Legacy, a Story in 33 Words

in #fiction5 years ago

She had to start looking after herself again.

Too-thin hand resting on her still-flat belly, Allie smiled.

Her memories of Joe wouldn't fade completely. A part of him would live on after all.

 


 

This is my entry for my friend Jayna's weekly 50-word story prompt. I haven't felt up to writing for a while, since life had run me ragged. I was glad to finally be writing again this week--to feel like myself again.

However, this piece is not the story I wrote for the prompt. The one I wrote today has been submitted to a market, and it will not be posted until I hear from them.

This little story was hatched after my friends and I did an exercise where we mapped out a character's arc, and afterwards, we fleshed them out into stories.

This particular story actually has four different incarnations. A ten-word version, this one of 33 words, and one of about 1300 words. It's also been rewritten in Dutch and entered in a literary competition back home.

Always curious about your thoughts, so don't hesitate to let me know.

Hugs

Jasmine


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://www.jasminearch.com/index.php/2018/10/06/legacy-a-story-in-33-words/
If you would like to read some of my other work, feel free to have a look around on my off-Steem blog page by clicking the banner. My library there contains all of the pieces I’ve written since starting my blockchain adventure.






As a writer, finding the right community–the right tribe–makes all the difference.
For me, that’s the INKubator. I’m one of the admins there, and I have to say I’ve never been more proud of something I helped build, than I am of the INKubator.
We help each other improve, lovingly drown each other’s drafts in red ink, and help each other brainstorm.
But we’re more than a writing club. We’re a family. We root for each other as we submit pieces for various publication venues.
We cheer and join in victory dances when a piece is accepted.
We support each other through the disappointment of the inevitable rejections.
We hang out, playing as hard as we work, and from the madness of our conversations, more stories are born.
As a community, we span the globe, with members from Asia, Australia, Europe and the US, so chances are there will be someone there if you should decide to drop in.
If we’re quiet, that’s because we’re writing.
If you love writing, we’d love to meet you! Click on the banner below to pay us a visit.





Steemitramble




Steemitengine
The STEEM Engine

Sort:  

How wonderful that you have submitted a version of this piece to a literary competition. I can't wait to hear how it turns out.

I'm not sure why Joe isn't around anymore, although I can imagine. It sounds like it is healing for her to retain a part of him, and one that she can nurture for all the years to come.

Well, it didn't make the shortlist. :-D Off to look for another market for it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72