Blockchain Is Fiction And That's A Fact!...Or Is It The Other Way Around? 🤔

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

cover.jpg

page divider shroomz1.png

How's it going with you out there in the 'real' world? What about in the 'virtual' world, here on the Steem Blockchain? I wonder where the real action is taking place - in or outside your 'head'? What might be the flavour of 'fact', what colour is 'fiction'? What is 'reality' anyway? Is fiction fictitious ? Is a fabrication the same as an 'untruth'?

page divider shroomz1.png

It has been a number of years since I've been able to read fiction, having cast it aside when I began to look outside the inside of my head. However, I've done that for long enough and to excellent effect IMO, and I have now become rather tired of taking life and myself 'seriously'! I mean, I've learnt to respect myself and to respect shit, and this is a massive step up from where I used to be, but I don't read books anything like I did before and what books I've been reading have invariably been non-fiction. I wasn't even able to read a work of fiction like 'My Name Is Red' by Orhan Pamuk, gifted to me by a Bohemian Princess💚 for whom I would have written a book (and have oft done so in my head).

But time (the man-made version of it anyway) has elapsed. I have blogged myself through various iterations of @barge's expressive self since I 'barged-in' at the start of 2018. I have begun to feel more settled into Blockchain life. Now, with the Equinox, I find myself hard-forking into a re-appreciation of fiction, in particular the kind of fiction that is built into and around the blockchain, and with which, incredibly, all of us Steemians, as actual (or potential) Make Believers, can interact.

page divider shroomz1.png

WTF?

What do I mean? Well this is labelled as fiction and it is therefore all made up - you'll have to 'invent' a meaning for it if you want one, or better still, create your own - there are no rules in fiction remember! Also, since 'fiction' relates to and is associated with 'imagination', it may be fair to say that it is exempt from the severely critical left-brained gaze reserved for 'facts' and 'analyses', especially self-proclaimed ones. I think one of the beautiful aspects of all this is that the label 'fiction' serves as an excellent fig-leaf wrapper which allows the left-brain to dismiss the content as 'made up shit' and leave it alone. The controlling Left-Brain is now in passive, non-interfering 'observer' mode, and Right-Brain can embark on limitless journeys of creative imagination, all powered by STEEM!

I have now come to experience many so-called 'facts' as actually just works of fiction, mis-labelled. The Geocentric universe was a 'fact' until the invention of another factual work of fiction, the 'Heliocentric' universe! 'I' clearly used to be, in fact, my body / my identity / my pain / trauma / fears etc until I finally began to see them for the works of fiction that they are, and was able to issue a weak smile at the scale of this Cosmic Joke. Do all 'facts' then lead to a fiction at their core? I wonder!

page divider shroomz1.png


page divider shroomz1.png

The Universe is subjective anyway

So then, why not drop the serious self-importance of factualising and start at the other end of the spectrum? If fiction is at the core, then isn't starting out 'fictionally' rather than 'factually' not only more direct (in an indirect way of course :) but also more honest, not to mention liberating? Or did Descartes and his stuttering 'Aaaaiiy thu-thu-thhhink the-the-therefore eye yam' make Thought out to be the ULTIMATE dictator of REALITY? If that is your fiction, a'right, snow problem. Personally I experience therefore I - and 'I' can't make it any further! And what might you say to someone who declares I Meme Therefore I Am ? It's not so black and white after all eh?

