A Conspiracy Against Life - A twenty four hour short story

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

This short story was written for @mctiller's twenty four hour short story contest.. You should check out the other great submissions to the contest.

The prompt was: People on another planet discover Earth holds life.



image source

A Conspiracy Against Life

“No, no, no. This can’t be right.” Klastos scrutinized the print outs. “That solar system was cleared back in the reign of Xanabaster the Seventh. That was a millenia ago.” He stared up at Lerestia. "Either they missed it, which would be impossible, or they never cleared it..."

Sort:  

Hi dirge,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Wow! It is always a pleasure to read your stories @dirge. You have this power over words, bending them to your will. This one is just epic! Lizards wanting to destroy earth? And you kept it to the very end. I just love this.

YES!
I love surprise endings especially when the director of death is in charge. LOL Great story. :)

I loved the story, and seeing it from the point of view of an illustrator (that is me) literally puts my mind to fly with ideas of how to illustrate that story, I loved the narrative and although I did not read it from the beginning, it has caught me quite! very good story, congratulations!

Wow beautiful prose fiction, this is totally amazing see I love the theme of narcissitic leaders displaying their anarchy just for their pleasure, I love the way you blended in the humor, it made the story less pensive really and brought out a comic relief that's quite beautiful.

Lizards and emperors and dinosaurs really I didn't see what you intend with the lizards, but wow it's a splendid story, well done.

The lizards referred to at the end are the dinosaurs that lived on Earth.

After all, they were just lizards.

Lizards exterminating Earth. How scary can that be!? 😂

On a more serious note, I like the lesson of the story. Sometimes we tend to lie because of what we think will be for a greater good or lesser evil. Unfortunately there are times we get into a dilemma wherein the other side of the coin is what we value to most. Then we have to choose which one to give up.

Very good story there!

I intended that the lizards on Earth were the dinosaurs. And this was supposed to be like a cosmic race governed by solipsistic and sociopathic emperors who destroy life in order to feel special.

I enjoyed your take on it though. Thanks for reading!

Oh, I did not take any living thing to be specific but the Earth in general.

It was a good read. You're welcome. :)

Wow you really did surprise me at the end. I suppose it is only a matter of time before they return to take us out. This pesky old planet just keeps producing potential competition.
It is pretty sad actually a couple extra narcissist psychopaths would surly add interest to the universe.

It is pretty sad actually a couple extra narcissist psychopaths would surly add interest to the universe.

We got plenty on our planet

Yeah, would be a shame if old Emperor Junto decided to take a few out. 👽

Cool, I imagined an end more or less like this, you have a great method to hook the reader with all the drama, that I like the writing of the present, punctuality. Good story. Greetings and blessings to you.

thanks for reading

I would make a Country Roads reference, but the cleaners aren’t the ones facing the apocalypse. Bet the dinosaurs heard that and just off’d themselves because of the song. Resteem’d and upvot’d.
69C75F27-6BE7-4019-B2C2-7AEC5E2CBDDB.gif

Mountain mommaaaaaa

To the place, I BELONG! (Me in the background.)
B00CEE8C-817D-47C6-A148-D48EA30E7F06.gif

Hello Dirge!
Why you choose the skulls as your image in your post?
I'm just curious and want to know.
Sorry for that question.

No reason at all, and absolutely not for any reason that has something to do with the story

Ah I see.
I guess the skulls represents the reality of death on human life.
That we all gonna die no matter how we try our best not to get sick. Even old people will also die.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10