Outcast - Short Story (Part 6)

in #fiction5 years ago (edited)

I descended to the valley, and saw in the distance two rivers approaching each other, and the path leading to this merger. With this little elevation, a great vastness of the valley was visible, but I did not yet see the city or lake of Mirrors. Everywhere along that beautiful valley I saw the scattered estates. Properly planted orchards, fields of wheat and barley were present on both sides of this old road. Everything seemed so peaceful that it could bring peace even to the disturbed soul. I sat down at the moment and let my imagination wander. Although all this was completely new to me, I was not too surprised by the scene I saw. Nothing looked like my native place, but I was prepared for diversity and I accepted it. I had to, because, however, this once distant world, to which I am now approaching with hope, will be my home or something similar to home. I still have to decide whether the home will be one special place or the whole world.

It seems to me that I was close to the city, the properties I came across and the people who lived there, they better accepted me. It seemed that they were not concerned with my diversity of them, probably because of the reason they often saw people of various nationalities as close to the city. Even the sales of my elixirs and carvings brought me more money. I learned many things during these visits. I still have days of travel before I reach the City, but there will be no good news for me there. The city belonged to a much larger Empire, and it was said that the Empire was going to war. All of this led to a chaos in the city, and the general mobilization of a young man to enter the army. The peasants tell me that this part of the Empire has not yet arrived with that mobilization, and it will hardly happen in the next few months, because this was very distant a part of the territory.

For seven days, on the road, passengers were regular. It was possible to see many hurried peasants with the crowds going to the city to sell their fruits and vegetables from the property to the market, or come from the city with supplies that they went to the city to buy. There and here they could see the troops of the soldiers marching. Shiny armor and a uniform step. They gave the impression of persistence, and I asked myself several times... If one Empire has such soldiers, it will surely win in that war?

I approached the low stone walls of the city, and wherever I looked, I stayed in wonder. Buildings made of large blocks of stone, raised up to at least four heights of man. People, everywhere, all colors of skin, eyes and hair. Various languages, and eternal revelations. In front of the gate of the city I was approaching, there was something that looked like a marketplace. I barely broke through the crowd and approached the gate. By the way, I watched the incredible scenes, they were selling homemade animals that I have never seen before, there were fruits and vegetables of various sizes, shapes, colors and flavors.

All this confusion made me unable to hear my own thoughts in my head. A collection of dusty streets at the city's access was also transmitted in my head. At the gate there were three guards in the same armor like soldiers before, but they seemed to be bored and only briefly examined me, who I was, from where I came from and to write my name on some list. The streets of the city were paved with stone, and in addition to the high stone buildings, there were at least twice as many houses built of wood with the same roofs of reed as on the estates outside the city. The streets were narrow and crowded. There were shops and various exhibitions in all the jukes filled with all products offered by their owners. I questioned some random passersby whether I could find a inn somewhere. They all sent me in different directions. For today, I decided to sit in a room if I found one by sunset, and after that, to take that rest that I needed, I planned search for the pharmacy tomorrow, or the appearance of a hospital. It was not clear to me how it is possible that this big city does not have a place where people are being treated when they have diseases.

For the next few days, everything went into great confusion. It was all too loud, the streets were too tricky, and I was left without money. I slept in a tavern for two nights, and after that, I had no money anymore. I did not have many things to sell, and even when I tried to sell I had no customers. From various stories, I realized that the city is in apparent peace, but that the authorities that run the city do not exist at all. All this obese was soon to be completely dissolved. The last night while I was sleeping in a small and remote street, my things were stolen. I only have my tool and records on the potions and medications that I collected during the months of my journey here. I was alone, and hungry. I decided that, according to the instructions I have collected, I will continue my journey to the next city, tomorrow.

Dawn was the only time of the day, exactly an hour before dawn actually, when the city was still calm. Then I could only think. I collected the few things that remained to me and headed towards the gate of the city, opposite to the one I entered days before. I did not care what to eat, I'm sure that I would get food or hunt some, I was worried that the robbers that were spoken about in the city did not find me on the road.

As I walk down the streets, I heard the sound of the hoof and immediately I saw four riders behind the corner of a large stone inn. They went towards me. Where to, boy? I hope you did not intend to run away... Today, the highest officials of the Empire come, mobilization begins. You seem to me to be capable, or you will be a capable soldier after training. You go with us, the mobilization machine starts right after the third bell. The two of them dismount and stood beside me, so as not to escape. I did not have the strength to answer. I followed them, and the fear got under my skin.

Image 1

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16