THE VILLAGE CHAMPION

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

IMG-20180704-WA0005.jpg

Adamu has been the village champion of Guda for two years. He was an energetic and vibrant young man in his village. Men were scared of him because they believed the gods of the land were behind me. Even fathers name their new born son after him. He was popular in the community.

There came a time in the history of Guda when King Azuza had a land dispute with the King of Guda. They both claimed Isabela land belonged to their ancestors. After lot of medications, they accepted the dispute be resolved in a wrestling bout between the champions of each village.

King Azuza summoned the chiefs and Adamu to his palace to discuss the new development. They knew he hate waiting so they rushed there as soon as they got the information. They all sat as he spoke.

"My friend, Adamu. I know you have heard about the land dispute going on. "He nodded. "There was a decision today at the council of elders, the dispute will be resolved in a wrestling bout between you and their champion, Izaga. Hope I can rely on you?"

Adamu stood up, he beat his chest like a Gorilla and bowed to the king.

"You can rely on me your royal Highness. I will deliver the land to you and if I don't, cut off my head in the market square."

The king was surprised, he looked at his chiefs and they were shocked too.

"Are you sure Adamu? You are in front of the gods, you cannot afford to make such deal without meaning it."

He looked at the king and beat his chest again.

"I am so sure your Highness. I am confident in myself. If I don't deliver the land to my people, cut off this head."

The king believed in his confidence. He shook hands with him as a seal to the deal put up by him. Adamu left the palace angrily, he didn't like the way the king doubted him at first. He sent for his friends and challenged them to a wrestling bout. He beat them all and climbed on top of the tree in his compound.

"My name is Adamu, son of Atiba. One day, I will be the king and everybody will bow for me." He screamed on top of his lungs. Immediately, his friends bowed for him.

The king felt he was not preparing enough so he sent two of his Chiefs to his house. He instructed them to remind him what was at stake and the deal he made in his palace. The chiefs got to his house and met him eating.

"The chiefs of the land, I greet you. You have walked well, join me."

They looked at each other and rejected his offer. They were surprised he was eating heavily some days to the tournament. Even though they were scared of him, chief Ajiti spoke.

"The King sent us to you. He believes you are not preparing well for the tournament. He said we should remind you of....."

Before he could finish the statement, Adamu washed his hands and moved closer to him. Ajiti suddenly lost his voice and was shaking terribly at his scary sight. He locked his cloth and the other chief's cloth together with his huge hands.

"Tell your king to stop worrying about me. I will win this tournament and if I like, I will come for the throne too because he is a coward just like his father. Now leave my house before I feed you to my pigs."

They ran as fast as they could to the palace. They narrated all what transpired in his house. The king was not surprised, he knew he was a proud, non-challant and arrogant young man.

"Well, all we have to do is to wait for the outcome of the bout. Go home my chiefs and relax, we will be fine."

Two days before the tournament, Adamu was visited by the Chief Herbalist of Guda. He was blind yet the wisest man in the village. He was the only one Adamu listen to. He was glad to receive him. He offered him kolanut and palm wine.

After the old man had taken the refreshment. He told him to sit in front of him.

"My son. I believe in your power and strength as a man. The gods have been behind you since your journey here on earth. There is more to life than power , the ancestors ask me to warn you about the forthcoming tournament. Don't lay with any woman before the tournament. If you do, death will come knocking. Be warned."

Adamu was carried away when the old man mentioned "I believe in your power and strength." He love people praising him. The old man stood up and at his entrance, he drew his ear "be warned my son" and left.

A day before the tournemant, Adamu went out with his friends. They drank to celebrate his future win. They met some girls and invited them to their table. They all got drunk and went home together. Eventually, he slept with one of the girls. Unknown to them, the girls were sent by king of Zuba.

On the day of the tournament, he was woken up by his friends. He had severe hangover. He was guided to the tournament by them. The king was disappointed when he saw him, his scary look was gone.

He was defeated in less than a minute. The land of Isabale became Zuba property to the delight of his people.

Adamu was asleep on the floor while the announcement was made by the council of elders. The king of Guda ordered his guards to take him. To the market square and prepare him for execution. He also ordered the village crier to go around the village to inform them to be there.

He was tied like a Christmas goat waiting for execution. The villagers were shocked to see the man they once looked up to tied down. The king and his chiefs arrived. He was glad to see his people in attendance. They all bowed.

He went near Adamu and some him. He tried to untie himself but he was too weak. The king narrated everything that happened to the villagers. They were shocked. He ended his speech with this:

"Well, tell your children and children's children that pride and arrogance comes before destruction. This is the end of your village champion. Do you have anything to say Adamu?"

He was crying. He has realized his mistakes but it was already too late for him.

"I want to apologize to the king and everyone here. I am sorry for all my actions and for disrespecting the king. I pray for your forgiveness today and you all should learn from my mistakes. Thank you."

His head was cut off by the village executioner. Even though he died like a common thief, his name was still on the lips of the people of Guda.


@ifeoluwa writes

Sort:  

Pride comes before destruction.

This is the truth and the message that got me in this story.

#bigwaves

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by imbigdee from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

@ifeoluwa88 the great writer.... Interesting story.

Thanks baby drawer

What a great write up! More wisdom...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61122.11
ETH 2972.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66