Regnad Kcin- Private Eye... The Case of the Erstwhile Accountant- Part VIII- Otto

in #fiction5 years ago (edited)

13.jpg
Google Images

I have to say I was less than impressed when I saw Manny's genius Otto... he looked more like an extra from Saturday Night Fever than a computer genius and top researcher- he was handsome in that smarmy way that Italians often are. We had all agreed to meet up at the office and I got there first followed by Otto. We sat around in awkward silence drinking coffee and waiting on the others. Flora showed up next and she and Otto began looking at her computer talking about VPN's or something and speaking in computerese. I would give him the Flora test, if she fell for him I would know... L-O-S-E-R!

Manny showed up next and he and I went into my private office. I guess my reservations were on my face because Manny said: "Give him a chance- he really knows what he's doing."

"He looks like John Travolta, for Christ's sake," I said.

"Just wait," Manny laughed, "You'll see."

"You're going to have to upgrade your computer security," Otto said from the other room. "The way it is now, you might as well be emailing everything to the enemy."

"He's right," Flora agreed. "It isn't very expensive."

About that time Elnora came in with the encrypted phones, one for everybody including Otto. "What did I miss?" She asked.

"This is Otto," I told her. He looked up long enough to nod in her direction. Flora took my credit card and she and Otto went about the upgrade. When it was over, Otto looked up.

"Now when you search for something, nobody can trace the IP address the search originates from," he said.

Great, I thought. Whatever that means.

Otto had looked through the box of records and said he was pretty sure he knew what they were. "These are records of child trafficking, I'm pretty sure. They tell us what and where, just not who. I think most of this is for offshore accounts."

"How can you tell?" I asked.

"I'm going to tell you a story," Otto began, "You're probably not going to believe it, but it's all true. It's about pedophilia, human trafficking, Satanism, cannibalism, and other not so pleasant aspects of human nature... and some of the most powerful people in America are involved. Who remembers Johnny Gosch?" He asked looking around.

"Missing person case from the eighties out of Des Moines," Manny said. "Kid disappeared delivering papers and never seen again."

"Right," Otto agreed. "There was evidence of a callboy ring run out of Omaha- went all the way to the White House. Covered up by the cops, FBI and mainstream media- a Nebraska politician named DeCamp uncovered it- witnesses and everything."

"How come nobody was arrested?" I asked skeptically.

"Witnesses died mysteriously, others were ridiculed and thrown in jail," he said. "I can show you the proof."

"What does that have to do with what we're doing here?" Elnora asked. "Is it the same people?"

"Not likely," Otto replied. "I'm just showing a pattern. It's still going on... all this depends on how deep you want me to dig. I work cheap," he said with a grin.

"I want to find my brother," Elnora said firmly. "And if this is a part of it- and I'm sure it is- I don't care how much it costs."

It was settled. Manny would work the law enforcement angle in his offtime- Otto would work from his home checking in periodically. Elnora, Flora and I would carry on as usual. We said our good byes and the three of us headed for Thousand Oaks.

Sort:  

Rich the way you have been writing this I feel nobody can be trusted or maybe it's just me, I feel good about Otto but this is just probably because he is a new character.

Well my friend, you know me... you can't trust anyone in my stories. But if it makes you feel any better, I feel pretty good about him too!

Nice feed in, well done.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75