"Omega Crossing" (A Steemit Novel) Chapter 3.2 The Stone of Wisdom Pt. 2

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

Prelude

Chapter One: A name day to remember

Chapter Two: The First Awakening

Chapter 3.1: The Stone of Wisdom

Omega Crossing: Chapter 3.2

cover1.2.jpg
An Original Painting by Myself

The Stone of Wisdom (part 2)

On the upper floor of Karlios’ home one could see the entirety of the small village of Tranquility. The vantage point was ideal for the watchful Village Elder. From the four windows all directions could be seen and from its elevated position threats could be assessed as early as possible. It’s open and bare design was one of simplicity, apart from the massive desk, which sat square in the center of the room.

This was where most of his personal time was spent. For within the desk was many drawers, within each drawer, a plethora of items; chemicals, plants, specimens, soils, rocks, metals, and whatever a savvy mage might desire. Each item was stored neatly in a small jar or aptly fitting container, dependent upon its size.

It was at this very desk where his inspiration for creating Keth’s “Stone of Wisdom” was born. Likewise, it was also where he had secretly labored, no less than three hours a night since Keth’s last name day. For that was when his greatest failure was made manifest. Remorseful of his prideful and arrogant choice some two decades prior, he knew, the days of Tranquility would be numbered. So he set about to prepare for the day he knew would come.

“Here, take this...” Karlios pulled a couple of items from within his desk. “And change it to this.”

“Uh...” Keth looked at the green wad of fuzzy moss he now held in his left hand.

“How…” Then looked to the dried carrot his Grandfather had just placed in his right hand.

“Exactly…” Looking back to the sad little ball of moss.

“Am I supposed..” Turning once again to the shriveled little carrot.

“To do that” Keth’s eyes pleaded for help as he looked to his Elder.

“Take a seat” Karlios motioned for Keth to sit down at his desk.

The younger man complied, eagerly listening to each word the Elder spoke.

“Transfiguration is a skill honed only by the greatest of magi.” Karlios picked up the sad little carrot from Keth’s right hand.

“It is a lengthy process, taking years to discipline the mind and endless studying of different target materials.” He then reached out to retrieve a glass of water from the desk.

“Those whom have the gift of viewing...” He stuck the pathetic carrot into the water.

“They can merely look, and recreate. Little study is needed to begin.” As he spoke those last words the carrot changed form and absorbed the water, renewed itself into what would appear to be a freshly pulled carrot, straight from the soil.

“You have excelled at transformation. Now with your new found ability of viewing, you should make short work of a task such as this. As far as your other gifts are concerned...” He paused for a moment to consider his words.

“We can discuss them at a later time.” He lied.

“For now just use your sight and look at them closely, go as deep as you are able to. Then recreate the carrot.” He smiled and placed the carrot back into Keth’s right hand.

“I don’t know how to control my sight yet. Last time I was stuck, I couldn’t do anything. I tried and tried, but nothing worked… I don’t even know how I entered into it.” Azra’s form flashed before Keth’s mind. The slightest smile appeared on his face, remembering the whole experience, and his force of will which lead to his spirit sight being revealed.

Karlios caught wind of his epiphany. “Are you sure about that?”

“Well… Maybe I know how to start it… But I can’t control it… Everything I tried failed.” Keth felt a bit cowardice, trying to make excuses.

“That is the problem. While viewing, one cannot try to do a thing, one simply does.” Karlios was getting frustrated at how long this was taking. Afraid that time would expire he attempted to expedite the process with his best advice.

“Everything you have known prior to today. You have experienced solely in your body. When you try to do something you only know how to do such through your flesh. You try to go, you move your feet. You try to look, you move your head. You try to think in words, you move your mouth. While you are away from your body these things cannot be done. With enough training eventually you can use words, as I did with you. You may even be able to move your body, but for now, that is all off limits. Do not try, just do. Now use your gift and look as deep as you can, once you see the differences in the moss, change it to be like the carrot.”

Keth was awestruck at the simplicity of this instruction. Could what I had been training for, really be this easy?

