Heavy day. Micro-fiction for the @jayna Micro-fiction contest

in #fiction5 years ago

Dear friends, I leave for you a micro-story for the @jayna contest (bases here). The word chosen for this edition is rainbow.
It's not a word I use much, but it worked as an inspiration to produce a plot... nothing romantic. It was fun.
What more can I ask for?
Like the protagonist of my story, I had a hard day today. We had two power outages that added up to six hours of frustration and unproductivity, and heat, and big mosquitoes like prehistoric birds. However, except for the day the little joy of having another story.
I greet the constancy of @jayna to produce these opportunities at the end of the rainbow.
I am grateful


A rainbow at Dally

Source



Heavy Day


Like his father, and like his father's father before him, Alvin was going to fulfill his guard. The cold was killing him and he was stunned.
And he had a dog mood.
In fact, the pot he was guarding had him up to his ass.
He remembered that, as a child, there was nothing else he longed for but to become a guardian and live adventures like his grandfather: one day, he told, an old man kidnapped him and wanted to steal his gold, but he was more astute... Another day, he managed to lose some thieves in the mountain... Another, a fairy drugged him with magic dust (story he told in whispers; grandmother couldn't stand the episode)... An exciting working life. He, on the other hand, for fifteen years had only seen cows graze...
Suddenly, there was the pot revered by generations...
Alvin never dared to look inside.
Why so much reverence? He felt like shit, so he'd better find out why he was trying.
He did. He uncovered the pot. Inside there wasn't much: the end of the rainbow melting gold coins.
Grumbling, he swallowed a flu shot, unfolded the newspaper and set out to fulfill his day...


Gracias por la compañía. Bienvenidos siempre.


En mi país hay tortura, desapariciones, ajusticiamientos, violaciones masivas de derechos humanos.
¡Libertad para mi país!

In my country there is torture, disappearances, executions, massive violations of human rights.
Freedom for my country!




Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://adncabrera.vornix.blog/2019/04/08/heavy-day-micro-fiction-for-the-jayna-micro-fiction-contest/

Sort:  

Congratulations @adncabrera! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 700 replies. Your next target is to reach 800 replies.
You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Beautiful story, @adncabrera. I love all the drama this little guy experiences -- from kidnappings to being drugged by fairies. After all that his pot of melted gold is the least exciting thing in his life. An unusual take on the end of the rainbow lore!

Power outages must not be fun at all. Not to mention "big mosquitoes like prehistoric birds." Ugh!

Thank you for the visit and comment, appreciated @jayna.
I had fun imagining the situation of the character and writing.
Sorry for my late response, the blackouts didn't allow me to connect.
A hug!

Congratulations. You won3rd prize in the Literary Talent Award Contest. I hope you will participate in this month's contest.

https://steemit.com/writing/@freewritehouse/winner-literary-talent-award-march-2019

I'm very, very happy!
It is an honor for me that my texts have been considered by your prestigious team. I really appreciate the work you are doing to promote quality at Steemit.
This distinction commits me to work to improve.
Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64555.14
ETH 3086.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85