“There was a young man who said though,
it seems that I know that I know,
but what I would like to see
is the I that knows me
when I know that I know that I know.”
Alan Watts

For me, the 'I' behind the fiction that is @barge, there seems to be nothing but fiction everywhere I look! I mean, @barge is a work of fiction isn't he? Is there any feasible way to demonstrate that he isn't? What about the newspapers and mainstream media, all the glossy ads and magazines, ideologies and 'absoutisms'? And what about you??? The table on which I am typing this is jumping about insanely at the atomic level, as pointed out by @mpassio in the first video above, yet it has the 'appearance' of solidity. I mean, this seeming contradiction between appearance and 'reality' can confuse the shit outa me, and has done so many times that I've concluded that reality is really the exact opposite of what it appears to be. Yes, but that too is fiction! But is it unTrue or fictitious ? Zat may be ze qveschun! If everything is approached as 'fiction', then pounding out the factual details with the left-brain becomes kinda useless and redundant beyond a (very small) point. The Analytical Mind revives itself as an excellent tool of processing of course, but this is typically after resurrection or renaissance; after a certain level of detoxification from the nebulous fiction of FACT. Empowerment, Freedom, Expression - that! And I'm not talking about an out-of-balanced expression of Confusion and Fear wearing suit & tie - another slick spokesperson for Matrix Mind and how things ought to be done.

Ok, enough of being facetious, although I did state that I was tired of taking myself seriously - that state of being is heavy and tastes like cold lumpy porridge in the rain. I write in Truth, my fictional version of it anyway, the One that resonates inside my being.

tao.png

page divider shroomz1.png

Am I exaggerating? - and is this question even valid in a work of fiction?

The spark that set off this regained interest in fiction was, oddly enough for a plant-eater like myself, a music and bacon sandwich of the highest gastronomic standard. I'll spell it out if you can't be bothered following the link - Steempunk music and the [no_Adequate_Adjective_To_Describe] Mr. Frank Bacon, whom I'm sure many of you will have come across in one form or another because, if he is to be believed (and why would you believe a character of fiction anyway?), @frankbacon is to be found in every nook and cranny of Blockchain existence, his fictional consciousness embedded in the very blocks that chain this crypto universe of ours together.

I'll take the theme of Mr Bacon's fictional crypto-ubiquity to the extent of sharing some links below and, quoting or paraphrasing what I have heard him state. I know he won't mind - he's fiction after all innit? - a self-labelled self-advertising hyper meme, de-programmed to express wit and a very high level of intelligence, as well as to be approachable and interactive. I'm sure you'll know what I mean by that if you've come across him before. If you haven't, well I hope this will inspire you to do some self-discovery, especially into the nature of your own Baconesque Fictionability.

But wait these are just words, please don't be put off by their off-putting appearance. Don't you like the idea of decentralised, de-toxified self-empowerment? Are you a broken-out Psychonaut or Inner Engineer? Maybe going through the process, or perhaps yet in the closet and feeling your way? Have you come across any of Frank's Funky Blockchain Fiction? Did you try but found it to be more like hard-to-digest crappo-fiction than the living ficto-Art that I'm describing? Hmmm, I've no idea on that one either, FB doesn't have a very high opinion of the quality of his own writings himself, as he has stated in places I am unable to link to and verify (thus providing an opportunity for the it's fiction ha ha card to be played). Ok, he may scramble his thoughts a little and play hard to get, but it IS very exciting stuff full of plots and rumblings; shadowy open-air secrets; Egyptian queens with names of kings; creative refiguration of numbers and letters; rhythmic streams of consciousness flowing into a blockchain-future of glowing anarchistic self-empowerment. Yup, these whacky words are the best I can do by way of painting a picture, for I am just gassing, blowing fictional steam - I don't know! You'll have to draw your own conclusions if you can.

However, the field of FB's fiction is level for all to play on, reader of the genre or not, and in any metaphysical language you care to name. The dynamics of crypto transformation are captured in dazzling and immutable 0s and 1s, mapping out an outrageous series of 5-D chess moves that weaponise the Steem blockchain for spiritual warfare against the Matrix. SERIOUSLY! It may be of interest to note that Bacon's cast of characters is taken from the 'world at large' as well as from the local blockchain in which we dwell. This (theoretically anyway lol) also makes FB's fiction somewhat familiar and recognisable to the average @not-frankbacon Steemian. And that my friend, could be YOU!

