Light in the woods: A 50-word short story

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

This is part three of a story sequence. Thanks, @negativer, for continuing the story I started! This 50-word story offers a conclusion... or perhaps the impetus for yet another installment from @negativer.

Part 1: Lost, by @jayna
Part 2: Searchlight, by @negativer

Light in the woods

forest.jpg
(Image source: Unsplash image by Niilo Isotalo)

I tried to crawl away into the underbrush, weak and nearly paralyzed by fear and hunger. What was this light that had found me? I heard breathing, rustling, and footsteps. I tried to see what was coming, but was blinded by the light.

“Anna! Oh my God, I found you.”



Thanks so much for reading!

Here's my complete collection of 50-word stories:

Lost
Rod's Bait and Tackle
Hank’s sudden change
Mystery of the snowbank
Going below
What remained
In that moment
The space between
Elsie’s view
Just a tree in a field
Nathan’s waterfall
A walk in the woods
The church mouse
The farmers' market
The tiny hunter
The map
Ghost fair
Departure from Castle Island
Conspirators and lies
Getting to know you
The man in hiding
Mermaid dreams
Time to say goodbye

jayna_gifsignature.gif

Sort:  

A great wrap up to the tale, Jayna:) I did read neg instalment too. Less than a week to wrap up the 100 days of poetry; I hope to get back into writing 50 words stories then:)

You must be feeling such a sense of achievement to have maintained a consistent daily habit with poetry writing, @prydefoltz! Regimens and challenges are such great mechanisms for producing work consistently. A preliminary congratulations! It will be fun when you return to #fiftywords!

Seems I came at the middle of the story

I am confused

Can i have the link to the beginning?

Thanks

Thanks for your interest, @mrposyble. The first two parts are linked right at the top of the story! 😊

150 words altogether? Doesn't sound fair @jayna ;)

Ha ha. Well think of it as three different stories that connect! We have also had people create a story series by writing installments from consecutive weekly prompts. It’s all about creativity in 50 words!

Woo, this almost like interactive fiction!

Way to wrap it up! I'm...glad nobody died!

Yet! You could write an epilogue about how the guy who found her was the psycho killer she was running from! Ha ha ha.

Do you mind if I continue it? Seriously, I don't want to make it look like I'm taking your original work in an unpleasant direction, but it's almost kind of fun to steer a co-op story like this in directions the other author doesn't actually intend or foresee or want.

Do eeet!! Ha ha, of course!

This is a happier ending than I was expecting. A cool idea for you both to collaborate your stories!

It’s so fun! We may have a new trend for 50 words.

I missed your previous story – I had to go back and read it (sorry your first part of it is too old to upvote). Well done.

Thanks so much! And I appreciate you going back to read and upvote part one. (It’s only day 6, by the way.) Would love to see your 59-word stories again, @momzillanc. I will post a new prompt today.

I’ve read commenters complaining that you don’t get the entire sixth day for upvoting. I’m happy to go back and give it a vote if your certain it will count.

Oh no worries. I’ve never had an issue until it rolls to 7. Then it seems sometimes it allows you to vote but it doesn’t count. Ugh!

I’ll go back and upvote it then and hope for the best.

You're such a dear!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64498.18
ETH 3079.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86