A Touch of Gold. (An original short fiction story)

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

image

Have you ever wanted something so badly that you will stop at nothing till it’s finally yours? Say you met with a mystical creature, your fairy godmother or so, who says she could make your dreams come true if only you make a wish for a price, and you are so much obsessed with that which you desire and every moment you spent without it feels like eternal torment in hell, what will you do? You make the wish first and later pay the ultimate price?

Most times we jeopardize what we have for what we don’t, it is good to desire something but worse when the costs are not being considered. I get it. The offer might be very tempting at times, “much tempting is the fact that I get to make my own reality by making a wish.

I did have what I so desire but it came at a cost. Before then, I had spent most of my life brooding over even the most trivial things. I get jealous and frustrated easily, even though poor as a church rat, I could miraculously afford a three square meal daily, sleep soundly if I wanted to, but an obsession wouldn’t grant me peace of mind. I had a friend whom I so much admire, he could do almost anything, have anything at will, and he’s usually found amongst flocks of girls having fun as he would call it. Though we were best of friends,”people don’t see it that way. I was seen as that poor lad who exploits opportunities and became friend to a rich dude, “Charlie.”

The truth is; for some reason, Charlie loves being around me. I don’t seem to have anything of interest, what could he practically want? Neither did I inquire nor tried finding out. I was enjoying the moment and I wouldn’t want anyone to ruin that for me. It didn’t last anyway. People have this frustrating habit of picking the slightest of details making a rumor out of it, “starting with one person to another until it continues in a loop till if finally reaches your hearing. Well it did. I felt completely off ever since and tried keeping my distance as far as possible way from my supposed best friend. I wished and wished everyday for something somewhat impossible, “wished for anything that comes in contact with my body turn to gold because i figured out that it would somewhat make me, perhaps the wealthiest.

Then it happened, I thought I was dreaming……..Of course, no one would expect a creature as such to pop up out of the blue in this 21st century. I had been opportune to listen to fairy tales every full moon when I was much younger. Say age 4 or 5 maybe. But it has never felt so real until now. In my very presence is a creature who introduced itself as my fairy godmother asking me if I would do anything to make my wish come true.

I would. Now make a wish but it comes at a cost, she told me. Anything! I answered reassuringly. What is it that you desire? Young lad!

I have never been so shaky before, I answered, stammering a couple of times to get word out of my mouth “I want everything I touch turn to gold.”

I want everything i touch turn to gold!!!

image

Perhaps I should have thought of it deeply before I answered but I was so awed by this mystic presence that words just found their way out of my mouth. At last, it has been said, a wish has been made. I waited to woken and be told all was a dream but no one did.

Suddenly I heard the fairy godmother enchant in a tongue I guess was ancient. Maybe it was, perhaps from the beginning of time. Then a violent wind rustled in, and then everywhere was silent and still. The fairy godmother said to me, “finally it is done” and then rupture into thin air grafting me a sounding echo of warning “Remember! It comes at a cost”

I didn’t feel much different after she was gone, I pinched myself hard and it pained a great deal. That way, I definitely knew I wasn’t dreaming. I was bamboozled by the events that followed which ushered me into a whole new order, another shot at life, and I was prepared to enjoy it as best as I can. After that fairy godmother incident, I had stepped out of my wretched apartment and was out strolling to enjoy the fresh evening breeze, and then it happened. A lady’s pen dropped and I hurriedly bent down to pick it up but surprisingly it turned gold at my touch, I gave the pen back to the owner who was much overjoyed to have a golden pen and even forgot to offer a thank you note but instead spread the news, it grew like wildfire just like it did in the past.

I have considered my life meaningless until that day when finally everything spurred around and I was a centre of attraction. I cherished those golden moments when everyone seems to completely forget Charlie and focus on me. I had good intentions but it came with a dire urge for revenge of wrongs done to me in the past. Those hateful memories came rushing back as if they knew time was ripe, it had to be done anyway. I gifted presents of gold to those that found favour in my eyes to my heart’s delight and satisfaction while those in my “dark diary” as I would call it, were shunned by myself and newly found allies. It feels good seeing the whole world revolving around me, by that time I had attained fame in an instance and good news of my wealth as travelled far and wide.

