Priests knowledge - Short story ( Part 3 )steemCreated with Sketch.

in #fiction5 years ago (edited)

Hours were needed for us to collect all the scrolls. More because half of our priests remained to pray. We had to organize ourselves because we did not know how Artifact would behave if we stopped praying.

As always, our brotherhood has shown exceptional commitment and systematicity. As soon as we collected everything we were offered, we organized ourselves to make a shelter. This will help us in many ways. If the rain begins, we need to keep it all from the ruin. It will also provide escape from the rain, it is not pleasant to sleep in wet clothes. Some of us took the tools with us from Temple and soon some of us who had the knowledge of the carpentry work leaned to work while the rest of our crew dedicated our time to praying or guarding over the scrolls.

Our works lasted deep into the night. And they continued on the next day after a short break. Seven days we needed to put everything in order. We were not sure whether we should stay here or go somewhere else. The Forest Gods can show their anger in a cruel manner.

Whether because of prayer or pure lick the time went on our hands and the days were wonderful. The forest came to life with us and we felt welcome. Even the animals were no longer fleeing from us. It was easier for us to find food and water.

Knowledge from the past times that we acquired during our service at the Temple helped us to make paper for further research on the language we need to learn. This may be the biggest and most difficult challenge in the history of our priesthood. None of us could understand the size of the fateful task that was passed on to us with happiness or misfortune.

Since we did not know where the beginning was or where the end of this text was given to us, we randomly divided the beginning to the crowd. We had to build the basics that would help us understand this language as soon as possible.

As I took the first scroll in my hands, I felt very weird. Strange and distant feeling of acquaintance, like when you take your old toy and remember a happy childhood. Overwhelming sense of warmth and belonging. Of course, the words and symbols were not familiar to me from before, but something told me that I should know the language as I know my room.

By the first twilight I spent my time on these papers and the darkness found me in that position. A solid hand on my shoulder brought me from my thoughts, and I looked around. One of my brothers, Arsen, offered me a bowl of hot tea. I got up and decided to finish studying for that day.

In the evening we talked about what we learned today. None of us had any progress, but no one was disappointed. We were all aware of how much work and hours spent on these ancient words would be needed to reach a solution.

At the end of the conversation, I quietly and shyly mentioned the feeling I had. None of the others experienced anything like that. The Eldest of us advised me to spend the night in prayer in order to calm down the restless mind.

Although I should be feeling anxious about this unusual event, it was totally the opposite. More than ever before in my priesthood, I felt belonging to something. Something so great that its incomprehensibility can be compared only with the infinite depths of the universe. Something bigger than anything alive. The presence of the Gods, not only the God of the Forest, but the entire Pantheon.

That night, again, in the distance, the screams of fighting and squatting of ravens were heard again. Even through the thick leaves of this wilderness, the use of destructive magic could be seen. Magic, which in itself can be devastated by the living world.

Image 1 2

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72