Fifty-word short story round-up and fresh prompt!

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

Hello Fifty Worders! Thank you for your 50-word stories this past week. In this post I will share some of the week’s highlights, and provide a new prompt.

I had a really fun week, as I took part in the #steemwars co-authored sci-fi parody with my team, the “Darths.” I played the role of “Jayna the Hutt.” (Of course!) In the The Chronicles of the Darths: Last call, you will find links to the posts about my team’s mission, if you’d like to check it out.

How about you? Feel free to share something from your blogging adventures, in addition to your 50-word story.

Okay, let's survey the week in #fiftywords!

50wordsGIFhashtag.gif
(Image credit: Original image by pixel2013, Pixabay)

Last week's 50-word stories


What a great week. We had multiple new people join our ranks and try their hand at writing 50-word stories. Welcome @aggroed, @mizdais, @phillyc, @foxspirit, @kalley, and @waq2r!

Last week's prompt was “change,” which gave several of us fits. But we did it!

Here is the complete list of stories inspired by the “change” prompt:

Highlights of the week


Here are just a few highlights that were particularly brilliant:

Spare Some Change, by @cizzo

Wisdom comes from interesting places....

The woman threw change at the beggar’s feet.

“Get your shit together,” she barked and hurried down the sidewalk.

The homeless man scraped the change off dirty pavement with calloused and cracked fingers. He jingled the coins in his fist and smiled.

“I think it’s you who needs the change.”

January 21st, 1793, by @luiskrupaz

A high-impact historical fiction piece....

As I lay here, can't help but wonder what went wrong...
Was it her fault?.
However, "c'est ma chance"...
Here comes Monsieur Sanson...
They have their right to be angry, I tried to change, but is too late.
For I am Louis XVI, King of France!
The blade fell...

Going through, by @anikekirsten

So many questions left unanswered....

From the shadows, the boy snatched the cup. With weak legs, he sprinted down the alley toward Sanctuary. That old hag wouldn’t dare come here. He shook his prize and the change inside rattled, echoing through the building.

Looking at his secret shelf of food, he left the cup outside.

A change in direction, by @negativer

A day when everything changes....

Our car spun on black ice, a blur of changing directions. My wife screamed, our daughter in back flung against her seatbelt.

We hit the guardrail with a crunch of metal and a spray of glass.

Life changed forever for two of us that day, and ended for the third.

Letter to a friend, by @anixio

How to leave a friendship....

Can you change my friend, your character, the very core of your personality? I know that i can't, but if you can't either it means we've come to an end. To an end of a great era, which can no longer continue unless one of us changes. Goodbye and farewell.

Nice job, everyone!

This week's 50-word story prompt

The prompt for this week is “bait.” I hope you have some fun with this, Fifty Worders!

Guidelines


Please review carefully. Images must not be pulled from any Internet site.

  1. Write a story in 50 words. (It's especially cool if you can hit 50 words exactly!)
  2. Use the #fiftywords tag, and post the link in the comments of this post.
  3. Be sure to read and upvote the work of the other participants. It's all about community!
  4. Use only artwork that you have the right to use, and attribute it properly. See the “Proper use of images” topic below.

Proper use of images


Proper use of images means one of the following:

  1. It is your image.
  2. The image is public domain, or under creative commons licensing rules.
  3. If it is not one of the above, you have actual permission.

Be sure to mention that the image is yours, or attribute its source. And if it's not public domain or creative license, be sure to state that you have permission.

I have two resources for you, from my friends at @thewritersblock:

And speaking of #thewritersblock, if you would like editing help for your stories before posting them, follow the tag to find them on Discord.

Deadline for this week: Saturday, June 2nd.

The 50-word story clan

I'm mentioning you here if have participated in the #fiftywords short story challenge in the past. Please let me know if you would like your tag removed in this or future posts. (Note that I am starting to reduce the list. Those who have not participated for a long time or are not active on Steemit will eventually drop from the mentions.)

