UnTitLeD | A Story

in #fiction5 years ago

eery-1648250__480.jpg


He first came at me on the early hours of a Saturday morning. I had awoken to the noise of a breaking flower vase. Cursing under my breath, I scrambled out of bed and headed to the sitting room. That was when I saw him, sitting on the right side of the lovers couch. His head was bent and covered with a hoodie, his face hidden from sight. I stooped on my tracks and waited. He just sat there doing nothing, saying nothing.

“Who are you?”

No answer.

I was beginning to get nervous and my palms were sweaty. Slowly, he raised his head but I still couldn’t see his face. He had moved the angle of his head slightly to the right, away from the light.

“Stay away from him,” he said.

And he was gone.

Coming at me may not be the correct phrase since he didn’t hurt me. Every night, since that day, I would see a shadow moving silently behind the curtains. I thought I was imagining it.

The second time he came was on my birthday. This time, he was early. I was headed to the kitchen to check on the cake in the oven when I caught a movement. I turned just in time to see him raise his hand. I swerved to the right and the penknife only grazed my t-shirt, missing flesh by inches.

“I told you to stay away,” he growled.

I ran out through the back door and into the cold wet morning. My closest neighbour lived a few blocks away. I could hear his footsteps close behind. I ran faster. Adrenaline pumped through my arms and legs. Almost there. The house was visible now and the lights were on. A few more steps and…

I was falling. I think I stumbled on something. A stone or a can the kids left on the street. I was on the ground before I could catch my breath. I turned and there he was, looming over me, a wicked glint in his eyes. Everything went black before I could scream.

I opened my eyes to a familiar face. She was peering down at me, her brows furrowed, just like the way I remembered.

“You’re finally awake,” she said. “Happy birthday.”

I pulled her close to me, buried my nose in her hair and closed my eyes. My birthday couldn’t have had a more perfect beginning.


Image Source

Sort:  

So your birthday started with being chased?

Posted using Partiko Android

LOL. It's fiction.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 65012.58
ETH 3101.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86