TEOTWAWKI

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)



#113: Daniel Freemartin - Video Call

..............................................................................................................................................

“Yes? How may I help you?” The Dragon Lady appeared , waist up, about two thirds scale, in front of him. She was intimidating.

“Um...er. Do I have the right number?” Daniel was all flustered. This was exactly the type of person that he didn’t do well with.

“Yes Dear. If you want to purchase a fabricator I’m the one you want to speak with. “Kamiko Akiyama, sometimes called the dragon lady, was an expert on people. She could tell more about a person in a few seconds, or a few words that anyone else would believe possible. In this case she had the magic of Virtual Reality to help her. She was reading everything about Daniel from his heartbeat to his Iris dilation. She had the training to interpret it.

She suddenly took on the demeanor of what he remembered his mother to be. All his stress vanished.

“Why don’t you just settle in and make yourself comfortable and we’ll have a little chat. Just you and me.” Kamiko, the furtherest thing from a dragon lady, told Daniel.

So he did.

He explained to her what he wanted and what he wanted to do. Inexplicably all his inhibitions had vanished.

“That’s very admirable dear. In fact that is exactly what we would like for people like you to do.” Kamiko told him. “In all fairness I must warn you though. I have you at a serious disadvantage. One who is capable of reading the signs in VR can tell an awful lot about the other person. I am a master of VR. I know everything about you.”

That startled Daniel. He jumped.

“Oh I don’t mean your history. I haven’t a clue about that. I mean I know everything about you now. The important thing for you to know is that I know instantly if you lie. I can tell if your are truthful or shading the truth too.” She said.

“Um...that sounds handy. Can anyone learn to do that?” he asked.

She laughed. “That’s the spirit. As a matter of fact yes they can. I just happen to have an InfoDump for sale on that very subject. You can purchase it any time you’d like.”

“Um...lemme guess” he grinned “Not cheap?”

“Many good and wonderful things in laugh are free or inexpensive. This is not one of those things. I charge all the traffic will bear” she smiled back.

“Well,” he was no longer nervous. “As long as we understand one another. Tell me more.”

“I understand you.” She reminded him. “Eventually there may come a day when you will be as skillful. This is not that day either. However I Pledge to you Daniel. This day I will not lie to you or steer you into doing anything to your detriment.”

“That’s hard to beat.” Daniel said “now tell me more about the Fabricator.”

A little background first” Kamiko told him “You are familiar with SSmoke?”

Daniel nodded that he was.

Structural Smokes is fabulous.” She said “It’s better than plastic. If you had any idea how plastic transformed the world you’d know that is high praise. It has it’s limitations however. There are some things it cannot do. It can’t replicate itself for example.“

“Aren’t the Avatars made from SSmoke?” Daniel asked “Don’t they, er, process plastic to make SSmoke?”

“Yes they do.” Kamiko agreed. “Each Avatar has a small Molecular Furnace and SmokeForge in it’s craw. Thus it can do as you say. It can’t replicate, however. The, shall we call it, brain, of the Avatar contains certain parts, the Molecular Furnace contains certain parts AND the SmokeForge contains certain parts the function of which SSmoke cannot emulate.”

“I expect your are going to tell me where those parts come from?” Daniel asked.

“That I am. There are Fabricators and OmniForges” she said “ A Fabricator is like an OmniForge but it’s intentional limited. There are certain things it’s not permitted to make.”

“The OmniForge has no such limitations.” she told him. “it can make anything that’s physically possible to make out of atoms. Lucky for us it requires a Daemon to operate. There are only three Daemons.”

“And I can buy one?” he asked. “A fabricator that is?”

“No, but you can lease one. I advise that you do.” she said “The lease is available for you to read and I highly recommend that you study it until you understand it before you enter into an agreement. If you have ANY questions about it be sure to clear them up.”

“That seem rather reasonable.” he said, then had a thought” how fast does it make SSmoke?”

“About a thousand times faster than an Avatar” she told him. “it can also make Avatars. General practice lately has been to install it IN one. A rather large one it must be admitted.”

“If I have the program” he finished.

“You’re catching on.” she said.

“Does the avatar program come stock?” he knew the answer.

She smiled at him. “I know someone that you might want to meet. He builds ‘boats’ as a hobby.

Cutting edge actually.”

........................
The Next Episode Is
# 114: Melvin - Video Call…
The Previous Episode was
#112: Henry Drake : meets BOB…
The First Episode was
# 1 : Prologue…
..............
Book One: SoulStone
..................................................
I'm

@everittdmickey
.
I write
SPECULATIVE FICTION
My books on Amazon.
I engage in political commentary
and
generally talk about anything that strikes my fancy
on
Steemit
and
Sola

When watching the LameStream FakeNews Media

it's hard to tell what’s true or when they are lying isn’t it? It seems that they are more interested in influencing public opinion than they are reporting the facts.
SteemPunk Snail Image from Pixabay

Sort:  

Being able to tell if someone is a truthful person would be very handy, I wish I could do that at times and it be 100% fool proof, from making me look like a fool. ;-}

Your imagination is mind blowing Everitt.. I totally like the Dragon Lady.

Hey @everittdmickey, when you become as popular as the game of thrones writer I hope they turn one of your works to a badass series

thank you.
heh..I wish.
come to think I never did like George R R Martin's stuff much.
so...I guess there's no hope for me.

Haha you don't have to like him, when your big break comes he'll be the one liking you.

Besides, you already beat him in a beard contest 😂

Thank you.
I've worn a beard since I was thirty.
I dunno if I'd want to settle for a TV show.
I think I'll hold out for interactive virtual reality on Steem.

Direct virtual attention to victims with special treatment, all your questions are duly answered: better impossible ... very interesting about "The important thing for you to know is that I know if you can. truthful or shading the truth too. ", I believe that we will not have politicians aboard the Banana Slug.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88