Lost: A 50-word short story

in #fiction6 years ago

So, I usually post my 50-word challenge stories near the Saturday deadline. One reason is that I get busy and just don't get to it. Another reason is that I like to see what all the other Fifty Worders produce, and choose a storyline that rounds out the collection for the week. (I realize this probably makes no sense to anyone but me. Heh heh.) Anyway, this week I thought I would write a 50-word story at the beginning of the week for a change of pace! Who knows, I may write another one before the week is up.

New to #fiftywords? The most recent challenge post is here.

Lost

nature-3151869_1280.jpg
(Image source: Pixabay image by jplenio)

I staggered through the dark woods, lost. Owls called and animals scurried. I feared bears. Was I walking closer to the cabin or further away? After two days without food, I could barely stand.

A light shone through the trees. Friend or foe? Afraid, I ran deeper into the woods.



Thanks so much for reading!

Here's my complete collection of 50-word stories:

Rod's Bait and Tackle
Hank’s sudden change
Mystery of the snowbank
Going below
What remained
In that moment
The space between
Elsie’s view
Just a tree in a field
Nathan’s waterfall
A walk in the woods
The church mouse
The farmers' market
The tiny hunter
The map
Ghost fair
Departure from Castle Island
Conspirators and lies
Getting to know you
The man in hiding
Mermaid dreams
Time to say goodbye

jayna_gifsignature.gif

Sort:  

Loved the existential nature and hidden warning in this piece, Jayna:)

Ooh, you found some existentialism in my story? That makes my day! Thank you, @prydefoltz!

Lovely, Jayna! Quite a lot in here. Messages, morals, and double perspectives. I first thought the character was a doe. But could easily see this as a woman escaping from someone.

Thank you for reading and commenting, @anikekirsten! Yes, she is definitely a person. She wandered away from the cabin where she is staying, and cannot find her way back. The question is whether the light in the woods is from someone she knows and trusts, or some creep. How would she defend herself? It may be the very person who could save her, but alas, she is too afraid to find out.

Oh, yes. I'd probably have hid as well. Very few strangers are benevolent so it would be safer to find her way back alone. Dire scenario for sure.

I wonder what would be more frightening — the forest animals or some unknown person.

Eek. Good question.

Oh my god, I can't deal with this lol, gives me the creeps!

I hope it's a FRIEND, not foe...

Ha ha, thanks @luiskrupaz! If it is a friend, she will never know because she ran away.

A light in the deep, dark woods? :) I would run too; aliens!

Thanks @kaelci! That thought crossed my mind as well.

Amazing! I liked how it conveyed a gothic, or rather Romantic sense.

Thank you very much, @alexandered!

Wow, terrifying, captivating and really well written...

Thank you, @ablaze! Glad you enjoyed it.

I love this. This is good. Simple Idea. Great implimentation.

Thanks very much!

I like how you used light here to convey hope and left us questioning that as well (friend or foe line). Nice work @jayna

Thanks so much, @cizzo!

What a dilemma... Which way to run?

Nice!

😄😇😄

@creatr

Thanks, @creatr!

Hai @jayna Can I ask other topic?

What did you want to ask, @gayocoffeefarm?

Maybe this is silly questions for you. I want to improve my account steemit, but my voting power is low, I see some people get steem power delegation from other. So.. I want to ask how I can get/borrow steem power delegation from other people because I can't buy steem power.

Reason

I hope I can rebuild my garden when my level is hight in steem lol:)
Sorry my English is not perfect

Oh, I see. I am honestly not a great source of information about how to improve your standings or get delegations. If I were you and I wanted to learn more about delegation, I would follow people who do a lot of that!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61482.47
ETH 2990.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67