IN LOVE WITH A GHOST

in #fiction6 years ago

FB_IMG_1526578668239.jpg
source

I've seen this in movies,but I never believed it could be real.

It all began early that Saturday morning when I woke up to observe my daily routine.

After serving my maker assorted blends of esteemed praise

I cleaved to my smart phone scrolling through Facebook's notifications and responding to messages when I noticed I had a friend request from a Facebook user named Nancy.

Though the account had similar attributes with those I often decline,but going through her photos and admiring the light skinned damsel,I was impelled to accepted her request.

Few minutes later I got a message from her

"Good day Sir,I've been going through your timeline;I must confess it's very rich.Hope to keep learning from you"

Since it wasn't my first time to receive thus,I smiled and replied "thanks"

Her named flooded my notification in no time,she liked and commented almost on anything I shared and I was fascinated by that.

She would slid in my inbox to ask questions on things I shared;sometimes on issues she need clarity on.

A little "Hello" here and "Hi" there we became good friends and build fair intimacy. I was based in Lagos while she was at Port Harcourt.

Nights went dead everyday leaving us entangled in discussions,I became familiar with Nancy which later evolved into Facebook love.

We would chat till nature's calls become irresistible,and would still wake up to each others message next morning.

She was very pretty.Her photos that clouded my gallery attest to it

I stay glued to her smile while staring at her photos,yet in it is not her uniqueness but in her inquisitiveness.

Just yesterday I woke up expecting messages from my online Juliet but noticed it was her birthday.

"How come she never mentioned it?" I wondered heading to her timeline to bid her good wishes

"It's sad you're no more,today is your birthday but it only remind us of the day you left us.….
If only you stay a little longer
If only you knew,you wouldn't have embark on that journey.
Now all we have left is memories…..
Oh Death! How cruel you are" was the first post I saw on her timeline

I quickly scrolled up to make sure I was on the right profile,and there she was innocently smiling at me.

I engaged the post demanding to know if it was a kind of stunt,but the poster who claimed to be Nancy's room mate at the university of abuja explained that she died in a ghastly motor accident a year ago on her way to Port Harcourt.

With my sweaty hand now panting I scrolled down with my eyes stricken with fear.

"Can this be true?" I whispered in awe as eulogies flooded her wall

I hurried to Messenger to check our last chat

Nancy's last message came in at 11:57 pm the previous night,but her profile indicated she was active 52 weeks ago

"Jesus!!!!" I screamed and my phone fell from my hand

I stepped back staring at the phone which lay still on the rug;it pale light beamed through the dark room

"Is she a ghost?" I grasped snugging into a corner in the room,I glanced adjacent to the timekeeping device which hung intermediate two large frames on opposite wall; it displayed 4:13 am

Immediately my phone buzzed,It's a SMS with Nancy as the sender's ID.My heart almost failed

"What do you want from me?" I feigned in fright because she gave me that number a month after we connected but it never went through all the time I tried calling

I was confuse and afraid of what the next minute would birth as the phone backlight kept the room illumined

I tottered and fell,fidgeting as I picked up the phone to read the message's content.

"MY LOVE, PLEASE OPEN THE DOOR
DON'T LEAVE ME OUT HERE,IT'S COLD"I heard a maiden voice echoed in my head then followed by a faint knock on the door.

"She is here" I muttered flashing my eyes recklessly in terror.

The knocks persisted more intensely and louder the more I delay

I screamed "Leave me alone" ignoring the pubescence of the day which only worsen the scenario

Like gallops of a thousand chariots, the door vibrated vigorously

I shut my eyes in fear and howled covering my ears awaiting the terror behind the door when I felt a tender tap on my shoulder.I quickly jerked jittering.

"Why are you screaming?" Aunty Ronke asked

"Gho…ghogogo….ghost! Pho..pho……phone…." I stammered.
"which ghost?" She checked my phone but couldn't find any message from Nancy,every where became calm as though nothing happened.

"Am I mad?" I thought to myself

"It's just a nightmare" she said urging me to go back to sleep.

Aunty Ronke left my room but I was sure of what I saw even though I wished it was only a nightmare.

Nancy didn't replied her messages from that day,it seemed mysterious but I've decided to see it as if it never occurred.

Yes it never did because this too is fiction.😨

Victor Oliver facebook

Your #Soulfriend
@geekis

Sort:  

Wow
Jeez
You got me with this aswear. Lol

I read every line intently wondering if it could be true, lol

Very nice piece

Thank you, I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Lol.. Very interesting piece.. You got me at the end..

Thanks bro, I'm glad you enjoyed it.

never knew you were this good...that a nice fiction chai...u got me at the end was already deep in it....nice piece thou..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66761.99
ETH 3256.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27