Ragnarok Conspiracy 19/44 (Part3/5) REPOST

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

Chapter 18
index
Chapter 20

Part III


19
Fiat 500

Randstad Conurbation, May 14 2047

Xavier really hated waiting in the car more than anything. Why did John always pick tiny and 'inconspicuous' cars?

Standing two-metre-forty-two high and weighing one hundred and ninety-eight kg, Xavier knew very well that covert operations weren't his strong point, but with the tin-can cars that John managed to pick, neither was waiting in the car.

Xavier had ripped out the front seat on the passenger side of the car. There hadn't been any other option, or he wouldn’t have fitted in this tiny excuse for a car at all.

At least John was wearing his camera glasses so that he could witness what John was doing in case he would end up needing his help. Not very likely with this particular mission. Some geeky little student boy with glasses! Why in hell were they after students now?

Well, Xavier knew and accepted that John was the brains of the operation, but he wasn’t all stupid. If only John could fill him in on more of his plans, where would the hurt be in that? Not as if his brain would explode or anything like that. English just wasn’t Xavier’s strong point so yes, John needed to speak slowly for him to follow, but that didn’t make him stupid. Hell, if John is such a smart guy, let him learn French so we’ll see who the slow one is then.

John and Xavier had been tailing this Peter Gottschalk guy and now John had gotten it in his head that his younger brother Robert could be of interest. Why? Xavier had no idea. John wasn't in a habit of explaining his reasoning. Why tell the muscle man, right?

Sure John could easily handle questioning a mere student on his own, so there wasn’t much other reason for him to wait out in the car but to jump in if Peter happened to drop by.

Xavier listened in on the conversation through his headphone. Apparently John anticipated some risk, otherwise, he wouldn't have used audiovisual radio transmissions in NNT territory. The NNT conurbations had a strict ban on the use of what they now called 'high bandwidth' data transmissions of any sort. While NNT law enforcement was no match for a New Zion agent, it was always wise to keep radio transmissions to a minimum. If not to avoid blowing their cover, then to avoid detection by possible New Order operatives.

John was playing out his usual routine to get the young student, Robert Gottschalk, into a cooperative mode. It was hard not to burst out in laughter at the scared looking face of the student boy on his monitor screen. Come on John, don't turn your face away, I want to see this kid's face!

Xavier didn't feel worried, at first, about the fact that apparently, John's face had turned to look in a tilted way at the top of the wall. Then Xavier heard a stern woman's voice:

"Lage-hode, John William Bridgewater, bo no tin perguensa? Stop bullying my student right now."

"Putain de merde!" Xavier yelled out.

Xavier finally realized something was off with the picture. He struggled to get out of the car as fast as he could, but that wasn't that easy for someone his size. The door felt stuck for a moment, but after a little push, it opened with a high-pitched shrieking sound followed by a loud tick. Xavier realized the door of the car wasn't supposed to make a sound like that. Neither was it supposed to open as far as it did? But no time to worry about that now. John was in trouble.

Xavier started running up the stairs to the third floor where Robert Gottschalk's small apartment was located.

Halfway up the last stairs Xavier spotted Robert who spotted him too, looked at him with an anxious look that told Xavier that John might have been a bit too much over the top for the sensitive student, and then ran up the stairs towards the 4th floor.

No sign of John? Damn, if John had filled me in, Xavier thought, I could make a strategic judgment call right now! Catch Robert? Help John out?

Hell, forget the lanky student geek, I need to help my partner. As Xavier stormed into Robert's apartment in battle mode, he noticed John sitting down unharmed on a brown leather armchair, giving him a look that Xavier knew too well.
'Stand down' was what John's eyes commanded Xavier, and as Xavier struggled with his pose as surges of adrenalin still battled for him to maintain his battle geared mode, John spoke, in a tone, Xavier wasn't used to hear coming from his partner.

"Hi Xavier, meet my cousin Rachella; Rachella, meet my business partner Xavier."

Xavier’s jaw dropped as he tried to make sense of the situation. Xavier had expected many things, but running into an awkward family reunion wasn't one of them.

"Don't try to sidetrack me, John Junior, your father would turn around in his grave if he knew his own son and name bearer would rather bully young students then come and visit his own family. The apple 'does' fall far from the tree John Junior. You should be ashamed of yourself young man. A big man like you behaving as the same childish bully he was as a twelve-year-old boy. John Junior, is this what you do to honor your father's memory?"

The expression on John's face was unlike any expression Xavier had ever witnessed. The tough guy who Xavier knew for many years had turned into the image of that twelve-year-old boy indeed. A twelve-year-old boy caught with his hand in the cookie jar to be precise.

"OK, Madam, I'll leave the two of you to discuss family business, I have some business to do myself."

"You too will stay right here Mister Business Partner, sir, and let me tell you about your friend here. You know his daddy was a war hero? Junior has quite something to live up to with a daddy like his. And what does he do with his life? His own mother hasn't heard from him for years while Mister Fancy-suit here goes around the world bullying honor students!"

As Xavier made eye contact with John, John signaled Xavier to stay silent.

"I'm so sorry aunt Rachella. I can assure you this all isn't what it looks like, and I promise I will visit my mother as soon as I possibly can….
I really wish I could tell you more aunt Rachella, but I truly can't. All I can say is that in the end keeping the memory of my father is part of the motivation for what I do, including trying to get the answers to some questions from your student."

"Aren't we all mysterious now Junior. Your fancy suit and slick talking don't impress me, John Junior. Remember I've known since you were a baby. So save your sweet talking honey coated mouth for others or I won't hesitate to pull your ear again, you hear me, Junior?
Remember who you are trying to kid. I may be your cousin, I watched your behind since you were bullying your kindergarten classmates out of their lunch, I can't believe that at your age you are still up to your old tricks!
You could take an example from Robert. You won't believe the research topic he came up with. Trust me, John Junior, if I find out you're bullying any of my students ever again, I will pull your ear so hard you will remember my lesson for years to come. Do you hear me now, John Junior?"

"I hear you aunt Rachella. It won't ever happen again."


Chapter 18
index
Chapter 20

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05