Summer Heat

in #fiction6 years ago


It was deep into summer, certainly closer to fall I suppose. The hot, sticky end of the season when everyone is starting to get sick of being sweaty every time they're outside.

I was at the park, sitting in my annoying plastic folding chair that my thighs would stick to every damn time, but I was too cheap to buy a new one. I was trying to focus on the newest romance I'd picked up at the store, but I just could not focus.

Maybe it was the guys across the way playing ball. I like watching hot athletic guys run around without their shirts on in any case and today that was apparently a better distraction than my book.

The guy who caught my attention wasn't my usual type. He was a bit more awkward. He kept dropping the ball on the rare occasions that someone would toss it to him. All the other guys would give him a hard time and laugh, but it all seemed in good fun.

When they took a break to cool off, I just happened to walk over. Awkward guy didn't really seem to notice me until I said, "hi" to him.

He stuttered and actually looked behind him, like I had to be talking to someone else. I laughed at the absurdity of it all and he met my eyes looking a bit sheepish.

"Sorry, that was a bit stupid of me. I've just never had anyone as gorgeous as you say hi to me before." His face blushed bright red as he realized what he'd said.

I smiled, "Really, though? Women don't just flock to you?"

"No!" He said, far too seriously, "They really don't!"

I was feeling extra adventurous apparently. His demeanor, his shyness, it all just made me throw caution to the wind. "So, it would probably be far too much for you if I asked for a date, then?"

He stammered and really seemed incapable of answering me. His eyes were wide as he watched me write down my phone number. I put the piece of paper in his hand and folded his fingers over it. "Uhhhh..." was all he said.

"Shall we seal the deal with a kiss?" I asked. His eyes grew even wider and he nodded without saying a word. I felt all sorts of excited, powerful and just wild with wanting to do something crazy. I wasn't expecting much, since he seemed somewhat frozen in place, but I put my hand behind his head and pulled him in for the best kiss I've had in a good long while. I felt like it was some sort of spell cast over the both of us.

We pulled apart at the hooting and hollering coming from his friends. I tapped his hand holding my phone number. "Call me." I said. I was pretty sure he would.

Today's Daily Prompt was "Stick" from @freewritehouse

Cover Source

Crossposted to my steemit & weku


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://bianallwright.com/?p=353

Sort:  

Sorry I'm too late to properly upvote. I've been having troubles with Steemit, but now it's working again. Yay! Glad to see you are still writing!

Congratulations @eroticabian! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 5000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 6000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Be ready for the next contest!
Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @eroticabian! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 6000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 7000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @eroticabian! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

3 years on Steem - The distribution of commemorative badges has begun!
Happy Birthday! The Steem blockchain is running for 3 years.

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Haven't seen you around in a while! Where you been?

I'm working on a big erotica series to publish. Trying to find a way to make money from writing instead of slaving away working for someone else!

I hope you succeed!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70733.96
ETH 3563.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76