Smitten (a five-minute #freewrite)

in #fiction5 years ago (edited)


"He has warm amber eyes. They are as liquid gold, gleaming bright beneath the rays of a full sun," Lily swooned. "I could stare into them forever. And ever. And ever!"

"Calm your farm," Chloe rolled her eyes and sipped her tea. "You've been blinded by his golden sheen. Look at you. If your grin gets any larger your face will split in half, your brain will fall out. Maybe it already has."

Lily's infatuated grin widened impossibly further and Chloe winced, waiting for the inevitable crack. It didn't. If this were a horror comedy, her face would halve and a creature would have crawled out, grinning with teeny tiny razor-sharp teeth. Perhaps its eyes would be gloriously golden too. It would be fitting. Thankfully, this was real life... or was it? She pinched the back of her hand and flinched. Yes, this was no dream, and if it were a movie, well, she wasn't getting paid enough to deal with this hysterical woman.

Hysteria. Chloe bit her lip before the giggle could escape. Didn't they once have an... interesting cure for that?

"You don't understaaaaaand," Lily sighed, her wistful demeanour reminiscent of a love-lorn heroine from some over the top romance novel. "If you saw his eyes... if only you could. We could be spellbound together. Yes! That's the word. Spellbound. I am totally spellbound right now. It's like magic --his eyes have cast a spell over me!"

Chloe sipped another mouthful of tea and frowned. It had gone cold. Such a waste.

"Can these golden magical orbs warm my tea?"

 


 

Hullo! It's day 629 of @mariannewest's five-minute #freewrite. The prompt for today is -- warm amber eyes -- and this is what I came up with before the eggtimer website beeped at me.

You can find today's challenge - AND JOIN USSSSSSSS - at the following link:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-629-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-warm-amber-eyes

Took a while to get started today. So many distractions! It's bad when you can't even get five lousy minutes to yourself, haha. We cleaned out the spare bedroom the other day and I'm planning on transforming it into a little office. Ordered a little computer desk/bookshelf combo thing and am waiting for it to arrive next week sometime. Will be nice to have a small space I can call my own. 😊 That's also when I'm planning to resume any possible dTube things like the #freeread, and videogame recordings, and things.

Anywho.

The header image used for today is CC0 and courtesy of Pixabay! It also has absolutely nothing to do with the little vignette! 😀 Apparently searching Amber Eyes or Golden Eyes on Pixabay results in a lot of animal images. I like it though.

Thank you for reading. 😊

 



Half Past the Moonfall is Now Available OFF Amazon

Smashwords eBook Buy on Smashwords Your Own Price
Barnes & Noble eBook Buy on Barnes & Noble $2.83 USD
Amazon Kindle Buy on Amazon $3.99 AUD
I also accept STEEM/SBD! Contact me on Discord - kaelci#5179
 



 


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://steem.kaelci.net/2019/07/12/smitten-a-five-minute-freewrite/

Sort:  

Yes they did have an interesting treatment for hysteria once upon a time, and it sounds like Lily is in for a bit of that!
Poor Chloe, seems perhaps she has calmed her farm a bit too much. She should consider going for a walk (sorry about the "should" word. I try not to use it). Maybe she just needs a little vitamin D.
It's always a pleasure to read your entries. I need to get over here more often.

Nothing wrong with the "should" word. 😊

I'm glad you enjoy my entries... have been struggling doing any lately. Too much on in the real world the past couple of months. Should be quieting down in a couple of weeks. 😬 I miss being able to sit down and write, even a five-minute thing.

Gotta love the cynical Chloe!
That image you created, though, with that sword pointing up at the eye - gaaaahhhh!!!!!

I didn't create it 😊 i found it on pixabay... there were no free images of amber coloured eyes unless you count the hordes of cats and dogs eyes. Thought, "eh, this'll do." and used it.. didn't have time to spend an hour looking for the perfect image, haha 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Ohhhhh my gosh. I didn't read to the very end, past this,


to this:

The header image used for today is CC0 and courtesy of Pixabay! It also has absolutely nothing to do with the little vignette! 😀 Apparently searching Amber Eyes or Golden Eyes on Pixabay results in a lot of animal images. I like it though.

I am a total schmuck!!!
(It's ok. I still like myself. 😀 I hope others will find me inoffensive as well. If not... oh well!)

I most certainly don't find you offensive! And I still like you, too. ;)

But you're an Aussie, and your part of the world is full of wacky fun-loving misfits, so maybe I'll just head down under and make myself at home. :) (Thanks for the kind words!)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61243.73
ETH 2974.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69