@ablaze, @adigitalife, @aggroed, @agmoore, @ahmadmanga, @aksounder, @alheath, @anikekirsten, @anixio
@beginningtoend, @botefarm @brandonsadventur, @bryarose23
@caleblailmusik, @carn, @cheekah, @cizzo, @clacrax, @creatr
@damianjayclay, @deirdyweirdy, @desmoniac, @diebitch, @dirge, @divineinyang, @donnest, @douglasbalmain
@eaglespirit, @elementm, @emwalker, @enjar, @eroticabian, @evgsk
@feebie, @felt.buzz, @ficciones, @fitinfun, @foxfiction, @foxyspirit
@galactichunter, @godwine
@hope-k
@iamthegray, @ilt-yodith, @intheory, @isa93, @isufbakaj
@jadams2k18, @janine-ariane, @jakeybrown, @jayna, @jonknight, @josecarrasquero
@kaelci, @kally, @kimberlylane, @kingernie, @ktfabler
@ldacey-laforge, @lightoj, @lucylin, @luiskrupaz
@Mammasitta, @marie-jay, @mark-dahl, @mgaft1, @mikesthoughts, @mineopoly, @miniature-tiger, mizdais, @momzillanc, @mydivathings
@naquoya, @naso, @navaneeth, @negativer, @niallon11
@onewithearth
@paintingangels, @phillyc, @photovitamin, @pixiehunter, @poeticnest, @preparedwombat, @prydefoltz, @puppetmaster1111, @purpledaisy57, @pyrowngs
@ravencorinn, @rodrigocabrera
@sciencevienna, @sharoonyasir, @skoolielove, @spalatino, @sue-stevenson, @sukhasanasister
@tanglebranch, @thatlovechild, @theblackcrow, @theironfelix, @therosepatch, @tiatu, @tony-duke, @tuwore, @tygertyger
@vaitelavicius, @vivek-g
@wa2qr, @wales, @whitewizard, @wilfredn, @wordsalmighty, @wylde
@yimiipsa
@zen-art

About the 50-word challenge


This weekly 50-word challenge starts off each Sunday with a one-word prompt. Participants use the prompt to create a micro-fiction story in just 50 words. For more info and inspiration: check out the recent post about this project, Fifty-word challenge: FAQs, ideas, motivation and showcase.

This is a continuation of the #fiftywords challenge started by @miniature-tiger who has been developing a seafaring strategy game called Archipelago for the Utopian.io open source community. Visit the linked post for the latest update.

Thanks so much for reading! If you haven't tried writing a story in 50-words, I hope you'll give it a try!

jayna_gifsignature.gif

Sort:  

Hello, Jayna!

Your 50-words Siren call has lured me in once again... :D

Thanks!

"Immovable vs Irresistible" ~ by Duncan Cary Palmer

😄😇😄

@creatr

You are just in time, my friend! I have the new prompt post ready to go. I’m traveling, but as soon as I get to my hotel I will add your link to my list of stories for the week and get it posted!

Yaaayyy!

Got my nose in under the wire... :D Thanks!

Thank you for contributing a 50-word story! I almost missed this one!

Here's my last-minuter for this week. It's good to be back here. This challenge and freewrites are my happy place here :)
https://steemit.com/fiftywords/@sue-stevenson/ai-bnb

Yay, I missed you!

Good entries this week too!! Thanks for keeping this challenge going @jayna, Now I'll click bait you with my link: "Stay safe, Papa"

Well, not really a bait since you can read the story below:

"Stay safe, Papa"

"Don't worry my love."
My brother almost cried, as I bid my little girl goodbye.

'They' gave me a spy mission.
But considering where I'm going to; who I'm tracking...

"Hey Bro!" I pat his shoulder. "Take care of her, until my return."

I assumed the role of the bait.

[The End]

Now for the actual clickbait:

You'll never believe what the author of the story above said!

Lol. Click-bait is click-baity here.

Yay, you're back for another round. I think this makes you a "regular!"

This week's entry: To Prey or not to prey. Thanks for hosting this great challenge, Jayna!

Love the play on words!

Been absent for a couple of weeks, but I am back! Here is my entry: https://steemit.com/fiftywords/@clacrax/the-special-one

Welcome back, @clacrax!

Some amazing stories last week . Thank you by the way for running this week after week.

Thank you for participating!

Come swallow your Bait

That is enticing! You should write cover copy for books!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94