Resistance (Luna 3, Part 17/Final Part)

in #fiction6 years ago

Picture
By klimkin on pixabay.com


Read Part 1, Part 2, Part 3, Part 4, Part 5, Part 6, Part 7, Part 8, Part 9, Part 10, Part 11, Part 12, Part 13, Part 14, Part 15, Part 16


Almost detached from the situation, Pekok raised up a hand to his face and wiped off Nora-Ceph’s spit, then dried his hand on her shirt. Nora-Ceph winced when he touched her shoulder, and she wanted to make a step back, but he suddenly grabbed her and pulled her close.

”That wasn’t particularly smart, my dear”, he said in a toneless voice. ”What did you expect this to accomplish?” Nora-Ceph swallowed hard. She didn’t know either. It had been a spontaneous act of resistance, fueled by the pain she had felt when watching Simon-Ceph die.

The pain she had felt when the rest of the medical team, the rest of the Ceph she used to be, just fell to their knees and surrendered. For the first time, she realized that they were now truly all individuals, for the better or worse.

And she wasn’t willing to give up this individuality. Especially not to Pekok.

”No answer?” He said and tilted his head. She returned his stare and refused to be intimidated.

”You won’t get away with this”, she said, which made Pekok laugh.

”That’s a bit cliché, isn’t it? Telling the villain that they won’t get away with it when they’ve already gotten away with it? But I’m sorry to disappoint you, dear. I’m not the villain in this story. In fact, you’re not the villain either. You’re just collateral damage. The true villains here are the humans. Their refusal to accept another intelligent species next to themselves turned them into despicable beings. So many Cephs died because of humanity’s perceived superiority. It’s a shame.”@suesa

”How long are you going to keep talking?” Nora-Ceph asked, dryly. ”Anything more about your master plan I should know?”

”Oh, many things. But I’m not going to be that guy. I’m giving you a choice now: Join me or keep up your refusal. Go on. Pick one.”

The choice was obvious. There was only one option if she wanted to stay true to herself. To stay true to the Ceph she had been. Nora-Ceph clenched her teeth and gave Pekok a hateful stare.

”I guess refusal it is”, he said.

And snapped her neck.


The cleanup happened in silence. Simon-Ceph was picked up by two others from the medical team. The blood was mopped up, and the floor scrubbed. But nobody dared to touch Nora-Ceph. Nobody dared to even look at her.

One by one, the team left the room until only Quelz was left. He waited some more, to make sure nobody would come back. Then he kneeled down next to Nora-Ceph.

Carefully, he moved her hair out of her face. Her neck was in a slightly weird angle, proof that it was indeed broken. Tiny blood vessels in her eyes had burst.

”I’m sorry”, Quelz whispered. ”None of this should have happened. I shouldn’t have volunteered to give you up. I shouldn’t have split up myself completely. I shouldn’t have … I shouldn’t have …” Tears fell from his eyes onto Nora-Cephs ashy skin and rolled down her cheeks. ”I wish I could go back and prevent all this.”

Quelz picked up Nora-Ceph and held her in his arms as if she was just sleeping, her head resting against his chest. She was heavier than expected, as it’s common with people who aren’t conscious. Or dead. Quelz was slightly shaking every time the word appeared in his thoughts.

Dead. Dead. Dead. Nora-Ceph was dead. And it was his fault. Maybe not directly, but he could have prevented it. If only … if only …

”Hey! Where are you taking her body?” Pekok stopped Quelz right before he was able to leave through the front door.

”I … I’m going to bury her”, Quelz said in a choked up voice. ”She shouldn’t lie on the floor like this.” Pekok’s piercing stare made him almost drop Nora-Ceph, but he was able to hold onto her.

”Burn her”, Pekok said. ”Burn her and scatter the ashes. Nothing shall be left of her. She didn’t want to be part of this, so she won’t, not even her memory.” He was just about to turn away when he stopped again. ”What is your name?” He asked Quelz.

”I … my name?”

