A Book Review Made me Cry

in #fiction5 years ago

So as many of you already know, I have self-published my first novel 365 Marks on the Wall and it has been nerve-wracking, waiting for the reviews to come in from perfect strangers. I've had good feedback from friends and acquaintances, even my editor gave me a great compliment about it.

Still, I got a review today that (sorry about the clickbait title) literally made me cry. Happy tears!!!

reviewof365.png

The original review is here on Goodreads

Stephen King is one of my FAVORITE authors from back in the day when I actually read horror instead of writing!!!



And in case you're wondering what inspired me to write this book:

It was FREEWRITES. A freewrite prompt from #mariannewest and #freewritehouse inspired the beginning of this story. A few more freewrites had me continuing the story until I just knew it had to be finished. I had to know what happened.

Soooo, when Marianne suggested we do a NaNoWriMo challenge last November as part of our freewrites/freewriting community, I was ready to go!

I wrote the book in November and then eventually got up the nerve to do the months-long process (for me) of self-publishing on a limited budget.

I couldn't have done this or been inspired in such a wonderful way if not for the communities here on steemit. Freewritehouse, the alliance and powerhousecreatives. And curie as well!!!

You guys all deserve so many thanks for encouraging me so much that I was willing to wade through the stress of this process!

Thank you, thank you, thank you, all of you crazy, wild and wonderful people!!!

Here is a little teaser trailer thing I made for it!

smokey-purples.png

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_round.png

thealliance.png

circle-logo-250.png

smokey-purples.png

bynalways-profile-pic-border.png

Sort:  

Congrats, you definitely deserve the appreciation for your work! That is quite the heart felt review, critical yet appreciative and even enticing for anyone that looks at reviews for the sake of getting an understanding of what the audience thinks.

I'm not sure I've ever looked at reviews for books, but then again, I rarely have the money to buy full price "new" books, either! But apparently a lot of people put stock into reviews, not even necessarily what they say (exactly), but more for the "X amount of people read this book and gave it 4+ stars must mean it's good"

I don't know, I am a weirdo who judges a book on it's cover. Solely the front cover. I don't even read blurbs. This whole publishing/marketing thing has been like a brand new world to me!

Rest assured you have done well ❤️

Marketing is a odd thing, heard mentality plays a huge roll so your right x many reviews/stars means its worth reading for the majority 💪

Like you I tend to judge a book by its cover, particularly the back as what write up is displayed says a lot about the content inside... does it leave me wanting more and not want to put the book down is basically how I approach a new read.

Posted using Partiko iOS

What a wonderful review! Stephen King was one of my first literary "loves", and I still very much enjoy his work. That is definitely high praise! I just downloaded the Kindle version, so I can't wait to read it! Though I may have to hold off until I have a whole afternoon free because I have a tendency to jump in and not want to put a good story down, as well! Congrats again!

I devoured Stephen King when I was in my late teens/early twenties. He will always hold a special place in my heart! :)

I look forward to hearing what you think of it! I'm the same way with books. If I get into one, I don't want to put it down.

That is wonderful @byn and agreed very much deserved. I know I enjoy what you post here and that freewrite was awesome.

That's amazing! Congrats!

wow! congrats! I love your freewrites.

Ooh yay! Congratulations on your new book baby and the fab review!! I've just grabbed my copy and thoroughly looking forward to it x

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you! I look forward to hearing what you think!

Okay, that settles it: I need to read your book!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62379.78
ETH 3034.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78