The Doors - Short Fiction Story [Chapter 2]

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone, welcome to chapter two of my fiction story. Be sure to read the first part here and get familiar with our hero.

pexels-photo-221491.jpeg

Today was a long day at the office, boss was in his usual mood and everyone had to stay three hours pass the working hours. It seems that every time we have more work to do, he gets especially angry. His face gets that purple-reddish color, and it almost looks like he is going to explode all over the place, as he puts yet another pile of paperwork on my desk. This pile was a perfect addition to existing ones, and it's blue, I smiled and entertained myself with the image of his head exploding while working out through my mountain of papers.

I felt really exhausted by the end of the day, and the sun was giving up too, slowly disappearing behind the horizon I saw through the window. I couldn't wait to come home, take a long shower and sleep, I thought while pouring another cup of coffee. But then it hit me, before I knew what was happening, I felt like a pro boxer knocked all air from my lungs, and I just couldn't catch my breath anymore. I knew what sleeping meant, and it wasn't rest, my struggle only began. It's not rational to rather stay and work at the office, than go home and sleep, but it was for me. I squeezed my cup, sat at my desk as my colleagues left, determined to finish all the work today.

pexels-photo-461077.jpeg

I never got to open the door that night I was sure I would, and that only made it worse. How can it be worse? That's what I thought, but somehow it always gets a bit harder to force myself to do it, to confront what ever or who ever is on the other side. I would rather work all night, working is nothing new and it is a way better distraction.

I sipped my coffee and got the the blue files on my desk, rubbed my eyes a bit to wake up and continue working. The text became a bit blurry after another half an hour of reading and I couldn't really tell a difference between some numbers any more. My mind was giving up on me, and I was to afraid to let it rest a bit. If I close my eyes just for few minutes, they would rest enough so I can continue, or that's what I thought.

pexels-photo-568027.jpeg

The next thing I remember was opening my eyes what seems to be seconds after I closed them, but there they were in the middle of nothing, big white door. No! I screamed in despair, I'm not even sleeping, this is not fair! But that didn't help, they were standing there, no sound and not a glimmer of hope that they will disappear anytime soon.

Where can a door in the middle of nothing go? Why do I even feel I should go through? Who ever said I had to?! No one. But somehow I knew deep down that there was a purpose for these massive doors. I knew it reminded me to go through something, I just can't make myself to confront just about anything, some things are better left unresolved. But if that's true, why are they still there? No, I can't torture myself any longer I must go through and face it once and for all! I survived many bad things in my life, what's one door going to do to me. What can be worse on the other side, that I haven't already seen here.

I gathered all my courage to take a step closer, still keeping a bit of distance, just in case I change my mind and I had to close them really quickly. My hand started trembling, like a leaf in the wind as I tried to grab the door handle. A bit closer, I can't reach it. Instead of taking another step I stretched as far as I could to open them. I was listening carefully for any sign of danger from the other side, but all I could feel is a breeze, light and warm. That gave me strength to put enough weight on the handle, to finally face the other side.

pexels-photo-147634.jpeg

The lock made a heavy sound and the light started showing through the cracks, brighter than I imagined. The breeze pushed the door my way, the same warm breeze I felt few times. It scared me, looked like someone is trying to open the door from the other side while my hand was still on the handle. I instinctively stepped away, and the doors slowly opened themselves.

I was still paralyzed and barely had enough strength to convince myself not to run away. I stood still waiting for some monster to come from the other side and rip me in to peaces. I closed my eyes, and waited in fear. All I could hear was my own heart, beating out of my chest, but nothing else.

A loud bang, and my heart missed a beat:

That's it, something is coming!

One of those blue files fell to the floor and woke me up! Phew, that was close!

I hope you liked chapter two, any comment is welcome!
Let's see what happens next! Do you have any idea what's to come?

With love
Tamara

Photos:
1
2
3
4

Sort:  

Oooohhhhh I cannot believe it!! The suspense is SO good!!

Also, I just wanted to say I found this sentence absolutely beautiful :

I felt really exhausted by the end of the day, and the sun was giving up too, slowly disappearing behind the horizon I saw through the window.

You are truly good with words Tamara :)
Please say hi to Minnie!

Thank you for taking the time to read and for giving me such an amazing feedback!
I'm blushing over here :D

Minnie sends her (grumpy) kisses, it's raining here :)

Another brilliant one, Tama, cant wait for the third part. Also its seems like auto correct changes your "seem" to "seam". You might want to check that.

Cheers, Tama.
Ras.

Edited, thank you!
@rasamuel

I love the idea of the door! What's on the other side?!!

Thank you! Stay tuned to see what's there :) Feel free to share some ideas, if you have them!

Hmm. Don't let us wait too long. There must be something nice, at least I hope.

I hope so too :)
We'll see!
Thank you for your support!

Oh, I love it! Fantastic suspense. What could possibly be behind those doors?

I don't know yet :) What do you think?

I’m not sure yet, either. It could be many different things, we just don’t know enough about the main character yet for me to make a good guess. :)

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02