Drones Do Not Dream

in #fiction6 years ago

science-fiction-2127670_1280.jpg

Drones have expiration dates.

I stare down at the handheld receiver which will collect my thoughts. In my mind, I have rehearsed every word, organized and reorganized the order, hundreds of times. All I need to do is begin the mnemonic transfer, but I do not. I am hesitating. Nearly five months have passed since I set out to perform this task. I am frozen with indecision. The more I delay, the less I am inclined to follow through. I have done many improbable things over the last forty-three months, but what I am preparing to do now seems the least likely of all.

Drones do not time travel.

No. That statement is insufficient. It is true, to my knowledge, but it lacks context.

There is no evidence to suggest anyone has ever time traveled. It may not be possible. I do not know, nor am I convinced one way or the other. Logic dictates were it possible, someone would have done it by now.

So, why am I here? I did not just arrive at this conclusion. It has been with me, plaguing me, for months. I did not have to build the mnemonic transfer device, or for that matter, a time machine. Yet, I have done both. Did I do it solely to pass the time, not knowing what else to do with myself?

Drones must have purpose, or they terminate.

My purpose, for the first fifteen years of life, was to work the rock quarries of Precinct 19-1734. Eighteen hour shifts and six hour rest periods. Nothing else. Day after day after day. The epitome of monotony and hard labor. Except, who knew? I am a drone. That was my purpose—slave with other drones. We knew nothing else. We were specifically bioengineered for that purpose.

For the past eleven months, I have been here, where life began. I knew not where else to go. The quarries did not have the parts, the instruments, the power necessary to fashion and then utilize a thought recorder and a temporal displacement generator. Perhaps there was somewhere else closer, but it was safer to return here than it was to go exploring.

Drones do not take risks.

Which is a reason why I hesitate.

Technically, it is still possible for a drone to do many things. However, in my case, much is suppressed. Emotions like happiness and anger register only on the periphery, while others, such as guilt and fear are amplified. I overrode both of those to get to where I am, while digging deep within to unbury traits like bravery and confidence. Drones are biologically programmed to be good at what they do. To be efficient. Outside of their proscribed daily tasks, there is only latent proficiency and no desire to learn new skills.

Yet, I have learned, and I have done, many things outside of my original parameters. Improbable things. Things I never conceived of doing. Recording a message for those I might meet when—if—I travel back in time is perhaps the least difficult of all I have done, or will do.

Yet it is this task which paralyzes me.

Drones do not seek change.

The intent of the message I am to record, the reason I am to travel back in time, is to bring about the largest change possible. I am to stop a series of events from happening, ones which lead to the very world I inhabit. I am humanity's last hope. I am to save those who did nothing to save themselves.

Drones do not laugh.

We grimace. If not for my mirthless eyes, it might be misinterpreted for a smirk.

I find something inherently amusing in me being a savior. I am a drone. Nothing more. I have as much in common with those I am to save as they do with insects. The idea is ludicrous, farcical. Improbable. I would say impossible, but I have experienced too much to ever use that word lightly again. The very fact I still exist is an impossibility.

Yet I live.

But for how much longer? Every minute I draw breath is in defiance of my creation. Overriding protocols and accomplishing tasks I was not specifically made to do are all secondary to my continuing existence. In spite of my bioengineering, I have choice in what I do. Whether I live a second more or my body dissolves into protoplasm, I do not control.

divider_victorian_thinned.png

Do not be alarmed.

I mean you know harm.

I know it is difficult to believe that. I am a stranger, and a sinister-looking one at that. My very existence challenges what you know about your world and your station in it. However, there is nothing I can do to make this first encounter easier on you. Whether you accept me, or reject me, is entirely up to you.

I am a drone, created to serve in rock quarries, and thus designed for that specific task. Drones do not speak, or I would deliver this message vocally. I do not have a name. The closest I come to self-identification is my expiration date: 2115/10/10. As you can see, it is stamped in large numbers under each of my forearms.

I am here, now, because of you. You are my principle donor. Your DNA was among those used to create me. Included were your memories and scientific knowledge. I was unaware of this until the day I was to expire.

I hope to warn you of the consequences of your actions. The cloning experiments you hope will result in grand medical breakthroughs will introduce an incurable illness to any organ donor recipients. They will die, slowly, horribly, and the disease will spread to the general populace.

I know this is impossible to believe—how could such horror come out of something so well intended? I am told you have an expression, that the road to hell is paved with good intentions. I am here to tell you that I do not know what hell is, but from the history I've read, descriptions of hell fit quite adequately human existence in the future.

I implore you to stop this research, to shut down all facilities dedicated to it. I ask that you find other methods to accomplish your goals. Otherwise, my coming here will be for naught, and my world, your future, will happen all over again.

I appreciate any consideration you may give to this matter, and I await your reply.

divider_victorian_thinned.png

I know not what else to say, so I end the recording. It feels wholly inadequate, but then, that is how I feel about most things I have done. Yet, here I am. Perhaps I will learn self-esteem some day.