It was a wonderful game of revenge subtly revealing on their faces how the tables have turned so quick, “the wretched and poor lad, now the city’s hero.” It did them a great deal of hurting when they suffered rejection from others, they were now in that piteous position I was some few days back, and it dawned on them, it felt more like the whole world was closing in on them. They begged and begged that I stop but I didn’t listen, I was too engrossed exercising my revenge on a full scale.

And sooner without knowing why, Charlie started keeping distance like never before, he rarely visits and always coming up with excuses whenever I make a fuss of it. I have had my fair share of revenge. I had attained fame, respect and power overnight, I had suddenly become a powerful force to be reckoned with, I grew wild gradually, “so did my obsession.

Any time I come to think of it, it looks funny how people rarely directly wish what they really want. I had fallen into that category, I had asked my fairy godmother earlier for “a touch of gold” but now I realize that it wasn’t that which I wanted. I realize that no one wants wealth just to be wealthy. We all want wealth because we think it will make us happy. But in the end, it remains as just means to an end; I was the wealthiest man of the 21st century but with it came a price to be paid. Being accepted and valued by others for who we truly are is something I realize missing, furthermore I realize that true happiness isn’t gotten from wealth.

A lot of things I realized.
I had been so shortsighted in weighing my options or rather carelessly. I had been too obsessed with my desire to notice that, with ability such as mine, came responsibility and liability respectively. I had taken a drastic decision and the consequence I now suffer from. I had plenty of admirers, mooching around the comfort of my luxurious mansion trying so much to catch a glimpse of their object of affection, but their admiration was as empty as the presence I felt around me.

The excitement had worn off. I had a circle of people around me at all times, but was lonely nonetheless. I couldn’t even touch those around me or they all turn to gold, I couldn’t even touch my lover not proceed with our marriage plans, my imperfection is ruining me, breaking me bones by bones until I crave death over existence. I had desired wealth above anything.

A price I had paid in full.

“A golden touch in exchange for true happiness,” confining me within the walls of my own obsession and dissatisfaction.
It left me with a huge void that needs filling.
I had listened to the wagging tongue of the people. I had sought after their acceptance through wealth. But I was wrong, “acceptance isn’t something to be bought or taken, it is something to be earned.”
I had to end this humiliating situation. I had to chase, overtake and conquer with dexterity. At last, I wanted my old life back with love from family and friends. I have had enough of a nightmare of reality.

Desperate, I wished once more that I had my old life back. With a much sober heart than before, I beckon to my fairy godmother. I know something had to be done, so I faced my challenges head on, ready to accept responsibility, ready to accept my old life with whatever comes with it as long as it guarantees happiness.

image

A rustling of wind in the dead of the night, violent than before turned the whole room upside down, then there she was seated comfortably on the fan blade smiling vibrantly at me, I had thought she wouldn’t answer or probably scold me if she did, but this simplicity of attitude makes me somewhat calm.

You finally learnt your lesson, young lad!
I will allow you to make a wish this time. But before you do so, “think carefully.”I was exceedingly glad to have been granted a second chance, and a reason to smile.

“I wish for true happiness,” I muttered beneath a deep breath. Is that really what you want? She asked the same question thrice, and I shook my head plausibly for affirmation. “It is so!” she replied and went back the same way she came, my life turned around in a jiffy and was back to my old self except that there were no more haters, just friends whom I had helped in times of needs and troubles, I had the love and backing of the whole community, I had my friends wrap around my little fingers once again, and I had a lover waiting for us to be joined in holy matrimony.

Thanks for reading!

Images: 1, 2, 3,

Sort:  

Lol well I guess that was a greedy request, for everything to turn to gold 😂😂, beautiful story my friend.

Thanks a lot @josediccus, it really awesome having you around.

Of course my friend, it's been a while

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Aduragbemi from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09