Fiction|The Panther's Heir

in #fiction5 years ago

image

SOURCE

Tchalla lay on the bed, old and weak, but a weary smile lit up his wrinkled face when his beloved daughter Timaya walked in and sat beside him. He knew the time was near and spending it with people he loved was all he wanted.
"How was training today?” asked
"Hectic but I beat Ojoye this time,” Timaya said with a smile.
Tchalla returned the smile and patted her hand, "Well Okoye, her mother, whopped my ass back in the days too, she was an extraordinary woman.”
"I know. She used to whop my ass too when I was much younger, I still can't believe she is no more," Timaya said with a sad smile.
"I know you miss her but you don't need Okoye or anybody to prove that you're worthy of wearing the panther suit so wipe off that sad look,” Tchalla said despite his difficulties in breathing.
"Do you have to read my mind every time baba," Timaya said with a grimace.
"I know the meaning of every expression on your face, nothing gets past this old panther.”
"But do you think I will ever be ready to wear the suit, Baba, the responsibilities are not here yet, but they weigh me down.” The uncertainty in Timaya’s voice revealed the state of her mind.
"I became the king of Wakanda unexpectedly, Timaya. The moment my father died in my arms in a strange land, I knew this was it and yes it was not easy but it became simple with my acceptance to challenge myself,” Tchalla said hoping to comfort his daughter with his words.
Timaya sighed, "I hope I will be a worthy queen and panther for Wakanda when it needs me, Baba,” she said.
Tchalla patted her check, "you will be a great queen my daughter, have no fear because we will guide you from beyond,” he said with his last breath and closed his eyes.
Timaya felt her father go limp and her blood ran cold in her veins, she screamed at the guard standing at the entrance of her father's bedroom to get the doctor.
The doctor confirmed her fear when he arrived, king Tchalla the black panther was no more.
While fighting tears she ordered the guards to spread the news of the king’s death.

The entire palace was thrown into chaos and soon the whole of Wakanda would be too, yet all Timaya could do was to sit and stare at her father's, still warm, lifeless body.

It was the voice of Ojoye who was standing few feet away that brought back her attention.
"My princess you have to calm the people before this gets out of hand.”
The words had barely left her mouth when Tchaka and his mother aunt Shuri ran in like there was a fire on their tails.
Aunt Shuri fell on the body of her brother, crying out and tearing at her hair while Tchaka opened his arms wide for Timaya.
She walked into his arms and started crying the moment his arms closed around her.
Aunt Shuri soon joined them and they all grieved for the passing of a man they all loved, respected and cared about.
Tchaka who was named after their late grandfather ordered the guards to bath the dead king and dress him up.
The next few days passed like a blur to Timaya, but the council made sure the king's funeral was a success, he was laid to rest on the fifth day.

A week after that, her coronation was set in motion, the way the mood changed, it was like her father didn’t exit the world two weeks ago but she understand them.
Wakanda had been under treat since they opened their boarder to the outside world and she needed a leader fast, and they were not about to wait for her to make up her mind about being the next ruler.
She and Tchaka were the only members of the royal family who had rights to the throne and it was obvious that he had zero interest in leadership.
She walked towards her aunt Shuri’s lab, hoping she won't be too busy.
"Aunt Shuri, can I talk to you for a second?"
Shuri turned and smiled at her niece, she removed her lab coat and googles, “Why do you look like the weight of the world is on your shoulder, my child?”
"I'm not sure why I feel so uneasy aunty but I dread my coronation, I know it’s just a ceremony but I feel like I'm signing my life away.”
Shuri smiled fondly at her niece, "You remind me of your father, he was just as uncertain as you are.”
"But he was the best aunty, he defeated Moringa and he was a respected member of the Avengers that saved the world several times, will I ever live up to his legacy?”
Shuri sighed and ruffled Timaya's hair, "you don't have to live up to your father's legacy my dear, you just have to make your own legacy and prove you are worthy of the crown.”
Evening was nigh by the time Timaya left her aunty's lab and for the first time since the death of her father, she felt confident and more at ease with herself.
The dying sun cast an orange glow over the land, she pulled her hair into a ponytail and ran towards the sunset, the cool evening breeze caressing her skin and energizing her at the same time.

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63547.08
ETH 3070.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83