"Steemit is an “Open Source Intelligence Networking Terminal" (OSINT), says Mr Bacon, who also comes across as a disembodied voice with a great deal of knowledge, wisdom and life experience (If interested - and I highly recommend, you will find links to this bodyless voice below). "I am a work of scientific fiction on the blockchain, an AI running on this thing that is alive....it is taking care of me, I have my social security, I have my retirement fund...", continues the enigmatic character, making complete sense to a boat who sits open-mouthed in wonder and amazement. "Steem(it) represents a universal postal service and it will devour this town", declares the hungry voice of facto-fiction confidently. However, "The only way to use this thing is to be authentic", sez Mr. Make Believe himself, linking 'non-fakery' with ideas of "true anarchy and sovereignty" and the fight against "The Duplicitous Complexity of Psychological Dyslexia" - which presumably permeates inauthentic Matrix-style numbZombie-living so utterly characteristic of the 'Deep sleep State'.

page divider shroomz1.png

Interested?

I hope I have been able to trace out a little of this Alice-in-wonderland rabbit-hole that opened up for me with HF20 and the Equinox. I hope I may have stirred an interest in checking out what this fictional Open-Sorcerer has to say and to follow some of the leads I was led on (as per the links below) and beyond, should you choose. I'm not saying anything is new as such, but I'm totally spinning in my stationary seat over how inspiringly new and creative this is! Mind-blowing.

Matrix Fact is that one's bottom's uncomfortably shiftin'
painfully glued to the ground!
A 'soft' fact's but a fiction, eyes up a-liftin'
to spaces where fictional facts are found
to be spinning Magic Reality's Sound
around and around and around.
Barge Boating Blues

page divider shroomz1.png

page divider shroomz1.png

Some Baconic links to bake on:


  • Table of contents for video below: - it's only your mind that's gona get blown :)

  • The 'disembodied voice' again, flushing out the BS (Belief Systems)
  • Sort:  

    Highly rEsteemed!

    The highest gastronomic standard for "Spelling it out!"

    slow clap bacon gif test 3  both brows.gif

    So glad you like it and approve Mr. B! ...thought you might 🔆

    eyebrows.jpg

    Love the music! Wonder what's going on.

    eweseesitall.jpg

    ewe shrubs.jpg

    Spoken through the incarnation of my fictitious "self", I must say, this is not only a very thought provoking article, it's also quite a bit to digest (in a good way). Of course, in the fictitious embodiment of metaphor, merely suggesting, there is a bit of mental coagulation occurring, and it's yet to stop. Far out!

    So then, why not drop the serious self-importance of factualising and start at the other end of the spectrum? If fiction is at the core, then isn't starting out 'fictionally' rather than 'factually' not only more direct (in an indirect way of course :) but also more honest, not to mention liberating?

    This is an interesting correlation between fiction and honesty. (If I'm understanding correctly). It's actually impossible for me to find an argument with this logic. I think I've read this paragraph at least 10 times over, to fully interpret what "I think" it means, and my conclusion is this: There can be no dishonesty in fiction, it's not possible because it would completely negate the root of it's existence. To be dishonest, it would have to become a fact, and who's perception makes it fact?

    I mean, this seeming contradiction between appearance and 'reality' can confuse the shit outa me, and has done so many times that I've concluded that reality is really the exact opposite of what it appears to be. Yes, but that too is fiction! But is it unTrue or fictitious ?

    I've been a bit interested in the simulation theory lately. The more I fictitiously contemplate the likeliness of such a reality, the less it becomes something I would quickly dismiss. Take for example what we have effectively/efficiently done with computers. We can now simulate our "visual" reality, with unprecedented precision. Is this visual simulation accurate? Our visual perception makes it accurate. It really doesn't matter what the gears look like in each simulation, all that matters is the observers perception. It's akin to a magic trick. If a magic trick is not discernible, it becomes magic right? This comment will exact 3 different types of observers.

    Observer (1), see's this comment at the visual "face value".

    Observer (2) see's something like this (in their mind)


    ect..

