Storytime: Helena and the Ghost - A Gothic Tale (Part 1)

in #fiction6 years ago

On the occasion of my brother’s engagement, he, our elderly mother and I made a trip to a town, far west of the country, in order to meet the bride-to-be. She was of good family and breed, her house a big property with plantation grounds.

“They say the father is, to say the least, eccentric”, said mama, during the trip.

She didn’t completely agree with the union, but since our father had died she felt she could do very little to impose her will over my brother’s, and had decided, as she told me the night before we left, to ‘watch the situation closely and act accordingly’.

“He’s a visionary, mother” answered my brother Simon. “He’s not mad, he’s not eccentric, he’s only a man trying to make something of himself”. My brother’s tone was as stern as my mother’s gaze. He kept his eyes fixed on the road during the entire journey.

I sat quiet. I knew only what my brother and mother had told me about the girl and her father, most of which was gossip, so I relied on neither of them to create an opinion for myself. Both were rather biased either by love or contempt.

After six tedious hours, we finally arrived to the household. It was an old manor, with several floors and a very odd tower placed towards the west. The yard showed vestige of childish years. The absence of flowerbeds and other ornamental plants made me believe there was no mother in the household.

An old maid greeted us at the door and showed us in with elegant manners. Even though the inside of the house looked impeccable and exquisitely furnished, mama kept regarding her surroundings as if looking for a reason to complain. Simon, on the other hand, had an air of expansive joy about him, and had a very difficult time concealing his broad smile.

“My name Is Lizzie” said the maid, with a youthful voice that didn’t relate at all with her wrinkled face and dark outfit. “Mr. Terrence and I had thought to accommodate the ladies in the attic, where you will find enough space and light for your daily activities, and Mr. Barry in the corner room above the kitchen…”

“Next to my room” boomed suddenly a loud male voice from behind us. As we turned we saw a tall man with unusually large sideburns and a curious outfit, undoubtedly some sort of foreign house robe. “Where I can keep an eye on you, my soon to be –but not yet become- son in law”.

To my amazement, Simon smiled broadly and greeted Mr. Terrence, for it could be no one else, with immense joy. “Thank you for having us, Jason”.

“The pleasure is ours”, replied Mr. Terrence with warmth.

A quick glance at mama told me that she had been doubly appalled, partly because of the man’s general appearance, and partly because of my brother’s unexpected familiarity towards him.

“These, I take, are your relatives” he said, looking at each of us in turn.

”Forgive me” replied Simon, suddenly reminded of his manners. “This is my mother Fanny, and my sister Sarah”.

Mr. Terrance took my mother’s hand and kissed it with decorum. When my turn came, however, he took a step back. “Forgive me, lady” he said, and a mild blush crossed his face. “I may not touch you, for the moment at least”.

“And why is that?” I asked, holding my hand back, a bit befuddled.

“Alas, it’s hard to explain. A thing of energy. Please do not mistake my refrain with dislike towards your person, it’s quite the contrary. You are all very welcome to my home”.

At this, Simon was looking around him rather restlessly. Mr. Terrance must have noticed because he was quick to add. “My daughter, whom I’m sure you are expecting with anticipation, will be back soon. She has gone to town to fetch her wedding dress”.

I suppressed a flinch at these words. My mother, next to me, growled like a disgruntled farm animal. I knew what she was thinking, a wedding dress being bought before meeting the groom’s family, it must smell of despair to her.

We were guided to our rooms by Lizzie. The attic was indeed very comfortable and had a beautiful view of the plantation grounds. The two beds were set on opposite sides of the room and the covers had been lined with fresh rosemary and lavender.

“Mr. Terrance has learned that you enjoy embroidery, Mrs. Barry; and you, Miss Barry, enjoy painting”. Lizzie pointed to a corner of the room where lay embroidery material, several canvas, oil paints and other supplies of the sort. “He asked me to leave these here, for your pleasure. He intends to entertain Mr. Barry by taking him hunting and fencing”.

Mama made a short bow with her head and looked away to the vast countryside that stretched out the window. The sun had already set; the colors of dusk are ever inspiring to me so, naturally, I felt an impulse to play with the apparel left there for our enjoyment. However, I had to still wait before that were possible.

As we cleaned up and made ready for a long awaited dinner, the front door clanked open and shut. “That must be the girl” said mama. “This doesn’t smell good to me…”

“You imagine things, mother” I replied.

“Don’t play fool, Sarah; you must admit that that man refusing to kiss your hand was… odd, to say the least”.

”It was” I admitted, “but he was not rude, I don’t dislike him… And I think you shouldn’t judge the girl by what you see in the father”.

“You think that doesn’t carry?”

I remained quiet and focused on my selection of gloves, trying to find one to match my yellow evening suit. Mama, in turn, was choosing among her silk scarves, complaining over the possibility of drafts.

We left the room when the dinner bell chimed three times and descended the three flights of stairs that led to the main floor in complete silence. Mr. Terrance and his daughter were waiting for us in the sitting room.

I must admit I was neither pleased nor displeased with the girl at first sight. She was younger than me, had a plain but agreeable face and lovely, fair locks of hair. She dressed with elegance but without frill or flare. I noticed at once that her eyes, although happy, seemed tired.