“OK, I will just do it.” Keth inhaled a large breath.

“Oh yeah, don’t forget to breath once you return to your body.” Karlios chuckled


This is chapter 3.2 of my Steemit Novel.

I will be attempting to complete the next section as soon as possible, but I have no idea as to exact time tables of when this will be. Your support would certainly help start a fire under me and help this project move forward with more force.

If you find this work of value, please consider Resteeming it. I am but a tiny fish in a massive ocean of talent and spam alike, and will very much appreciate any help I can get at getting my work seen.

PS Remember Don't hate me I'mjustsaying

-K

If any "Artists." are interested in making some cover art inspired by my writing. I would be happy to showcase your work in future posts. I will link to your profile, of course giving you full credit for your hard work. If interested comment with your image on this post.

I currently would rather not use for myself the "services" of upvote bots or any of the other pay to play options available on Steemit. (Please do not be offended if you do use these services, frankly I don't care who does. But personally I would rather only get upvotes from real, live, breathing, interested parties, if someone wants to pay for these services on my behalf I would view that as the same as a personal upvote. I just don't want to self promote.) This does leave me as a little guppy at a disadvantage to those who do use these services. The only way I can think of to offset this is to give real live people an opportunity to upvote me outside of the 7 days. I will be attempting to leave a comment each week, until the next chapter is complete. If you would like to help partner with me in this work please feel free to upvote my latest comment. I know of no other way to allow people to reward this work beyond the 7 day limit. If this practice is in violation of any rules please inform me with links to said rules. Thank you.

Sort:  

Great job! I have enjoyed all of the parts so far! Congratulations on the Curie vote! Well done! Tip!

A big thank you ma'am for the tip... Tips his hat

My only hope is that my future posts bring even more enjoyment, for your reading pleasure.

Hi @imjustsaying! You have received 0.1 SBD tip + 0.03 SBD @tipU from @dswigle :)

@dswigle wrote lately about: Tonight. Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Well done mate, cracking stuff. Looking forward to the next part!

You do know that I couldn't have done it without my Foxxy friend's support. :)

AWWW, you....... :-). You just know it ain't so . Its easy to say 'keep doing what you're doing' but your work speaks for itself.
Hey, what are you reading this for? Get writing!

great work. I'm proud of you, dude.

Thank you, I love the community of amazing writers here. Thank you for Resteeming. Your book is a fun read but your posting chapters much quicker than I have time to read them lol. I'll be on chapter 7 by the time your done posting the whole book. I'll do my best to leave a comment telling you my thoughts as I snail my way through. Thanks for your support.

Wow thanks bro. I do like it, it's rather fitting for where the story is now. Unfortunately I am hoping to use only original pieces, people here can get a bit grumpy when you use other stuff. I do know that I "could" use it as long as i quoted it, but I would much rather us strictly original content. Like my first pictures was one I had taken, this one is a picture of my painting.

I totally love that you made this for me, please don't be offended by me not using it. I'd love to see anything that you personally created though, that is if you are interested in doing it. I totally understand if that doesn't interest you though. Thanks again. It is a great cover though. I hope you understand where I am coming from.

Nah man, I get it. I can try something else with your artwork if you'd like.

If you want to have a go at that, I'd love to see what you come up with.

Plus it was a more for fun thing anyways.

I liked it though :)

Oh wow Bro, Thank you. I'm hoping to have my next section posted today. I just need to edit it. I hope that you enjoy it.

Its been slow going. Babies have a way of completely sucking your spare time. Are you on discord?

Congratulations @imjustsaying, this post is the third most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Newbie account holder (accounts that hold between 0.01 and 0.1 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by newbie account holders during this period was 3723 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $3706.10. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Gee @bitgeek you sure do know how to make a fella blush.

I would also like to thank my friends at @thewriterblock for their guidance with my writing. This particular piece was not work-shopped, but their help on my previous one was invaluable, It helped me to sharpen up my writing. Thanks guys, and gals, also a special thanks to @rhondak for taking the time to critique my work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99