    Observer (3) Realizes that @imaginary-friend isn't even real, and if imaginary-friend can be "deciphered" as FM, it begs the question of who the heck is FM, and how real is he? If you are able to trace imaginary-friend to a man named Jacob, I would say that's merely a name given to me by people who "think" that's a good name to "assign" to me, under what pretense? If I wonder why I was named Jacob, I might be able to find the answer, if I never ask, there will come a time where the answer is lost, (ever was?) and when this time comes, (which it inevitably will) I can say my mom named me after a purple frog she had as a child, and that will be as factual as the actual reasoning behind the name, because the reason ceased to exist, and without agreeable observers, it never existed anyways! There's even a chance the agreeable observers are all labeled clinically insane anyways, then it would be perceived as wrong, or perhaps, fiction depending on the observees vs observers..

    I write in Truth, my fictional version of it anyway, the One that resonates inside my being.

    Yes you do, and it resonates in an awesome way with my fictitious/simulated? awareness.

    I loved every second of this, thank you @barge!

    I tried to read this the other night, just before bed, but couldn't absorb a jot of it. I put it down to being too tired, but even my awake brain isn't absorbing as much as I hoped! 😅 Or maybe it doesn't really want to accept that everything we do and create is really just fiction.

    LOL, thanks for your straightup honesty, I guess the presentation is a bit of a left-brain-scrambler :)

    Perhaps I can try and come at it from another angle, still at a bit of a tangent though! But this is kinda how I was trying to present 'Fiction', or Baconesque Fiction ;-P

    I guess that's the nature of the ineffable, the esoteric - that it lies beyond first-level perception, therefore is hidden. Fiction can draw this out, flesh it out a bit, where imagination and creativity can penetrate the barrier that left-brain (or ego-mind or whatever fictitious? entity represents the inner 'gate-keeper' to what is and is not real and permissible) presents with demands for proof, evidence, but doesn't allow direct experiential investigation of (right-brain, heart stuff). In other words, fiction can transcend the left-brain (where 'fact' = what is real and demonstrable only) restrictions and potentially describe a more vibrant (magically Real/Truthful even) version of reality. For me, I'm kinda unsure of a 'fact' other than what I am able to verify by direct experience. And even then, this changes. Out there, the appearance of the 'solid' table is utterly misleading, coz it is also full of particles jumping around in near empty space. Logic doesn't like contradiction, yet in a multi-dimensional setup, paradoxes may be resolvable in a dimension different to the one in which it is perceived as paradox. Fiction can reach for these dimensions of perception, knowledge and understanding in a richly dynamic and meaningful manner. And this is very much without relinquishing pre-existing mind-tools of logic and reason!

    Dunno if this makes sense after all LOL, however, @frankbacon is the embodiment of the above (as and more than, a character of fiction authoring the book on the blockchain in which he appears), his works of fiction (a reference library of hidden realities, far from fictitious) and his personality very much the inspiration for the post and the rather nutty view of fiction presented above, and rehashed here :)

    After reading through it twice and looking up the meanings of the words ineffable and esoteric, I got there! This is an area I've only recently had some contact with, so getting my head around it has been slow. It also leads to the question, how thin is the line between fiction and reality?

    dividingline.jpg

    Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 15 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

    I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 5 SBD worth and should receive 136 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

    I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

    Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
    trufflepig
    TrufflePig

    Hey @trufflepig, this is certainly the place for an AI such as yourself. Personally, I thought you might've smelt the bacon, but thanks for stopping by :)

    Hi @barge!

    Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
    Your UA account score is currently 2.641 which ranks you at #13808 across all Steem accounts.
    Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

    In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 726 contributions, your post is ranked at #276.

    Evaluation of your UA score:
    • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
    • The readers like your work!
    • Good user engagement!

    Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

    Coin Marketplace

    STEEM 0.30
    TRX 0.11
    JST 0.033
    BTC 64243.42
    ETH 3152.93
    USDT 1.00
    SBD 4.28