Goodbye? No.

in #fiction5 years ago (edited)

I'm writing this for Jayna's 50-word story challenge. The theme this week is "Goodbye", and is one dear to me right now. I can't seem to say it.

edit: I guess this story would be for last week's prompt. Still, here it is, a bit late.

This is a true story from earlier this morning. Hurricane Michael was supposed to be mild but even here--a thousand miles from landfall--it wreaked its havoc.



Goodbye? No.


Forecasts said the winds would max out around sixteen but they nearly ripped Koshi's butterfly bush out of the ground.

No more death, my heart sobbed.

I carefully snaked the nylon rope through its limbs, leveraged the line around the streetlight, and gently pulled the treasured tree back into place.

Koshi closeup1.jpg


I haven't forgotten my friends here. I miss you all and love many of you. Thank you each who have helped me muddle through this loss of my best friend. The tears still flow daily, nightly, and many times in between. Knowing you are there, with me in your thoughts, helps more than you may know. I will be back, and hopefully soon, with a minimum of damage.


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://gimmee.net/goodbye/

Sort:  

hugs I am glad his special place made it through the storm with your help. And so happy to see you writing words again. We love and miss you.

Thanks Bex. It wrenched my heart to see it bent, twisted and ripped from its place. There's been too much of that this year as you know so well. As for the words... well, I promised you I'd try! Thanks for always being there, gently pulling me back into place.

One step at a time, Jon. One step at a time. You've made a lot of steps lately. The rest will come. And we'd share your grief. Sometimes it helps to let it out in words. Maybe you need to do some poetry....

hugs

I miss you all so much. Your words of support, the knowledge you're there every day working for my healing, making sure I knew there were people constantly thinking of me--I don't have words that carry enough meaning. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you.

Anytime, hon.

Wishing you well Jon. In certain ways it is tougher losing a four-legged friend than a two.

Thanks. I'm still struggling and probably will for a long time.

Oh my gosh, @jonknight. So good to hear from you. I’ve been worried!

Thank you. The scar is still on my flesh, even after fifteen weeks. Literally. He dug into my arm and held onto life with all he could muster. The earth is a lesser place now. But the universe is full of wonder, and the knot that was Koshi will never be gone. His life was a blessing to everyone who knew him.

I hope memory of your time with him is ultimately a comfort, @jonknight.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78