Fiber Optic Connections In 1000 Person Town?!?!?

in #fiberoptic6 years ago

image
My connection situation went from crack baby status to king status in a matter of a day. It turns out there is a small company putting fiber lines into town in Indiana and you can get up to 1Gbps down and 250Gbps up for $70 / month which is insane! No Contract either!!!!

The highest speed test I was able to do ended up at 860Mbps down but who is complaining?

The fiber is really thing and hard to believe information can travel that fast over it!
image
People would have killed for connections like this in Arizona. It seemed like the fastest a person could have gotten was 150 Mbps through Comcast.
image
Best of all there is no data limit! I can stream 4K all day everyday and it doesn’t matter!

I uploaded a 3GB file in about 4 minutes. Right now I’m bouncing around so I’m not there right now. It will be my little crypto hangout though!

Sort:  

Wowww, that's insane. Fast internet is one thing I really miss...

It was unexpected for sure. Plus you are probably tripped up by the great firewall.

Indiana is an interesting state. I'm also here currently and theres so many lil thinks like this that make me want to stay here but uggh this place is just so much slower than I'm used to.

This doesn't surprised me though as the state of Indiana is pushing extremely hard to win the bid to have Amazon move their headquarters to Indianapolis.

After being in Arizona I sort of respected the Indiana economy a lot more. Most of the land in Arizona is useless for trying to grow anything so having land where things can be grown adds a really valuable demension to the entire Indiana economy. Do I want to stay here too long. Probably not. Hahahha..... get ready for the 40 degree rainy weather.

Good to see you're liking the change of scenery!

I am lucky just to hit 1Mbps with my connection :/
This happened because of the duopoly in Internet service in my country, the government is doing something at least about it @brianphobos

Well hopefully things get better but it could certainly be worse. It is tough with videos these days.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29