Ride The Lightning

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)



Part 25: Leaving the Infirmary


....................................................................................................................................................................................



Leaving the Infirmary.

Bob was waiting for me at the door when I left the lobby. He had a cop car all ready and waiting. He offered me a ride back to the truck lot. That was rather unexpected.

“What are you doing here?” I grinned. “not that I don’t appreciate it but I figured you’d be busy this time of day doing Coppy stuff. Maybe at a donut shop or something.”

“Ah yes…the mythical relationship between cops and donuts.” Bob almost sighed. “As much as I’d like to I can’t do that right now. I have Coppy Stuff to do. You’re it.”

“OH? Should I be alarmed? Are you taking me to the hoosegow?” I asked.

“No…I’m taking you to your Truck like I said. As much as I enjoy visiting with you I want your, Truck out of here. I want it gone.” Bob sounded a little bit grim.

“Oh? Again. Why’s that?” I asked. I was really curious.

“It’s an attractive nuisance.” he said grimly “our local nitwits can’t seem to resist trying to vandalize an empty truck. It, or rather the one you have loaded on the trailer, appear to have a very effective anti-theft system. We’ve been carting off bodies almost every other day.”

“Well yeah“ I admitted“If someone tries to break into Troglodyte he’ll burn ‘em. I guess the Bloody Mary is even more twitchy. People shouldn't try to break in to my property. It’s unhealthy. ”

“So I gather. They’ve burnt a large number of wanna be hijackers. Not that I give a damn about them but people are starting to get nervous. ‘Think of the children.’ Catering to the fears of foolish citizens is a ‘coppy thing’.“His voice was dripping sarcasm.

“Oh!” I said. I sat quietly for the rest of the ride. Bob was serious.

Bob dropped me off at my truck. We shook hands and he watched me approach it.

Of course nothing happened. I didn’t get warned off. No ethereal voice said “Please step away from the Truck.” Troglodyte knew me. I walked right up to that huge machine.

“Hello Troglodyte” I said to the truck.

“Hello Austyn” He replied. I waved to Bob to let him know everything was OK. He waved back and then drove away.

I turned back to Troglodyte and walked around him slowly. I gave him the quick once over. I didn’t know what I was looking for but I was glad enough not to find it. Everything seemed to be alright. I’d know for sure after I got inside and ran the diagnostics.

I climbed aboard.



To Be Continued
The Next Episode is
Part 26: Call to Chris's Sister…
The Last episode was
Part 24: Phone Home…
the first episode was
Part 1 : Winter Storm

I'm

@everittdmickey
I surf the net, find the GOOD stuff.
and write posts about it
So you don't have to.
I also write
SPECULATIVE FICTION
This book is available from Amazon on Kindle
If you can’t wait to finish it on Steemit
I have other books on Amazon also
I also comment on the news

Sometimes it's hard to tell fiction from the news.

Sort:  

Still a captivating story, after I get a little bit more of this and soulstone, I will have to start on Q eventually. Really enjoying both of these stories.

Glad you're enjoying them.
Don't forget The Yggdrasil Highway Saga and Private War. You might like them too.

Very good writing and interesting. 'Will be watching for more!

there's more coming..

Trucker guy doing badass trucker things.
Nobody shall touch his truck or they will soon see a flash of lightning.

huh...
they got my title..

They stole it, call the police now.

kkkk, good posting!

Wonderful post.i resteem it.i hope this post will be in tending post.best of luck

Upvoted and RESTEEMED!

this is a true story or what?

yup...absolutely true...every word.

well i have to read it from the begining upvoted and gonna upvote the rest parts when i read them :)

You my friend are truly a great author!

thank you for the kind words.
unfortunately my bank account is unimpressed.

Beautiful writing of part 25,good sharing

Congratulations @everittdmickey, this post is the tenth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Hero account holder (accounts that hold between 10 and 100 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Hero account holders during this period was 152 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $3798.12. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70557.88
ETH 3560.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75