The Stain of Mordred part 10.

in #fiction5 years ago

DSCF0250 (2).JPG

After many more years of study George was on the verge of becoming a Mage, while he would never stop learning his time as an acolyte was coming to an end. At the next Summer Solstice he was to be given his robe to signify his position as an Avalon Mage. It was then that the priestess announced she had to go away for a while but she promised she would return to him.
“Time is moving on George and events have to begin. We both have choices to make but if things go as I hope we will meet outside of our dreams soon.” the Priestess said holding George’s hands.
“I’m not sure I’m ready to lose you, even for a little while.” George said sadly, over the years he had grown to depend on his dreams, the time he spent with his dream priestess made him happier than he imagined he could ever be.
“Listen my love, know that I cherish the time we have spent together talking, I am loath to leave you but we must face our future, you must choose if you are to leave Avalon or not. I have sensed the conflict in you over what is happening in your old world, the pull of that world on you is evident from our time talking. Your experiences during the war almost broke you but instead it forged in you a sense of wanting to save people from pain and suffering. You will be tempted to try and prevent the future but beware for there is great danger for you in that course of action. If you leave Avalon you will be alone and once you start down that path there can be no turning back. Always remember that you are first a healer and the land out there beyond the mist needs to be healed. You would need to work out how to unite and heal the land, something no one else has managed to do.” the Priestess said.
“Sounds an easy task when you put it like that.” George said sarcastically.
“Trust yourself, you could possibly find a way if you decided to leave, you have shown great promise since coming to Avalon. You will be in for some dark days as you decide what you are to do and you will know a return of painful memories but you are stronger than you know. Remember the teaching of your Merlin, the power of the earth is great but it should not be abused. There are limits to what a Mage can do, even when healing and there is always a price to pay. There are many things in nature that can be harnessed to aid you as you learnt in the Village of the Healers. Your teachings as a Mage though has taught you other ways but in order to use them there must be a personal sacrifice.”
“You missed out the often repeated ‘Always act as one with the land’, he told me almost every lesson.” George said with a slight smile.
“He stressed that because the Stain of Mordred began because that was forgotten.” the priestess said, a look of great sadness on her face.
“I have been thinking of returning back to my old world, of at least trying to do something. Over recent years I’ve found myself scrying on the world, seeing the suffering of the people and I feel guilt at being here in safety.”
“So you return and do what? You are not the King with destiny on your side. Before you decide what you are to do you need to be sure of your actions.” the priestess said with a smile.
“We will meet again, you promise?” George asked talking her hands.
“We will if we both make the right choices. I too have a choice that fills me with dread but it is the only way I can see to go forward. We both want the same ends but have to take different paths to get there. Not only our lives will depend on the choices we both make.” the priestess said, her smile returning.
“I feel you are holding back on things, that you want me to leave but are afraid to say it.” George said.
“I must hold back on what I know and I don’t mean to try and influence your choice. You must act alone to get to where you need to be, I’m sorry for being evasive but it must be this way.” the priestess said. “You must choose to go or stay in Avalon and decide what you wish for the future, I can’t help you with the choices and the actions you must make.”

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16