Priests knowledge - Short story ( Part 4 )steemCreated with Sketch.

in #fiction5 years ago

Those night-fights that were heard even here in our peaceful part of the world did bring anything good. All those distant events hinted a lot. Too much destruction and chaos so that any Republic or Kingdom or Empire, could endure it without being destroyed. All this added an additional burden to this holy task, which is before the priesthood.

Although wars are there somewhere, heroes are born in combat and cowards are dying, none of it will change the world as it could change what we can provide to the world from our little hiding place. We can provide some kind of hope for humanity that it can survive after these devastation. This world has no time and may not wait to see its salvation if we fail to solve the riddle soon.

The more I thought about it, the harder it was. To my mind came thought that the Chosen one, the one who was predestined, might be at this moment in vain. This thought born next in line, and after that, the next, and so on, it was endless. Will he be able to grasp the size of the task? Is he a petty thief and a rogue or a trained nobleman? Will they have the knowledge and the wisdom to bring all this to a greater and more important goal?

The dawn came in that vicious circle of thoughts and questions that nobody could answer. All the thoughts that buzzed in my head were more gloomy than happy. Still, the hope in me was greater in spite of all the troubles and the threatening end. The same warm feeling of belonging that I felt the previous day continued to grow in me.

I did not even want to have breakfast, I just had a strong need to continue with my research as soon as possible. From my bed I went to the handy library we made and my eyes flashed toward the sky. It was clear and sunny, the first day of spring. The seasons were going on our hands, the snow and the rain would only make our stay here more difficult.

I quickly walked the last few steps to my desk, picking up scrolls from yesterday that were lying on the shelf. I got to work right away. The same feeling of heat as yesterday. Maybe even stronger in some way. It was as if I had a new connection with a far-forgotten secret.

I spent the next few hours above my desk and notes. Today is a good day, there is progress. I realized the use of some basic symbols that are repeated periodically in every third sentence. In fact, these symbols are at the same time different and completely identical with the other letters used trough text. Like they hinted at something? Maybe the name?

I suddenly recoil, because I felt hunger. This poor and primary human instinct made me quit at least briefly. It is was a time for a little break anyway, because it was already noon. After a quick meal and fresh spring water, I came back to my notes.

By the first twilight, I realized that those symbols in a fixed form were repeated on every sheet of paper I took from the shelf. There's only one left that I did not even look at.

The night lightly pulled us under her umbrella and made us much more scary. For me this was not the case; the night has always been my ally and I had acquired many skills and knowledge hidden by her cloak from the daylight. That's why I did not want to give up now, it's still working time for me.

That last sheet was waiting for me. I quickly scanned everything I discovered today in my notes and I was very pleased. I finally dedicated myself to that last sheet of paper. I picked it up lightly and brought in the light of the candle that was lit for me.

My being exploded at that moment. Of course, nothing has happened to my body. But the feeling that was inside me was fascinating. Ubiquity. I felt as if I were part of that distant and small leaf that was flying in the wind, or the fox that came close to our food supplies. I belonged to rivers and seas, I was at the very core of existence. I have seen every human mind in the palm of my hand and all knowledge that ever existed. All the lives that have passed and all that are now taking place.

Ubiquity.

I was part of everything and it was all part of me. Years passed, decades, centuries, and I stood in wonder, watching the Divine work that takes place. Suddenly I was again aware where I was. I was aware of all the living and the innocent by looking at the last sheet of paper. Every letter was carved into my mind. In fact, all of these writings have always been part of me. I knew every word there, every word written down by someone's hand. It was part of me and I was part of it, again.

I looked around. Every priest, each of my brothers watched silently in the ground and prayed. And I knew then, I knew that they were aware of everything. As it was clear to me from that moment, what does all this mean, so did the gods give them signs that I am what we were looking for. All this was too much for an ordinary human mind, but my mind was no longer ordinary or human. I know my assignment.

"Here in this place, we will establish the School, this world deserves all knowledge I have, and deserve progress. There were too many deaths in the years behind us, and I will dedicate my life to knowledge and saving lives, and you can not even imagine how big is that ocean of history, which was given to us"

Image 1 2

Sort:  
We can provide some kind of hope for humanity that it can survive after these devastation.

That line really stuck with me. I like this world you're building and the priests' task to preserve human knowledge. I like that they find all this knowledge and it's in a language none of them even know. Yet they press on and struggle to comprehend it, anyway. Bravo!

Wow, thanks. It's always nice to hear such a compliment. :)

For sure! There's so much packed into a seemingly straightforward story here: the necessity of writing for a full understanding of knowledge, the fact that even with all the tools of the human intellect, there seems to be a little magic required to preserve that knowledge (as evidenced by this being a magical brotherhood of priests), and then that requirement of magic speaks to something about the human condition. Specifically, I'm thinking about the spark of the soul or something that makes humans stand out as unique in the animal kingdom. You can interpret that religiously, if you'd like, but I don't think it's necessary.

Anyway, I could go on and on. I'm just impressed by how much meaning, imagery, and symbolism you crammed into such a short space.

thanks again. I'm so glad you liked it. I agree, it can be interpreted differently. I tried to pack everything into a short story, because I do not manage to get the best stories if I make them long :) At least for now. Come back again for more reading :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25