Fiction: The Penguin and Her Lavender

in #fiction5 years ago

A garden gnome tale

“Well, kiss my crackers!” Thelonius peered through the window of Old Lady McGee’s and swallowed a lugie. “She does dress up like a penguin on Friday nights.”

“Let me have a look.” Frankie’s back was hurting on account of Thelonius not wearing his tennis shoes again. He loved his cowboy boots. Hardly ever took them off. Frankie was always the one who had to bend over and let Thelonius look through windows. He was really getting tired of that bossy pants.

“Holy crap!”

“What? What holy crap?” Frankie seriously wanted to stand up straight. Garden gnomes aren’t supposed to be hunched over for long periods of time. That’s why they’re always standing in gardens, not kneeling, not hunched, and certainly not looking like some cowboy’s desperate boyfriend. “Tell me! Which crap is holy?”

Thelonius cleared his throat and spit a lugie. It smacked the window, hard. The window cracked.

“Dammit, I forgot to turn my head!”

Frankie suddenly felt relieved of Thelonius’s weight on his shoulders. He raised up and saw Thelonius leaping over the old lady’s rose bush, sliding into position at his designated place next to a snapdragon. Right then, the front door opened. Frankie froze.

garden gnome fiction
Image from Pixabay.

“Oh, dear. Who put you up here?”

The old lady’s hands were cold, and it didn’t feel right being carried home by a penguin. Frankie found himself nostalgic for Thelonius’s cowboy boots and wished Old Lady McGee would find another perfume. The lavender was about to make him sneeze.

On Narrative? Enter the October Flash Fiction contest.

This post originally appeared at Narrative.

review me
Review Me, Please

PHC-Footer-05.gif


promo mentors

helpienaut

Sort:  

Great story! Very funny and transporting. Love the living gnomes with their petty complaints, just like humans. I can see this whole thing. But who does not like lavender? Is that a gnome thing?
Well done!

Thanks @owasco. Some people are allergic to lavender. Sadly, I'm one of them.

That must make for some awkward situations, lavender is ubiquitous now. I have a friend who is also allergic to many scents, and she has a hard time almost everywhere.

Since I don't go out much, that's not a big deal. When I was young and dating, I had to screen my dates carefully. It was awkward to walk up to someone I was attracted to, start talking, then begin sneezing so much I had to excuse myself. lol

Mate... I've always slipped up while wearing my tennis shoes! That's part of the soupy (pardon me that was autocorrect) slippy side of life!

The mind boggles how garden gnomes deal with high heels 😆

Ha ha yeah right! Thanks for reading. As always, you've put a smile on face.

Dude, smiles are worth miles of everything's in this life.

I've had a couple of pints tonight if I'm honest 🤪🍻

But I read and fed back on your story, before I went out and got gory on booze 🙂

Posted using Partiko Android

Ha ha yeah right! Thanks
For reading. As always, you've
Put a smile on face.

                 - blockurator


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Oops. I left off "my" and got haikubotted.

My hope is the story itself was its own sort of booze. 🤪 🙂

A great little spiel of imagination here my friend!
Blessings!

Thanks!

Hi, @blockurator!

You just got a 0.56% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34