Newblood Orphan Part Two of Three- Short novella addition to Newblood ( my fantasy novel)

in #fiction5 years ago

It was the first day of school. Senger had seen me settled and left. I was still not sure if I was Grendale or Yillend or only Djinna the cursed orphan. But I was too excited to worry much- nobody here knew about me anyway. The School of Magic has more corridors than rooms. Even though I lived in the same building, technically, it took me five minutes to reach the right wing and there I was accosted by a trio of seniors. "Stop there boy!" "Put the bag down and stand straight." The third boy just sneered at me. I put the bag down and stood still. "Good. Now off with your boots." "Hey! you skipped his interrogation. What's your name kid?"

I tried to look shocked. "You don't know about my curse?" And then I started to hum "MMMHMMM" growing louder with each second. The boys were confused. I made to grab one's nose and he stepped back quickly. The next moment I ducked the third boy's hand and was running up the stairs one hand pulling at the ivory banister while the other held my bag. Luckily just then, the trio found another new kid, I heard "Stop there boy." as I ran up.

This incident would not have mattered much but the third boy- the one who had not spoken at all was Kray Mallen, one of the School's chief bullies and a senior teacher's nephew. And Kray had decided I needed to be taught respect. For half a the year it was hide and seek between us. Then the practicals started, once a week, we got to practice the basics we had learned under the mentor-ship of senior students, for me that was Kray Mallen. Every session was abuse, he was following the instructions in the most painful way possible. And it would have ended there I think but for our last session where the mentors would show all of the class and some teachers, what their apprentice had learned to do.

Every other kid had been practicing his move for at least the last three sessions- turning water to ice or steam was the most common, others were like changing the color of a cloth or ringing a bell without touching it and such; for me it was of course lifting a pebble off the ground- stone being the element with least affinity to magic. What incensed Kray was that I did it. Then I did not know how, I only "talked" to it nicely and it lifted is all I can say. I got a merit and after the function Kray along with another brute literally carried me to a dark closet in the basement and locked me in there. I panicked, banging at the door and crying out for help, when no response came it only heightened my fear. I fell to the floor sobbing and shouting "Help me! Let me Out!" and the next moment I sank through the floor, All the way through, and fell from the ceiling into the kitchen upsetting pots and pans and whatnot, causing a major hullaballoo- and got a merit again for discovering my element- Stone.

Kray did not come back to school the next year, but I was labelled "handle with care" permanently. That is why I volunteered to work at the library. Books were very interesting and they had no qualms who read them. The Assistant Librarian was Master Finn Ironborn- the Librarian seldom visited and the library was Master Finn's domain. Master Finn was said to be nearly two centuries old(He was close to three hundred, but I came to know of it only later) and once had been a superb mage, but age and eccentricity had brought him down to the level of Assistant Librarian (another falsehood I would know about later). It was in my fourth year that he showed me the bookshelf on the first level way behind Discontinued Spells and Potions which had books about history, Elven and Aghauri. The more I read about Aghauri magic the more it resonated with what I was and how my magic felt.

When Senger came to meet me next year I made him tell me all he could about my father and mother. I had concluded that I was the first ever magic user to have human, elf and Aghauri lineage. Master Finn confirmed this, he was pretty excited about it but the first thing he said to me was. "Don't tell this to anyone. No one Djinna. At least not till you gather enough power to defend yourself." Then he gave me a short lecture on how the "shard" had granted different types of magic to humans, making them Elven or Aghauri.

I think about two months after this talk with Senger and Master Finn I felt my twin for the first time. Although in the beginning I thought about these experiences as vivid dreams. It was Master Finn who suggested it was something new, a link or a window across the world or between kids similar to me. "You do have siblings Djinna, Yes? This means at least one is alive. I knew helping Ellysia live would the end of the Elven system." I blurted out. "You helped my mother." "Just a bit, I never even saw her face properly. Now get out and let me read." Walking out of the library I felt whole, I had found something I had missed all my life- a brother or was it a sister?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11