I am already reclining within the time machine. I recheck the chronometer parameters and the safety protocols. They are all perfectly aligned. There is only one thing left to do. The simplest task of all.

I have been in this moment before. Each time, I have walked away from the time machine and waited another day until those days became weeks and now months. I have all the time in the world, really. No one will look for me here. There is no one to look. All there is to provide any impetus whatsoever is my actual expiration date. The one I no longer know when it will be.

I do not know why I hesitate. I have little to lose. The time machine will either open up a temporal rift and sling me back, or it will not. It is not designed to do anything else. Or so I think. The design is not mine, but my genetic predecessor. I am reasonably sure, however, come what may, it will not incinerate me or blow me into infinitesimal fragments.

There is a brilliant flash the moment I push the activation button. It consumes the chamber, the machine, and myself. It lasts for mere moments, and then it feels like I am hurtling along in an unknown direction. Forwards? Backwards? Up? Down? In? Out? I cannot tell.

Then, reality returns, and my body is renewed within the time machine. I am no longer in the chamber. I appear to be outside somewhere. The atmospheric sensor display, if it is accurate, states the air outside is breathable. I open the hatch and climb out onto green matted blades. Somehow I know it is called grass.

I immediately check the temporal and spacial placement readings. Something is wrong. It says I am in the same time and space where I just was. That cannot be. I should still be within the chamber, but as I look at my surroundings, I find myself at the edge of a field, overlooking a lake, forest, and with mountains in the distance. It is, I believe the term to be, beautiful. If I did not know better, I would say I am dreaming.

Drones do not dream.

divider_victorian_thinned.png

About This Post

This post is an entry for Neoxian's Prodigious and Desolate Post-Apocalyptic Writing contest. The story is written by me, Glen Anthony Albrethsen. Copyright © Glen Anthony Albrethsen, 2018. The image used herein is from Pixabay.

Sort:  

Thank you for submitting your story in my contest!

Well, thank you for having one. I'll have to pay earlier attention to when the next one comes out (providing there is a next one). It looked like you had plenty of entries to go through, though, so that's always cool. Nothing worse than having a contest and no one be interested. :)

I loved this! I wasn't sure what a drone was, but it quickly became clear. I found myself rooting for him and hoping he would be able to overcome his aversion to the task ahead.

I would love to read more about what happens, should you ever decide to write it. Feel free to tag me or otherwise ping me if another installment comes out.

A+

A+, eh? Well, it doesn't get much better than that!

I'm glad the story informed you enough of what a drone was. There's probably different applications to the word, but I was going for the worker kind, like a bee, but basically human.

He seems so far to be a likable character, even though he's not had the best of lives and through circumstances yet to be revealed, just realized how bad his life has been. Anyone who can avoid becoming bitter about that has got to be a good person. Of course, it could just be the bio-programming. :)

I will definitely let you know if there's more to come. I feel at this point that I would need more time than what I think I have now to develop it further, though. I was really just hoping to get into Neoxian's contest, and I did, so we'll see if there's any more or not.

Sorry, I'm not the best book/writing critic. I wasn't trying to just say you did a good job of explaining what a drone was. The whole thing was well done. You described the setting well. I could identify with the character. His actions and reasons for the actions made sense (even if he didn't really know why or how he was doing them). The fact that he has the knowledge to do it because his genetic donor had the knowledge tracks pretty well. He's some kind of clone. It was a compelling story.

Again, I liked it.

Let us know if you win!

Well, thanks for clarifying, but I thought your review was more comprehensive than just the drone. Knowing what a drone is and so forth is important, though, so I'm glad that tracked along with the rest of the story.

Well, neoxian has already given it a 10% upvote, so I don't think I won, nor did I get honorable mention. There isn't a winner post yet, so I'm guessing they are still working through the rest of the entries. Some have already been upvoted 10-13%, but not many. I haven't checked in since this morning to see where he was at. The SBDs don't appear to be awarded yet, and so far, I haven't seen anything resteemed.

I will of course let you know (and the silver coin in your pocket) if I win. :)

In the meantime, I've barely beaten the deadline for another contest, this time about a patient information system for the blockchain called Medibloc. I seem to be finding these things out late, but this one was cutting it really close. :)

I looked at his page just now. Hopefully the vote you got was just to approve your entry. I'll bet he still has to read through them all. Fingers crossed for you, buddy. (Not really, it would be difficult to type like that.)

I saw that you had entered the originalworks contest. I used to do those. I didn't have a passion for it though, so I decided to stop. If you have the time and want to put it together, they've upped the prizes a lot, so you can do quite well with it. Good for you for finding new ways of earning steem!

Someone resteemed the originalworks post, or otherwise, I wouldn't have seen it and didn't even know it existed. The Medibloc contest wasn't really what I would want to regularly do, either. To really feel comfortable, I would need more time to go over all of the information, and then try to figure out just how much to cover. Their guidelines made it such that it sounded like they wanted a press release more than an article, so that's kind of the slant I took.

Otherwise, I would have also needed to spend some time digging up information on the downside of the Medibloc blockchain, find some credible detractors, etc. Not sure how easy that would be to do.

