The Last Time (Photo-Fiction)

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

ruth-girl_steemit_the last time (4).JPG


Two men are sitting in a quiet room. It's a cloudy morning and they are looking outside the window at the sky and the sea:

-When was the last time you felt light and delicate?

-Light and delicate?

-Yes, as if you were a feather floating in the wind.

-Ahm, I haven't been "high" in a while.

-Jeez! No, I'm not talking about drugs!

-What do you mean then?


ruth-girl_steemit_the last time (2).JPG


-I mean... light without any bothering thoughts to cloud over your day.

-Hmmm, tough one... I don't know. Uhm, college?

-Really?

-Yeah, those were good years.

-I think for me it goes way back.

-High school?

-No...

-Primary school?

-Maybe... I can't seem to remember. You know, even though I'm trying so hard to... All my years it feels like something is pinning me down. As if, whenever I try to be happy, there is something spoiling my joy.


ruth-girl_steemit_the last time (3).JPG


-Oh, that sounds sad.

-I guess... But if you've been living with it for so long, you get used to it. I just wonder what it feels like.

-Happiness?

-Aha.

-It's... for me, it's a feeling that sets you free, helps you loose the anchor that twists your soul and for a little while you can have the illusion of being somewhere else, no need to think about your work, the shopping list or that annoying boss.

-But it's not those thoughts that bother me.

-Then what is it?

-I don't know. Something more obscure and difficult to define. Something that hides behind every happy moment you're in and you want to smile, but for some reason that smile on your face freezes after a while and you're not satisfied with anything.

-This sucks.

-I know, man. I know.

and he keeps gazing out the window...


ruth-girl_steemit_the last time (1).JPG



All images (not free for re-use) and original story by @ruth-girl - Steemit, 2018

Thank you so much for your time!

Until my next post,
Steem on and keep smiling, people!


ezgif.com-optimize (2).gif

Sort:  

Not a bad post, but I know you can write much better. Your texts have often taken my soul. It's very interesting for me to read your posts, some of the best ones are true. But also Iteree your opinion, not in fact the whole text, but in fact this little story. Read it if you have a free minute)

Πολύ ωραίο... αλλα τα Τρολ μου λείψατε...

Θες περιπέτεια ε; Θα δω τι μπορώ να κάνω...

Sometimes it does seem as if Happiness has a scorpion's tail, waiting for you to enjoy it only to give you the stink in the end. Lovely words and photo.

Thank you! The scorpion was a strong image!

Hi @ruth-girl!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.857 which ranks you at #1187 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 10 places in the last three days (old rank 1197).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 429 contributions, your post is ranked at #412.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations @ruth-girl! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66761.99
ETH 3256.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27