“Mrs. Fanny Barry, Miss Sarah Barry” said Mr. Terrance. “This is my daughter Helena”. The girl bowed her head and smiled at us. At that moment, Simon came trotting down the stairs with horse-like enthusiasm, and rushed to stand before her.

“Pleased to meet you” mama replied curtly.

“It has been centuries, Helena” said my brother. I couldn’t suppress a grin, I had not seen him this excited since we were children, when he would play knight and I would play forest robber. He kneeled before her and kissed her hand. She smiled back at him with tenderness.

“Enough” said Mr. Terrance, looking somewhat uncomfortable. “Let’s move to the dining room”.

Dinner was a pleasant activity. The courses had been delicious, and conversation abound. We learned that the girl’s mother had shared the same name as her, and had died during childbirth. Helena had been trained in singing and playing the violin, and spoke a very fluent French.

“But those are only learned qualities” said Mr. Terrance, giving his daughter a proud look.

“What do you mean, Jason?” asked Simon.

“Oh… You will find out in time. Some people have been gifted at birth with wonderful things”. As he said this, he glanced in my direction. I paid no heed and continued with my meal.

“Shouldn’t we discuss the wedding details?” said Simon, who had been holding Helena’s hand over the table, making it hard for her to eat.

”I don’t know” answered Mr. Terrance. “Should we, Mrs. Barry?”

“Well…” intervened mama, “It is nice someone has finally asked for my opinion”. There was an uncomfortable fidgeting around the table as my brother and I feared one of her usual rants. Mama, elegant and tasteful always, could be very rude if she intended to. “I believe you are a strange man, Mr. Terrance. I believe that this marriage, if it occurs, will bring more trouble than benefit for both our families, and, if I may be so bold, I believe this girl is not happy”. There was an uncomfortable pause. “Her eyes tell me this. I also believe it’s neither her fault, nor my son’s fault if she is, indeed, unhappy. But I will not stand in the way of my son’s wishes. I have no husband anymore, Mr. Terrance, I am only a woman trying to see her children stand on their own feet before she is put to the ground. If the choice were mine, I’d say no, this marriage shouldn’t occur. Sadly…” she heaved a long, heavy sigh. “But there you go, that is my opinion, since you requested for it.”

“Is this true, Helena? Are you unhappy?” asked Mr. Terrance, holding Helena’s free hand.

“No, papa. I’m happy”.

“Of course she’s happy, mama” replied my brother angrily. “Her eyes are just sad like that”.

Helena laughed, I thought her laughter to be born of anxiety rather than humor, but I laughed with her. I knew only too well the effect my mother’s words could have on one’s mind. Our eyes met across the table, dimly lit by odd looking, flickering electric lamps. I knew she was thankful. I made a decision to speak to her alone as soon as I could. In my condition of being a woman, the last thing I would want for myself, or any other, is to land in an unhappy relationship for the rest of my life. My mind was made up to learn the current state of hers upon the matter.

Opportunity came the next day after breakfast.

Mornings in the Terrance household proved to be exceptionally beautiful. A cool air flowed evenly, sunshine was hazy but substantial, and the smell of Lizzie’s cooking brought back pleasant childhood memories. Even mama couldn’t complain.

Helena, however, seemed to be distant. As we ate she neither spoke nor reacted to any of our comments. Her father didn’t seem preoccupied with her attitude, so I assumed it to be common.

“Not everyone is a morning person, sis” said Simon as we walked together in the yard.

“I know, I know… It’s just a bit uncommon”.

“Well, you know my thoughts on common people… Please don’t start behaving like mother, I beg of you”.

We both laughed. “It’s not that, I have only my best interests in you. I want you to have a happy, prosperous life”.

“And you think she cannot give me that?”

“I don’t know her, Simon” as I said this, Helena came walking towards us, wearing a white robe. “But I will soon”.

She and my brother greeted with a tight hug. I admit I felt a small jolt of envy, seeing such warmth delivered to someone other than me. I said to myself it was natural, I will find that warmth at some point, when my day comes.

“For a face like this” said my brother, extending his neck as he always did whenever he felt poetically inspired, “men wage the fiercest wars”. He held her chin on his hand and stared lovingly. She, in turn, blushed and lowered her eyes.

“I wish to bring peace, Simon, not war”.

Simon laughed wholeheartedly. “Oh, dear, I’m sorry. It is not really your choice”.

Helena looked abashed, so I stepped into the conversation. “I was wondering if you would walk with me” I asked. She recoiled and looked at Simon.

“Don’t worry” he said, and kissed her hand. “She’s not like mother”.

Helena smiled, the poor thing must be so nervous at the whole event of marriage. I was sure I could not have reacted any differently placed on her position.

“I expected we could get to know each other” I said, attempting to reassure her. “You are an only child, but soon, I hope, you will have a sister in me”.

Her eyes lit at my words for only a brief moment, during which I thought her to be indeed the most beautiful creature I had ever seen.

Yet again, I felt the sting of envy in my chest.

“Go, then!” prompted Simon, kissing me in the forehead, thus putting my troubled mind at ease. “You, try not to say too much or she may back off!”

End of part 1.

Fly away_LI.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10