Time to say goodbye - thank you micro-fiction participants!

in #fiction5 years ago (edited)


We have had a great run on the Micro-fiction Contest. Thank you so much to everyone who has participated! It all started with a weekly 50-word short story challenge, and then after a really great run, I changed it up and ran the micro-fiction contest with a 250-word limit. It has been so much fun!

So then...

Why, why, why?


Why is it time to say goodbye?

I have a number of answers to that question:

  1. Change is good! Life is like a river – ever flowing, changing, becoming something new. I believe we continually grow and rejuvenate through change.
  2. I must write. My motivation for starting the challenge initially was to both create community and to spur myself to write something complete each week. But new writing projects have cropped up. I have many fiction projects in the works and I'm also working with several fiction groups to produce short story anthologies as well. (See the first completed book project below!)
  3. There are many other great Steem writing projects. I would like to support the other initiatives more effectively.
So that's it. Running this challenge/contest has been so much fun and I've met the most wonderful people through this venture. It's tough to call it a day. But I'm ready for the next chapter.

And on that note. Check this out...

Dead Silence: The book!



I'm excited to announce the publication of Dead Silence, an anthology of murder mysteries, authored by 9 short story writers on Steem, including myself.

The authors:

The book came out a couple of weeks ago on Amazon, and is now available in paperback. You can find it here:

https://www.amazon.com/Dead-Silence-Tales-Blockchain-Fiction/dp/1072083337/

I will be issuing one final fiction prompt for the Micro-fiction Contest, then over and out! Thank you again to everyone who has been a part of this fun adventure!

Animated signature




Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://jaynalocke.com/2019/06/10/time-to-say-goodbye-thank-you-micro-fiction-participants/

Sort:  

You will be missed, @jayna. If you start this up again, do give me a shout out.

Good fortune to you and your previous journey. May it be fruitful.

Thanks, @tristancarax! Just to be clear, I’m not going anywhere. Only the contest is going away. 😊

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you @jayna for all of your support, encouragement and the writing tips. I just purchased the book and will read it soon. Best of luck to you with your writing projects.

Thanks so much, @pyemoney! I’m glad you enjoy the writing tips, and thank you so much for the support!

Your 50 word story contest gave me my start! I am grateful. Best of everything to you, and I'm sure we will see you around.

That’s wonderful to hear, @owasco! And yes, I am here. I love Steem. It’s just time to forge a new path. 😁

How are things going for you?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Everything is going. Not always going well, but always going. I love Steem too, but boy does it flummox me sometimes! Now I have to get going on discord, which I feared would add too much to my learning curve so I've stayed away. It's probably very simple - my young nephews explained it to me as if it is nothing - but for me it's largely mumbo jumbo.

Thank you for all that you have done -- best to you on your future endeavors!

Thank you. I’m hoping to put more time and energy into writing, interacting and curating. I want to seek out the best writing on Steem. 😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66441.00
ETH 3217.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22