”Yes. Your name. I know that the medical team and Nora are all hybrids from the same Ceph, but I haven’t been able to determine who’s the brain yet. Considering that two hybrids have already attacked me, I think it might be important to have a talk with the brain.”

”I’m afraid this won’t be possible”, Quelz said.

”Why?”

”Because the other hybrid, the one that attacked you, he was the brain. Quelz was his name. I … I am Simon-Ceph.” Quelz hoped, with a heart that was beating up to his throat, that Pekok would accept the lie.

”I see. That explains the rebellious spirit. Carry on. Burn her.”

Quelz left.

And he never returned.

Nora-Ceph was dead, but he would make sure that her spirit wasn’t. Her resistance. Her refusal to give in.

She would only be truly dead when there was no memory of her left.


stem-update-02-12-18.gif

GIF was created for me by @saywha and @atopy , rest of the signature by @overkillcoin

Sort:  

Well that was the end according to your... For me you got tired of writing :P why did you choose to write this? What motivated you? Sure, if I may know.!

Check the comments below part 1. That's what motivated me :P

I have to say I'm more excited to discover the future unknown world, whatever you'll write about, then I'm disappointed that this one ended. I still think Witchcraft was top-notch!

He snapped her neck :( Bring her back to life :(

She's not truly dead as long as you have her in your memory:)
The story is perfect as it is. Although I was surprised that Quelz was still so attached to her.

Trauma does weird things to ... hybrids.

That shocked me @bachuslib maybe I am still attached to her character too :D

Snapped necks are rather permanent

LOL! I know... I was attached :D Thank you for the amazing stories :)

big sigh

Well that was an adventure. An amazing one. The most intriguing work of science fiction I've read in a long time.

The way the Cephs changed colour with their emotions. The way they could split up into different beings but still have this sort of connection; something like family but different. The lingering memories of the hosts. Never knowing who was the good or bad guy. Still not really knowing. Still finding myself ordering the fried calamari more often than usual.

I believe good fiction cannot be forced. So it's no use complaining that it's over, so I won't.

However. Beneath this story lies an endless universe most beautiful. Should you happen to explore it further in a future work, @suesa, I shall like very much to be taken there again.

Looking forward to your next great work, whatever it may be.

Thank you for sharing this world with us.

I'm incredibly happy to hear you enjoyed this story! To think it was originally intended as a one-chapter short story... That would have been quite a loss.

Maybe I'll return one day. For now, I'll try to find a new universe, a new story, a new set of characters to explore. I hope you will enjoy the next fiction just as much :)

I won't know for sure until then, obviously. But I wouldn't bet against it. ;)

I just realised something. Should you ever be a world-famous author, and should you happen to write a large body of fiction concerning different situations and characters within a single connected universe... your fans may dub that universe... the Suesaverse.

No pressure. I'm just making sure to stake my claim, if it ever happens: I came up with it first. Right here. Right now. At this moment. Nobody can argue that point, 'cause blockchain.

I hereby declare you official leader of the suesaverse Fanclub :P

Oh, no no no. Fan-clubs are for conformists. If I'm gonna lead anything, it's gonna be a cult.

Even better to be honest

You won't even need to persuade me.

Just found this series @suesa I remembered you from chat, hope you're doing well! :)

I am :)
And you now have the chance to read the whole series without waiting weeks for the next part, congratulations xD

Awesome. Now we just need a part 16 spinoff series.

One question: why do you describe her skin as ashy? here:

Tears fell from his eyes onto Nora-Cephs ashy skin and rolled down her cheeks.

Because she's dead. The skin of dead people is often described as having an "ashy" color. I wanted to make it very clear Nora-Ceph died

Ahhhh ok I didn’t put two and two together.

Garbage.

Great story, i hope take so early the next!!!, and upvote all parts!!!

@suesa your a good story writer i think you should help me to write my fantastic story because i am also interested in story writing

I don't have time to mentor anyone at the moment.

Got a lot of catching up to do... Don't know where I stopped. Well, I will just comb through the links. So no spoilers, as am not gonna read this part yet :/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11