ever end up with a bunch of foreign currency when you travel? Well we do and over the years my wife has sorted it according to county, put it in envelopes and stuffed it in her drawer with the hope of using it one day. The problem is that that day doesn't always come!

The other day my wife decided to clean out the drawer and see what we had. The results were not only eye opening but provided a lesson on what real money is!


After "saving" this money for years most of it is worthless!

Most of The Old Money Was Now Worth Little or Even Worthless!

Worthless:

We had "money" from many countries that was no longer legal tender and had absolutely no value. For example all of the following currencies had since been replaced by the Euro:

  • 409.60 Slovenian Sit......Worthless
  • 228.10 French Francs.....Worthless
  • 85.28 Austrian Schillings.....Worthless
  • 5.13 German Marks.......Worthless
  • Thousands of Italian Lire........Worthless

Worth Little:

Of course inflation also eats away at the value of a currency and therefore what you stuck in your sock drawer 20 years ago will likely have only a fraction of the purchasing power that it had when you put it there.

For example we had $14.00 U.S. dollars. The buying power of the US Dollar goes down every year!


Watch How The Value Goes Down:

  • In 1900 for $1.00 you could buy a pair of fine leather shoes!
  • In 1940 for $1.00 you could buy 20 bottles of Coca Cola
  • In 1960 for $1.00 you could buy 2 movie tickets
  • In 2000 for $1.00 you could buy a Wendy's hamburger
  • In 2010 for $1.00 you could buy 1 song on iTunes

We Did Find One Major Exception to This Trend!


Included with all of the coins that we found was a 20 Swiss Franc coin from 1898. The difference this time is that the coin was made of gold! 


The coin on the left (20 Swiss Francs from 1898), although the smallest and not necessarily the best looking is made of gold. The other two coins from Italy and The Dominican Republic are basically worthless!


Look at the amount of gold that 20 Swiss Francs could purchase in 1898:

20 Swiss francs  in  1898 could buy 5.815650142709974 gram gold. (According to the Historical Currency Converter tool)

As you can see the 20 Swiss Franc Coin that we found contains exactly 5.806450 grams of fine gold! 



The spot price of 5.815650142709974 grams of gold today is $241.81


Here you can see a coin similar to ours on eBay selling for $260.00. Depending on the condition of the coin they can sell for up to $496.00 This is because the coin not only has the value of the gold but value as a rare coin as well!


Look What I Read in a Post by @onceuponatime Yesterday!


""Fiat" currency. Every fiat currency in history  has gone to a zero value, and on average in well under 50 years. Gold  and silver have NEVER gone to zero value, anywhere, anytime. In fact,  during some hyper inflations of fiat a few gold coins would buy you  enormous amounts of hard assets (houses, land, factories etc.). Enough  said?"

Source: @onceuponatime

I guess that you're right @onceuponatime. My sock drawer research proves it!


So, What Have I Learned About Money From My Sock Drawer?


Many are skeptical about crypto currency. They say that it isn't real money. However is what many consider "real money" (fiat currency) really real money? 

One thing is for sure Gold and Silver have been real money, real stores of value, for as long as mankind has been recording history! 

Points to Ponder!

  • Does crypto have any parallels to precious metals?   
  • Is there a way to invest in physical gold or silver using crypto?
  • Have you heard of the Quint? Check here and here
  • Have you investigated purchasing gold with Bitshares?


I hope that you enjoyed this article about " What I Learned About Money From Cleaning Out My Sock Drawer!"


Until next time,


@kus-knee (The Old Dog) 


,

Sort:  

I fully agree 2with you jus-knee! I have those currencies too, and they don't have that value anymore, and because of time schedule hasn't been to these countries again! But, with the gold coins, numismatic club usually buy those rare coins and paper currencies that's rare and out of circulation! I got three gold coins the 'Queen Isabella', given to me by my grandpa, but I actually pawned it to a friend, and he just vanished! Well, lesson learned! Better put it in SteemPower! period! that's for the share! It opened my eyes again!

Thanks for writing your experience.

IMG_20180515_222749.jpg

Nice! Is that a 5 Franc silver coin?

No the Gold fräneli, the same that you have :-D

Ahh, it looks so big!

I know, my smartphone made it bigger :-D

"Every fiat currency in history has gone to a zero value, and on average in well under 50 years. " Many dont realize this, but it makes sense since you can't create money out of thin air, still this is what they do when they print fiat currency.

When it comes to crypto there is atleast many times a fixed supply, that can prevent it from being deluted, plus it's more convenient than fiat, since you can store it digitally yourself without the use of a third party.

The old coin is awesome and it goes to show that real money has to be backed by something, wether it's gold silver or technology, atleast it has an underlying value.

Hey @dandesign86 how are you?

You make several great points here!

I'm very good my friend ! I'm enjoying life here a lot and appreciate the beautiful nature and the clean air. It's interesting to see, what little we need, if we understand to appreciate what it is we have

This is good news and a good way of viewing things!

I really enjoyed this post. It did a great job of getting me to actually think about how risky and volatile fiat currency is. This site will allow you to buy precious metals with Bitcoin - https://goldsilver.com/ I’m sure there are a few others now too.

Thanks for the comment and the link!

You’re welcome!

I think you will find you proved Gresham's law.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gresham%27s_law
IOW bad money drives out the better money. The gold (good) is not in circulation as is the case with our silver coins. Now we dont even have copper pennies, they have went to zinc.

Very cool. I had never heard of that law so thanks for the education.

Thank goodness that the Old Dig is still learning!

This is beautiful, the irony is that the fact that people do not see that fiat currency inevitability to become worthless is really alarming they fight against cryptocurrency everyday saying it's not legal or worthy, well they argue in ignorance

Crypto is certainly becoming more and more main stream.

Really interesting kus-knee! I have a gold coin somwhere in the drawer xD! I was about to sell it but I changed my mind...

Dig deeply into all of your drawers and you will surely find a treasure!

You know what I learned about money cleaning out my sock drawer??? That I don't keep money in my sock drawer! I never seem to be able to hold on to it long enough to make it that far!

LOL. OK, so do this Rich. Have a look in the crack between the back of the couch and the seat cushions. Since you've likely not cleaned back there since, well ever, there's bound to be some coins back there! LOL

Sorry- I'm one of those OCD people. When I get home I clean out my pockets and put my change in a jar for my granddaughter!

That’s a good idea! I did something similar for most of my life!

indeed buying silver and gold is a wonderful wealth preservation. That is what the elites are doing today and some banks too. A gold piece 100 years costing $20 could dress a man nicely. A gold piece still can. However that $20 dollar bill does not even buy a good pair of shoes. As for the foreign currency, hope that it becomes collectible and regains value that way. Thanks @kus-knee. Well said.

Yes it hasn't lost its value!

•Does crypto have any parallels to precious metals?

You see crypto is just evolving and adoptions are taking place,soon and soon enough there would interactions.

•Is there a way to invest in physical gold or silver using crypto?

As I’ve said, when adoption of crypto is widely accepted. Then deals in gold and silver will be sealed in crypto transactions

•Have you heard of the Quint?

I haven’t but I’d love to know about this so I’m checking it out right away

•Have you investigated purchasing gold with Bitshares?

No I haven’t not yet, can it be done ? I guess I’d find out.

Thanks my friend for the information and enlightenment.

Thanks for your nice comments and answers to my questions! I'll hold the gold!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64733.60
ETH 3170.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16