Sort:  

Excellent story. You can feel her knowing nothing good was going to come from his little fit by the linen closet, but you also know she's been there before. She's going to take her moment to finish her coffee and not freak out about it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Excellently written freewrite @kaelci

"I would walk over there and regret moving in with this madman after I finished my coffee."

Because you know already that you will be regretting for what had happened there so it is better to go there after enjoying this cup of coffee!

I really liked the way you ended with a positive note even after a negative happening!

Thank you! :)

I think this person regretted moving in with Joey a long time ago (Joey is one of those characters who keeps popping up in my freewrites, always doing something nonsensical to annoy the protagonist) She's finally learning to deal with him in a calm, non-hysterical manner, haha. :D

Enjoy your coffee! wonder how come he feels so hungry

Posted using Partiko Android

Great story. I soooo admire your being able to do that! I spend hours on every few words.

Thanks!

This took a lot of practice... when I first started doing the five-minute freewrites, I was expecting to just write something like, "The prompt word is hungry, argh, I'm hungry right now and because there is a time constraint I don't know what I'm doing and I can't think and I have to keep typing or my time will be up and there'll be no words! Hungry!"

But you quickly get out of that :)

When it comes to proper things I obsess over every word! Sentences get stared at until I don't want to stare at them any more. And then I stare at them some more until they lose all meaning and I can no longer stand my own writing. Ugh.

You should try one of the freewrites some time! :D They help to lose the restrictions we impose upon ourselves and just write what comes, even if its crappy and you don't want to share it, sometimes you can come up with some interesting tidbits!

I did try it once and I wrote something like "The prompt word is hungry, argh, I'm hungry right now and because there is a time constraint I don't know what I'm doing and I can't think and I have to keep typing or my time will be up and there'll be no words! Hungry!" which just made me feel inadequate, and I'm not all that fond of that. I'll read a bunch of them and try again. It sure would be nice to produce something I haven't agonized over for hours. I don't have time for all this writing!
Question: do you give yourself some time to get an idea before you start writing, or just jump right in?

If the prompt gives me an idea straight away, I'll dive right in and accept what comes. Sometimes there'll be prompts that give me nothing and I don't bother with them because I know it'll just be boring.

Occasionally a sentence will just fly into mind and that's what I start with, or an image which I describe instead.

This leads to my first ever freewrite
The prompt was hook and the ONLY thing that would pop into mind was "hook, line, and sinker" so I began with that and then some random stuff followed.

This one was my second freewrite
The prompt was entryway and I saw an image of a lady leaning on a door, and went with it. Ended up making myself sad while writing it! woops.

Now that I've gotten into doing them, I find I can focus my mind a bit more during those five minutes... which is disappointing sometimes, because I no longer have the random factor that I was getting in my first ones. But it's a good exercise to do! :)

this feels as the start of an horror story, Joey may eat something un-edible...

That would be a very Joey thing to do -- no food? No problem! -- Mmm this candle stick is delicious. Oh no! It was a cursed candle stick! Everything will taste like wax forevermore!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17