The Legend of Doctor Mama : An Untold Tale (Sankofa Storytelling Task)

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

the-legend-of-dr.mama.jpg



He looked at the clock in concern like it was minutes to midnight. The time says 8:55 pm Oh no! he exclaimed. Hurriedly he dashed to take a leak, something he does on a routine more like a ritual before heading to bed kitted in his space collage favorite pajamas papa got for him.

He has a wild imagination that someday aliens will come to earth to have a party on the streets which the gate fee is putting on pajamas. This little boys scout has always been prepared for the alien invasion. A secret he never told anyone not even the boogeyman that lives under his bed.

He got the idea of this invasion after staying up late at night watching a 1964 movie Pajamas Party. He never followed the movie plot however all he took to the bank was the alien invasion with a massive party probably better than project X

It was few seconds away from 9pm he was already in his room hiding under his duvet covering his head with pillows creating just enough space for his eyes to get a view. The lights in his room were off but the corridor lights were on.

And so it begins...

Another long night of terror could only get better the rustling sound of the tress weren't helping especially the flickering sound of the street light just outside his window.

Then comes the silent sound of foot steps creating super sonic vibrations that sends his heart to a state of time freeze. He could see shadows.

Is it just one person or a thing or could they be more. Would he try to take a quick peep?

Mum has always said curiosity kills the cat. So there he was still in time freeze. A soft and gentle breeze comes through the window blowing the curtains like an invisible creature was passing through.

The footsteps keeps coming but rather it looks slower and the shadows along the corridors keeps getting bigger. Good grief! Its growing larger and larger

All little Dante has been listening to on TV is summing up to paint a reality. Frightened but fearless at the same time. He reached for his water gun fully loaded which he hid under his duvet.

The cold room begins to get hot. Dante begins to get high temperature as the shadow completely covered the light coming from outside the room through the little spacing under the door.

It's here! He whispered to his imaginary friend. The creaking sound of the door nob made him close his eyes. Dad already told him about Doctor Mama that comes only at night to inject little kids with his huge and long syringe in their eyes. Doctor Mama will inject kids not in bed at their bed time and will also go to check if the kid is asleep. Any kid that his eyes are opened will be injected with the huge and long syringe.

He dared not open his eyes. He could feel the presence of Doctor Mama in the room.
There was grave silent. It seems all the elements of nature bowed to his present. The flickering sounds of the street light stopped, the cool breeze and curtains were all still.
He laid still and did not flinch when Doctor Mama came closer to his face. He could feel Doctor Mama inhale deeply like he was putting on a gas mask or perhaps a gas canister to aid his breathing. Whatever the case was, he has never been so scared in his life. The reason why he prefers to go bed early enough to escape this kind of ordeal. Only if he didn't get locked in playing Donkey Kong on Super Nintendo he would have followed the lessons learnt from the nursery rhyme

Early to bed

Early to rise

Makes a man healthy

Wealthy and wise

He unfroze after the time freeze episode and everything seems to be normal again. Doctor Mama must have left. He opened his eyes.

To see the room door slightly opened. Finally he can breath again. Not so long he slept. Everyday for many years little Dante went to bed very early and whenever he is running late he experiences the time freeze episode of Doctor Mama that sometimes when he sleeps early he experiences such nightmares.

One very night. Dante was determined to face his fears. Earlier during the day at Sunday school he learnt to overcome his obstacle by standing up to it cause God got him. That night he was ready but this time no water gun. It was Dante versus Doctor Mama.

And so it happened as usual the time freeze episode started rather than the usual slow pace everything happen to appear in real time. A tall person opened the door casting his shadow all over the room. He was dark skinned with old school RayBan thick framed recommended glasses holding a huge black brief case to match his Oxford shoe and french suit.

He never saw his Dad in the mornings nor at night. The only time he gets to see his father are usually the weekends. So it seems Doctor Mama is human after all. The fellow standing did not come any closer he proceeded to close the door as he use to leaving it slighly opened as he stepped into the corridor walking away. Little Dante hurriedly snuck up to the door to see who this person really is.

To his surprise it was his Dad all along. The identity was sealed the moment mum took his brief case away talking to him as they usually do.

Dad was Doctor Mama. He created a myth to ensure Dante goes to bed early. The truth was uncovered however the legend of Doctor Mama still lives.



Note From the Author's corner

The following fiction above is a true story . This was depicted as a fiction to give the readers an understanding/insight of what I went through growing up as a kid. The story was inspired to be documented because of @sankofa in the Story telling Contest about lies told to us as kids by our parents. This specific story I shared about doctor mama was not intended to scare me by my father rather it was for me to get to bed in time.

This is just one of the conjured creatures created by my father which he sold to us(my siblings) as kids growing up. I hope you all enjoyed this story. You can also participate in this fun contest here.

Dante is here No Fear

Cheers



https://discord.gg/vDPAFqb.

Image Source

Getty Images


Sort:  

Oh my God I've never ever come across your fiction story since I started following your blog and now Sankofa contest I can't say a big thank you to you guys for creating this contest.
Jeez Dante your an amazing story teller you kept me glued on the screen of my phone till I read every single word, at a point I was scared my Door got slightly opened my own Pharmacist Mama came to check if I was sleeping😜😂😂😂.
Early to bed early to rise, wow this story deserves it all. You got my accolade💃🏽💃🏽💃🏽💃🏽

Hey @eunireal1

I'm glad you found it interesting. I've been rusty a little with writing. I should be on my A-game soon enough. Pharmacist Mama 🤣🤣🤣

That got me.

Thank you

Cheers

I guess I'll have to get the accolades.
In @dante 's words: "Dante has visited and is here, no fear"!
Hehehehe.....

Nice one Pharm.

Ah yes, the simple little terrors of a child's mind. Your story takes me back also, to a universe of the young, one that is very different than ours.
steemsig.png
Joe
@joe.nobel
science fiction, fantasy, erotica

I tell you buddy. Nights were scary times for me growing up. I actually believed Dr. Mama was real 😂😂😂

I'm sure you can relate to this.

Thanks for dropping by buddy

Dante is here No fear
Cheers

Well, that was GOOD. The things they tell us as a kid. Lol

I'm telling you fam it can be so hilarious and sometimes ridiculous

For once I was afraid Dante of all people was in fear. But he was only frightened
No fear. What a legend! G.O.A.T.! 😎😎😎

Lol. That was an amazing read. Thanks for entering 😉

Hehehe... No Fear

🤣🤣🤣

Thanks buddy

Lol, @dante31 you got some nice writing skills... At first I thought the doctor mama is real, your dad's tactics was really cool man

Oh yeah!

Dr.Mama is real

Very real.

Thanks for the compliment

Cheers

What a legend! Doctor Mama still lives..or dare I say..shall be resurrected when I start raising my kids, because I can see how effective he was in getting you to bed early most of the time.
Really great story Dante 🙌🏽👌🏽

Dr. Mama lives on

IMG_20180514_161857.jpg

Your post has been upvoted and resteemed to my community.

Curator on duty: @antigenx

Lool... I can imagine
I honestly can imagine it...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72