The Last Class. Part 1.

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

The slick mud squished uncomfortably under my naked bottom as I perched precariously on the cliff just above the flowing white waterfall.

Using a small tree branch as my lifeline, I leaned forward half suspending myself in mid air 40 feet above the rocks below where the magical dance was taking place.


Source: Pixabay.com

I knew the long-haired buxom beauties were killers, but I didn't care. They twisted and purred stepping lithely around the scattered bone piles, here a skull, here a femur. They squeezed a breast, licked a neck, patted a thigh, touching each other as lovingly as a newly married couple. I hovered insecurely, shaking with lust and fear. I was erect, angry, and on top of the world.

How did I get here? The journey was a brief one. My name is Zachery Jones. I'm an 18 year old high school dropout. We all dropped out. The whole world dropped, you see... right out of existence.


Eirstwhile Academy was a rundown joke of a school. The only reason any of us went to class was to escape the doldrums of being at home.

Actually that's not completely true, my friends and I went to check out the babes. The girl's school uniform was a ridiculously tiny thing. The blockchain economy was providing a basic income for just about everyone, so there was no real reason to learn any trade.

We played games, watched movies, stared at boobs, and basically chatted away about nothing. Even the teachers weren't into it. They let us run around and do whatever we wanted.

On Thursday, April 22nd 2022 half of my class were playing in the giant lead pipes behind the decrepit granite building. We were warned not to go back there. Lead poisoning blah blah blah. I was chasing little blonde Georgette back and forth between the second and third access tube. Every now and then she would pull her ruffled grey skirt up just a bit as she crawled in front of me showing off her white Garfield panties. She'd laugh and I'd smile with a glint in my eye. Fun game. I wanted to touch Garfield's lasagna with my stubby white fingers.

None of us knew about the EMP field generated by that race ending asteroid. We all felt a little bump, like a tiny earthquake that doesn't even knock your latest book off it's unsturdy shelf. We didn't know it was Africa disappearing into the ocean. It wasn't the Collision that killed the world though, it was the EMP. You see, the human brain requires a certain amount of electricity to work. We fell, as a race, like puppets with our brains removed. All except Class E42 from that idiotic Eirstwhile Academy.

Those kids were dumb enough to play in the lead pipes. On Thursday April 22nd, 2022 as they danced, chased each other, stared up each other's skirts, and spent that sunny afternoon basking in each other's company they had no idea that they were the last people left.

The last class.

The final chapter in Earth's history would be about these 20 kids.

How sad is that?

Note: I intend to make the completed story a contender for the new contest by Neoxian.

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Very, very nicely crafted; I hope you have time to finish this and keep up the energy and the general vibe.

Loving it! :-)

Cg

As a fellow writer, your positive reply means a lot to me. I definitely plan to finish this within the next couple of days. Although the story isn't completely plotted, I do see the general direction fairly clearly.

No worries, you deserve the encouragement! :-)

As far as plotting (especially if you see the general direction) I highly recommend getting yourself to a local park, or if you live near the countryside even better.

Put your phone on airplane mode, keep the voice recorder handy then go for what is known as a 'productive meditation walk' and just think about the story, making voice notes as you go.

Make sure you don't engage with anyone, not even a nod and a good morning, get as isolated as you can, it really works wonders!

Yeah, I'm rooting for you on this one; I can feel that if you put in the 'thinking time' it's going to be a right cracker :-D

Cg

Oh and timewise, make sure it's at least 50 minutes, no more than 90 mins, if you're going to write straight after, give yourself another 90 mins of just relaxing and not thinking about the plot, it's like steroids for the brain! :-)

Cg

Oh thats really amazing.
Keep up it.
I hope you have time to finish its and keep up the energy and general vibe.
Thanks for sharing sir @jeezzle.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66384.36
ETH 3272.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27