Ragnarok Conspiracy 12/44 (Part2/4) REPOST

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

Chapter 11
index
Chapter 13

Part II


12
Pete

Dutch Randstad Conurbation, Northern Neutral Territories, December 22nd, 2042


"So good to see you, Peter."

Robert had grown up quite a bit since Pete had last laid eyes on him. He still looked much younger though than Pete had at his age, and much skinnier as well, but the last time Pete had seen his kid brother he had only just turned ten years old.

"My condolences Robert, I am so sorry I couldn't come to the funeral last month. How have you been holding up?"

"It has been really hard on me Peter. I still can't believe mom is gone. But I am coping for now. Please come in Pete, I truly can't express how grateful I am that you agreed to spend the holidays here with me. Being alone here in this big house is driving me crazy. This house just doesn't feel like home anymore now that mom isn't here. I bought a Christmas tree last week. I just can't Peter. It doesn't feel right without her. It's just standing there without lights. Without any decorations. I don't know what I was thinking buying it. So glad you are here Pete. Please sit down I'll make you a cup of coffee."

"Calm down Robert, it's OK. The coffee can wait. It took me some time getting my papers sorted, but I'm fully back now and I am here to stay. In ten days my working permit gets activated. In ten months I'll have my nationality sorted again and can get my career back on track. Till then, I've got a good lead on a gig."

Robert looked at Pete with sad eyes. The month living on his own had been hard on him. Robert was about to crack. Pete recognized the look from the battlefront. Young kids 14, 15 years of age faced with their first battle experiences, with their first dead comrades, at the point just before they would go and do something really stupid. Robert wasn't 15 years though. He was seventeen. About to turn eighteen. Pete had to resist the urge to tell Robert to man up. Damn, he is my brother. She was our mom. I should feel compassion and sorrow. Why don't I?
That damn war!

"Mom left us sixty barrels of base," Robert spoke. "Enough for us both to get through those months till you get your old job back. I'm not stupid my brother. That gig! You've been talking to those space idiots, haven't you? I've already lost mom Peter, you survived the war. You are a hero even if the government doesn't admit you were fighting for our freedom all along. Please don't go and get yourself killed in some stupid space mining expedition. These guys are out of their mind. Mining space debris. Don't do it, Pete. We'll get through on mom's base for now and I'm sure that I too will find a job before we run out of printing base."

A smile formed on Pete's face as he realized he had misread Robert's facial expression. The boy had been worried about his safety. Such a kind heart.

"You wouldn't want to make a liar out of me now would you Robert? I promised mom I'd make sure you wouldn't drop out of school little brother. I intend to keep that promise. Relax Robert, I have some barrels of base myself. They are currently in storage in Douala and São Luís but if needed I'll have them shipped over. I promise I will delay accepting any debrisphere mining gig if you promise me you won't be dropping out of school. Do we have a deal, Robert?"

A hesitant smile formed on Robert's face. Then Robert moved over and gave Pete a big hug. This made Pete really uncomfortable. After having been soaked for seven years in the hard-ass SAGDA military culture, expressions of love between men, even between brothers just didn't feel OK to Pete.

"I am so happy you are here Peter. Yes, we have a deal."

Then Robert's hug tightened and Pete heard the sound of his brother softly sobbing. Hesitantly Pete hugged Robert as well.

"It's OK Robert, it's OK. I understand."

"She is really gone, Pete. Mom is really dead." As Robert's soft-muttered sobbing turned into an uncontrolled expression of grief, the truth of his mom's demise finally touched Pete's heart. Pete allowed his emotions to surface, but then as Pete felt a tear drop from his chin, a feeling of shame came over him. He had to be strong for Robert, not turn into a sobbing wimp himself.

"It's OK Robert, It's OK. I'm here now and I'm not going anywhere. Why don't we see if we can bring some Christmas spirit to this house? Where are the decorations? Let's turn that sorry excuse of a spruce into a real Christmas tree."


Chapter 11
index
Chapter 13

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61482.47
ETH 2990.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67