Unsuccessful murder - Short Story ( Part 2 )

in #fiction5 years ago (edited)

Those canals in which we were hiding, were unused in most parts of the city and I did not care too much that someone would accidentally come across us while hiding there. The Poor quarter, as they called it the that one, used those channels in that part of the city. They were a legacy of some time ago and they did not have practical application.

Dawn came, but the new day did not bring us relief. The search for us was still in effect and I fear that it will last long. At the moment when we tried to kill the target, their supreme commander, they were all caught up in the moment and surprised, they did not expect us to try it, but their magician reacted with incredible speed and defended the commander. All this happened in the fraction of a seconds and we barely managed to pull ourselfs out. There were not too many people, only our target, and two bodyguards, one of whom was a magician. To the knowledge that they still possess the management of the ancient currents of magic changed the situation from the root. First of all, it meant that we could not kill him by the usual methods, and that they were now alerted to the threat and that we must come up with a completely new approach to this whole plot.

The sounds came from all sides. The sounds of military boots, horses' hoofs on the cobblestones, all over the streets of the city. They seemed to get closer and closer, as if they were running a circle. And I did not have a plan that could get us out of here. We spent all night in one position, and the muscles began to spasm. I have to work fast, otherwise I will not be physically able to do it soon. Our other agents in the city did not know where we are. For the simple reason that our organization functioned according to the principle - not everyone has to know everything. So we have made it possible to share the responsibility, and also that even one or more agents remain alive and undetected.

Our position was such that the canals in which we were hiding were close to the Eastern Gate of the city, but even if we were to make a step one, we could end up being killed. The voices of soldiers have now become clearer, and closer. The noise they made was telling me that they maybe discovered where we are hidden. I have to work fast, I gave my partner a few secret signs with my hand, telling him to follow me. Their soldiers had an order to kill us, I'm sure of that. Because everywhere in the whole continent, it is known to all states and kingdoms that our agents do not gave out information, even in the worst torment possible. We were ready and trained for something like that.

I started to sneak through the sludge and mud through the canal, towards the gate. I knew that there was a short battle ahead of us, which would either enable us to flee or our lives and service would end. Not far from the gate, in the settlement outside the walls, horses were waiting for us. We just need to get to them and we'll be safer. Slowly we sang out of the canal, I moved towards the guard positions on the gate. The gate was open, and it was guarded by ten soldiers in full warfare. I prepared the weapon, and ran to the gate. Behind us at the same time there were several riders coming, and we ran towards soldiers at the gate. I had a crossbow in my right hand, and in the left long knife. At the moment when I killed the first soldier, four more were killed also. As being maimed. I continued the fight that lasted several heartbeats, and the path was open to us. I did not know who killed the rest of the soldiers, but I did not care much about it. I turned to face the horsemen that were behind our back. Four riders, four agents. Allies. We were running and they kept our back. I was stunned by the happy development of events.

For a few minutes we had to find the place where we left the horses. And then we climbed up and six riders were riding along the road to Desert. All our agents in that city. We're left without eyes and ears that will report. I did not think too much about it. I was lucky to be alive. I was struck by a few minor wounds and cuts that I got, but it was not life threatening. We were riding fast, and in the background there was a ringing alarm, bells all over the city. They will persecute us to death.

Image 1

Sort:  

Hi stormlight24,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Your story is amazing!!!
Is the image made by you?
Congratulations and Steem on!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you. No, image is just random one, from google.

Ok! However it is good!

Posted using Partiko Android

I am looking for a image that can fit with the story, thanks again. :)

Yes, I usually look for image in Google too.
I use the filter "without copyright".

Posted using Partiko Android

Interesting story. I am looking forward to more. It has successfully build up suspense and anticipation.
Fantastic as it may sound even we find rulers who are protected by "magic" (of some sort). Whether we validate it, believe in it, see its efficiency or not is a different story, but it is amazing how throughout the centuries rulers, especially despots, rely on some kind of supernatural protection to perpetuate themselves in power.

Thank you. There will, of course, be sequels. I'm glad you like it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.036
BTC 65930.92
ETH 3387.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75