Sand between the toes

in #fiction6 years ago

After the sound of the next incoming wave I finally looked up. Where did my mind even wander off to? And where the hell did my dog run off to? That little rascal chose the wrong day to be a pain in the butt. Normally I would cut him some slack, but not today, just not today.



Pexels


I started to walk faster towards the end of the beach. The animal had to be somewhere. He couldn't have ran far, and this beach was sort of closed off. But I knew I didn't have that much time to find him. In about an hour the curfew would start, and everybody had to be inside their safe place then. And in that hour we also still had to get home, which would take forever in this traffic.

The island was on high alert. Another hurricane was coming and this was exactly the moment when we were totally not ready for it at all. Once back home I still had to close the shutters, and hopefully the water wasn't already cut. Because I hadn't filled all of my buckets as yet, and I needed something to flush with for the next couple of days. But even before I was there, I had to find my dog. I would never go into the storm without my dog.

My thoughts drifted off again. The last couple of days had been tedious. The waiting for a storm is like you know you will have surgery. You know you should have fun for the time being, but you are also not capable of relaxing entirely because you know something is coming. Sometimes paralyzing fear would pop up and then laughing as if it was the last time would follow immediately on that. It were weird days.

The water was entirely flat. I mean like a mirror flat. I could see the reflection of the clouds into the water. It was actually beautiful, and it looked to pieceful. As the sun was starting to set the sky started to change in color. Intense red with purple took over the normally azurblue sky. The red worried me, a sky shouldn't be red. It was a sign of warning. But in some way it was a piece of art, as if God was making a painting, before getting angry and shredding everything to pieces. Was that this? Was this God getting angry at mankind for all the crap we had pulled on him?

An incoming wave rolled over my feet. The water was not cold at all. It felt like bath water, with loads of salt inside. Water that would be the source of destruction, in the form of smashing waves or in the form of torrental rains. Water was such an underestimated force. Why hadn't I had more respect for the water before? Was I so stubborn not to had learned anything from last year? Did I get cocky after surviving stuff, that I refused to be scared?

But where did the damn dog go now?? It was really starting to get a little darker and I was almost at the point where I really had to get home with or without him. Would I really be capable of going home without him, knowing that we would never survive? Damn, I really considered leaving him for a second. I felt terrible for even considering this.

The sound of the waves made my mind drift again towards home. I had everything stacked in a corner with matrasses. Sitting comfortable and if necessary a perfect pillow to hide safe under for flying stuff. I had my drinking water ready, I had my cash ready, I had extra gas for in the car, I had my canned food. But the thought of the fear again was a problem, you couldn't buy that in the supermarkt and prepare for that. That's why I needed my dog, because just looking at him make me calm. And together we would get through this easily.

Chaos would take place in the next couple of days again, and I would totally stay out of it. I would hide in my corner in the house, without contacting anybody. There was no need for that, after a couple days you would see that life would start to pick up, and then I would come out of my cave. It should be fine.

The dog came walking up to me out of the bushes with a big fat crab in his mouth. He must have gotten the message on how important food stacking was for the both of us. How thoughtful :)






Proud member of the SMG. Do you want to apply as well? Give it a shot on Discord or follow the SMG curation trail

Interested in Passive income? Try Swiftcoin and Mannabase
Did you have the Steemit Airdrop of Gbyte already?Hit me up after
Sort:  

Very nice @karinxxxl, you built up a lot of suspense and then a tension relieving sign in the end. Well done!

Thanks @hope777 !

Although it is is fiction it could have been totally a truth, stuff from the heart is easy to write down <3

You know you should have fun for the time being, but you are also not capable of relaxing entirely because you know something is coming. Yes!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by karinxxl from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Totally unexpected twist to the story! Loved it.

Fiction but sooo much experience of life in there.

thanks dude!

Clever dog! Loved the metaphor about storms and surgery - appropriate!! I've been watching a few apocalyptic films this week, and I'm reminded of them reading this. Love your contemplative wriitng, @karinxxl. Hope you are well.

All is well here in the mountains @riverflows !

Well I often made that same bridge in my head last year after the storm, thinking about that we really ended up in 'the walking dead'

I like the freewriting! It just pops up every now and then :)

I hear that!! I need to write some more fiction as I love it, but haven't done so for a while here!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

I missed this post until now - hashtags matter!
#freewrite and #freewritehouse and #thealliance get my attention, but
No created #5minutefreewrite posts found
And I almost never check what's trending or new at #fiction, because there are only so many minutes in a day. Gotta get with the program, I know, I know!

ej you are entirely right on this, I thought this was like an active tag but maybe this was only so in my head hahahha. Thank you so much for bringing it to my attention...indeed hastags DO matter!

And indeed, we miss so much stuff that is produced because there is so much produced every day, can have it all! (we all gotta work somewhere hahhaha)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62796.11
ETH 3045.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85