Stacey... A Short Story for Steemit

in #fiction5 years ago

The sun was setting. The wind was calm. It felt, and looked like the perfect evening. Around us a sea of people hurried to everywhere and nowhere. But I only had eyes for one...

Momentarily I broke step, and stood in her way. Her eyes lit up in that forever mesmerizing manner that I will always love. She knew I was about to do something silly, I certainly knew myself.

But this was a different silly, one that would either be the first of many, or the last...

I went down on one knee...

female-1296391_1280.png
Pixabay

Stacey...

"Her gentle steps, how so meek.. Her eyes like angels, in hide and seek.. I close my eyes, I love her so.. Still I couldn't say, a single hello.."

I paused and looked up at Stacey..

"What do you think?" I asked.

"That all?" She asked, mischief floating in her wide eyes.

I smiled. I knew I'd never get a serious response from her at first asking. Not Stacey Anderson.

"Well, there's more.." I answered. "But you'd get to hear it only after offering your opinion on this initial part."

Now Stacey smiled. Then almost immediately she feigned a thoughtful look. And before she even said the words, I had a strong guess as to what they were.

"Terrible, that part's terrible."

Then she smiled again, and I thought for the umpteenth time to myself..

what sort of woman..

...

Stacey was literally 'the girl next door' to me. She was a strange sort of neighbor. One who shared so little of the values I hold dear, yet who consistently found ways to intrigue me.

The sound of her singing very early in the morning while she did her chores, or late evening while she cooked, was a constant source of annoyance for me. I loved, and still love me a good bit of silence. Yet somehow, I owe my present love for Emeli Sande's music to her...

Over the years we grew closer, Stacey and I, even as life inevitably took us in separate directions. But we kept in touch. At least the memories she left me were enough to make me find her.. Everytime...

...

"When I look at her, my heart skips.. when I take a step, my courage leaks.. But soon it'll come, because it's fate.. And when it does, then I'll get my date..."

I didn't say anything this time, as I paused and looked at Stacey.

But she kept silent, the beginnings of another mischevious smile appearing around her lips.

"Uhun..." I murmured..

"Oh, my comment again..." She said, as she struggled not to laugh.

"Hmmm.." was my wordless response.

Then she feigned that thoughtful look again, her eyes telling all that her lips wasn't. But this time I didn't wait. I drew closer and I kissed her...

...

When our lips separated, the mischief was gone from her face. But the excitement of the last few seconds had added something else to her eyes.

That look, that mesmerizing look that I would grow to love..

All that was two years ago...

...

Behind me I knew the sunset was visible despite the sea of people. I had walked this path a thousand times before in my head, and I knew it was near perfect.

Yet I still had a band close by, playing the tune of Emeli Sande's My Kind of Love. For in the two years since fate had finally brought me my elusive date, I'd known that my heart did beat only for Stacey.

So on one knee, I asked her...

"Stacey Anderson..."

And she said no...

THE END...?

#SladenSpeaks


This is on the surface, a work of fiction. But certain parts of this story are true events. Stacey truly exists for me, and I certainly do love Emeli Sandes's music because of her.

But enough of the nostalgia. I hope y'all had fun reading, and placing the disjointed parts together.


BQ88URHF3H8.jpg

Sort:  

What a romantic story. I've heard so many couples who were madly in love but didn't get married at the first question :) She said no and they stayed together. It was simply not the right time. And then they got married.

They are an example of a great couple. People who are totally different but they click together perfectly. Differences are the key and compromises are crucial.

I hope that your story will continue with eventual 'yes' :)

Thank you for sharing and have a great day!

Well, most parts of the story is fictional, so I wouldn't know if there is a happy ending somewhere in the future. Thanks for the comment.

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Great story. Left me wondering just how much is real and how much you made up.

Thanks for the curation, and the comment.

Well, I wrote it just so my readers may wonder. 😁

Some quarry insists on being chased a little longer, before you can finally catch it ;)

This is just so beautiful, the language you open with, evocative of the ocean, to then be a sea of people <3<3 the details in the descriptions, the annoyance that becomes so dearly treasured. May the echo of her touch always guide you back to her!

The flash back works so well for establishing the depth of playful tenderness between these two. You paint it like a game they must play, of proposal and refusal, that is more coy than rejection. And given the story, she had to say no here, its the perfect memory of the love that toys and teases, but never wavers really.

And I am completely sure she will say yes in the end.. how could she not... asked so thoughtfully.. with a love that is so persistent.

(more stock art when you have a far more beautiful reality! <3)

Oh... she'll say yes at the end? Now I'm wishing I did ask her for reals. Lol...

Buh then she never was really mine for keeps...

Oh, now Calluna has made me draw out the line...

And again with the teasing. Beautiful? Oh Calluna...

But where are my love emojis? 😥😣

Woow.. What a lovely story you have there. U really enjoyed myself with all the love in there. Stacey all the way. How I wished I enjoyed like her.
Keep me posted when you release these great stories of yours. Great work and your picture was on point. Keep the story mood up

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by seesladen from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.75
ETH 3065.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82