Great potential there though. I'll use it if they deliver on their promises. Might have to go to the doctor more often. :)

re: neoxian contest

Well, we'll see. I thought of the possibility it was a holding vote, but I'm not crossing my fingers or holding my breath. I'll just try to be on top of when the next one comes out and try to come up with something that might fit the criteria better.

I think I need to find other sources of earning STEEM. I think we all do. I've been looking into commenting where there is a steem bounty present. There aren't as many as I thought there might be, but every little bit counts, I guess.

The reason they have you resteem it is to get more exposure.

I think they were looking more for the press release-type piece so you probably did really well. Let me know how it goes. It seems like they had some really big prizes. That would be cool if you won one of those.

re: neoxian contest
Just wait and see what happens. You've done the work now, so there's nothing more you can do. Relax and hopefully you win!

I wouldn't mind getting more Steem. Maybe the prices will drop enough that I actually buy some! Let me know how it goes with the Steem Bounty. I haven't found it to be highly rewarding, but like you said, "every little bit helps."

It was very helpful. Mazzle was the one who resteemed it. Looks like he entered, too. His was a lot longer post, so he went more all out.

re: neoxian

Are you telling me to CHILL?! 😁

Actually, I thought I was acting quite reserved and adult-ish. Even so, the results are out and I did not win any of the places. If you like, you can follow the post link:

https://steemit.com/writing/@neoxian/neoxian-s-prodigious-and-desolate-post-apocalyptic-writing-contest-results

Apparently the funny, strange story was what they liked best for post-apocalyptic. can't say I blame them. Comedians are supposed to have tragic lives so a post-apocalyptic society should create some of the best comedians ever, right? :)

howdy there @glenalbrethsen! wow this was something very unique and very good, I've never read a story written by a drone before. It was so good that I started to believe it...maybe you're part drone? this better win that contest!

Well, I'm glad you liked it. I'm not a big fan of first person narrative, but every once in a while I try it out. It's been all the rage for several years, though.

Yeah, well, drones don't usually get an opportunity to narrate their own stories, because they're drones. They are generally told what to do, and since it's mostly manual and menial labor they're performing, journaling isn't a big part of their day.

I may very well be part drone. What I just described sounds a lot like what I end up doing for my wife. :)

After I saw the contest I started looking through the entries and found that a lot of them didn't have anything to do with post-apocalyptic worlds, but since then a few more have trickled in that have a decent chance of winning. It's all subjective and based on what neoxian likes, so it won't be a huge thing if I don't. It gave me a chance to demonstrate more of my creativity, which is what I ultimately want to do anyway.

I'm not thinking it to be my best work, so we'll see.

well sir it's a great way to experiment though and to try and improve your skills, I thought it really worked, especially for a drone! lol.
neoxian, I don't think I've seen him, he's a leader or something?

Might be a he, not sure. They are a large Orca delegating most of their SP out but with enough to still vote like a large dolphin. A 100% vote is worth over $4. And since they've promised to resteem and pay out 10 SBDs, I think there's a decent payout awaiting the winner. :) So, I'm not sure if that makes them a leader, but I do believe they have a community of some sort growing up around them. I've just recently become aware of them. I keep stumbling on new people with large SP every day. :)

howdy today @glenalbrethsen! yes sir those people with large SP are good to know.
I like this neoxian because it sounds like he or she or them is helping a lot of people!

I'd forgotten they were one of the few offering some kind of loans. Very intriguing. Having the contracts on the blockchain for all to see, and keeping things simple, seems like a good way to go. And with contests in addition to that, it's a great combination if people are repaying and participating. Seems like both of that is happening.

Well, the ones with SP that are still posting, commenting and curating are good to know. They're getting to be few and far between. So many are delegating their SP, that unless you're on the receiving end, or the on the receiving end is actually posting, commenting and curating—and seeing your work—it doesn't matter if they have high SP. It's all tied up until they revoke it.

howdy today @glenalbrethsen! so the people with large sp are investors and they make money or interest on their sp even if they loan it out?

In a manner of speaking, we're all investors, as long as we don't cash out our earnings. And I think it's more nuanced than just people bringing in money from elsewhere, because there are plenty of lower dolphins, minnows and even redfish that are already delegating something. Not sure if all of those are leasing it or not.

In general, I'm not against delegation. In theory, it can be quite beneficial for the recipient, as well as the donor, regardless of whether it is free or leased. The issue for me becomes that too often any of these folks are delegating so much that their own votes become worth as much as a redfish would be.

They can do whatever they want with their SP. It's their stake. It's just kind of disheartening to have people who are voting for you, and who have been dropping larger amounts, all of sudden to be dropping pennies instead of fifty cents to a dollar. All because of delegation.

I guess that means I could track down the recipients and try to encourage them to upvote me, but in some cases the delegations are spread out over many people, so knowing the one larger fish becomes knowing all the smaller fish with their delegations and different tastes in posts.

In other words, it makes it that much more time consuming to regain ground that may or may not be lost again when the delegations end.

Throne good

You are very well versed in writing. Keep up the good work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87