Rebellion - Short Story

in #fiction5 years ago

First came the sounds, of the distant wind and the sand that swirled. After that, I became aware of the heat of the sun in his zenith. It burn my skin and evaporated the last drops of water left in my body. I'm alive, it's probably only important thing right now, though every piece of my body has sent signals to my brain that agony is what will follow. Water, I needed water. I tried to open my eyes, and the sand of this unfathomable and cruel desert came to me, it burned like hell. I needed a few minutes so I could see where I was. How am I alive?

As consciousness began to come back to me, the scenes from the previous days began to boom. They settled in front of my eyes as if I were to survive them again. The scenes seemed to work slowly, paradoxically everything seemed like it was going on in the water. Slowly and with hidden weight. I looked around and saw three blends of water. I reached for them, but there was no hand. Yes, I remember, I lost it at the beginning of this war. The war-surgeon of our squad made sure that I did not bleed out on the spot after they had cut it off in one of the ambushes they had set up for us two days back. Some distress, the feeling of loss, passed me through thoughts. I handed the other hand and grabbed the blends with water. They were empty, only a few drop of water in each , but enough with the scam needed, the primal instinct for water.

As my eyes narrowed a bit, I began to look around and try to see the extent of the destruction that our tortured army suffered at this goddamn place due to this damn desert.

Everywhere around me were the bodies of refugees that we were supposed to guard. The bodies of soldiers, my fellow fighters, and the bodies of the enemy are intertwined in the most incredible ways. The cruel deaths hit them in this far away place, away from home. They were broken things, equipment, food laying around all over the place. They left everything behind in a headless escape to salvation.

Dizziness took hold of me, but I successfully managed to overcome it. Everything was clear to me now. Four conquered cities. Conquered two centuries ago were our only theories on this continent. For as long as we were their masters, we lost sight of their prophecy and forgot to pay attention to them. The rebellion that hit us was orchestrated and happened simultaneously in all four cities. Planed perhaps from the very beginning, from the moment we conquered their cities. The desire for revenge and liberation was transferred from father to son and left to wait for the right moment to happen.

They persecuted us for days. Urging us to go across this desert. Their tactics were flawless, although our weakened forces were able to resist at least for now. But other problems were coming down. Provide water for the army and refugees, as well as food. At the same time traveling at a high speed to reach the shores of the Endless Ocean. Many died of exhaustion as much from fighting and wounds.

The magician's division to which I belonged suffered the greatest losses. I do not even know how I stay alive. I did not have big wounds. I have to get to my army. Although thirst will probably kill me before reaching them. Another problem is that between my army and the place where I am is an enemy. A merciless enemy who will not stop with the pursuit until the last soldier of our Empire breathes their air.

Time to go. Into the unknown.

Image 1 2

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00