Finding Redemption (Part 2) : Day 271 - 365 Days of Writing

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

Finding Redemption (Part 1)


Photo from Unsplash

The thought of home made me join the army, strangers we were here, born half a slave and half a stranger, my nationality belongs to the neighbouring country, I was told am the only son of a clan chief who wouldn't dare send his kids to school for the fear of been brainwashed by the western education ravaging through communities and turning children to want to study abroad.

My father was said to have hated them for turning there own children against them.

The returnees also made it worse, they tend to neglect cultures and traditions as they came back, they just don't want to fit in anymore, all that we were doing was seen as diabolical, for our local dance move they brought the disco virus, in months everyone has got the flu, that was just the beginning, kids wants at all cost to speak what is called the queens English, for our Trado-medical way of treating diseases they came with a doctor, wearing white, having a kind of rope they use in testing heartbeats.

That wasn't enough, trouble woke up the day a woman complained of intestinal problem, and the doctor in good will made her lay still on the sick bay, he told her to open her cloth and the woman just couldn't believe her ears, this woman is old enough to be his mother, in reality, she is older than his mother. The woman sat straight up and handed the doctor a dirty slap, alerted the clinic and made for the village chief. It took a while before the whole issue was settled. Not before the whole issue became a wide spread thing, causing both shame to the woman and the doctor.

I started to grow by the year, uneducated, my behaviors were crude for all I know, and my father never bothered to check up on me.

Then one day we got to know that a tribal civil war was coming, father and men of his age range put courage on, went to fight and never came back, they won us all, our opponent burned everything down to the ground, I heard him command, a man dark in complexion with a scar across his face.

Few of us who were rescued stays as refugees in the military camp, we just don't know what awaits us, gradually I start to fall in love with ranks and composure of the military, signed up in few days, they never knew I abhor a revenge cause, to one day wipe out the race that made me an orphan.

I want you to write this down son, just in case tomorrow, my name is written among the villains of time, let them know this is what happened.

.
.
.

My entry into @mydivathings everyday #365daysofwriting.

Sort:  

You have a minor grammatical mistake in the following sentence:

My father was said to have hated them for turning there own children against them.
It should be their own instead of there own.

Congratulations, this post has been upvoted using the Steemjet community account. Keep publishing quality posts using the steemjet tag to earn curation rewards.

Join us

Steemjet Discord channel-https://discord.gg/vdZe8JW

We hope to see you around. Keep Steeming!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86