One Summer Fantasy Episode #8: Bold moves

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

I walked into my hostel quietly, I went straight to my corner, there was no time to arrange my locker without causing a noise. I quietly kept my clothes under my bunk, I climbed my bed and slept off almost immediately.

I woke up to the sound of

a junior

by one of senior Marvins goons. I quietly tiptoed to the window, I jumped the window and hid outside the hostel, for if he was to notice that I’m back to my hostel.
He will just kill me.

Kai, who’s that person that jumped the window, come here!

he ordered.
I knew I had been made out. I ran straight to the back of my hostel. I was hotly chased by him and some other SS3 guys. The chase led me straight into the bush outside the school fence. They had spotted me.
There and then I knew my life as an outlaw has just begun.

It wasn’t daylight yet, so I went to the stream close to school and slept on a rock. I was woken up by the sound of the assembly drums. I was still on my hostel wear.
I will have to go back to the hostel so I can change into my mopol uniform. I knew I had no other choice, except I don’t want to attend class for that day.

After the students had left for classes, I sneaked into the hostel, arranged my locker, took my bath, wore my uniform and left for classes.
As I got to class, there was a teacher in class already, I took permission and walked in. All the while I kept looking outside for any sign of senior Marvins or senior Pyop.

After the teacher left the class, Ahmed came to my seat.

how far

I come your hostel this morning I no see you, I just see your clothes scatter for everywhere. Kilo sele? (what's happening)" he asked visibly worried.

I narrated everything that happened last night and this morning to him.

why you no come stay for my hostel

he said.

he will still locate me there.
You know one of those him dogs dey your hostel.

I replied him.

well that’s true, so do you mean you want to start a life of an outlaw?

he asked.

I don’t have a choice, I just have to…

Hey Mulla what’s up

Lara cut in as she sat next to me.

Hi Lara, I’m fine

I replied.

how are you feeling now dear

she asked.

I’m better now, thanks.

I replied.

I brought these for you

she said as she pushed meat pie and coke into my hands.

just be fine okay

she continued.

oh thanks, I’ll be fine

I replied, realizing I had missed breakfast. She stood up and left.

your own don better oh

Lara that used to hate you is now the one being so caring

Ahmed teased me.

guy abeg free me jare

I responded.
All the while Zainab was staring at me from her seat.

Break Time

Zainab walked up me.

how are you?

she asked quietly. I ignored her as I munched on the meat pie and coke Lara got for me.

I really don’t know what I’ve done that is making you ignore me this way

please just tell me what I did wrong

she pleaded as she sat next to me.

I thought you were different, well you are actually different, you are worse

I said to her.

fine if that will make you tell me what I did, call me names. But please tell me what I did wrong, I beg you

she pleaded.

I don’t have what to say to a cheap whore

I replied her as I stood up and left the class.

Lara quickly came out to meet me

what did she say she wants

she asked me.

nothing

I replied. I wasn’t ready for any company, so I walked out and headed straight to the library.

you didn’t come for our library duty this morning

she called out. I stood for a moment.

I’m sorry please, I’ll be there tomorrow unfailingly

I replied her.

it’s okay, I marked you present anyway

she said.


After school was over I got up to leave, Zainab blocked my path. I tried sidestepping her but she kept blocking every path I tried to take. I dropped my school bag on the table as I sat on the desk.

Mulla are you coming?

Lara called out.

no he’s not

Zainab answered her without breaking eye contact with me.

Yes, I’m a cheap whore, I admit, but at least what did you hear about me. Can’t you just give me a chance to say my side of the story?

she spoke in a rush.

I want to go to the hostel, please

I replied her, as I wanted going to the hostel to quickly change my uniform and run out from the hostel before senior Marvins and his goons come looking for me.

you’re not leaving this place until I know what I’m being accused of

she retorted.

okay fine,I'll tell you.

who is corper Femi to you?

I asked.

oh Allah, is that the issue?

he’s a son of my dad’s colleague and he’s dating my cousin at home

she replied.

but I’ve been seeing you in odd places with him

what were you doing with him at the lab last night?

I asked.

with who?

she asked looking bemused.

don’t gimme that look.
I saw both of you last night coming down from the lab last night

I shouted.

God that was Bimpe, and we went there to fix her zip. I wasn’t there with any guy

she answered hotly.
Then I realised I actually hadn’t seen the face of the person she was with last night.

oh, but I heard you always go to his quarters everyday

I asked looking like a fool as she explained herself truthfully.

I have never been to his lodge or any teachers apartment in this school for Allah’s sake

she retorted.

that’s not true, you went to Zanzibars house on Saturday, someone saw you

I said to her.

for crying out loud I went to the clinic with Bimpe, she accompanied me there after I had been having headache

she shouted at me.

Mulla I am not seeing anybody else in this school, yes Zanzibar asked me out and I told him no.
I have heard his story from Bimpe and I told him that if he tries any nonsense with me that I will report him to my dad.
Since then he has not approached me again

she continued with raised voices.

Mulla, I love you. I have never lied to you. I have never cheated on you.

if you hear things, why can’t you ask me first before jumping to conclusions?

she said with a lowered voice.
How stupid I have been all along to have ever doubted you.
I said in my mind.

I am so sorry. It happened so fast that I was confused and shocked

I replied her looking so confused and jittery.

I narrated everything to her from when Lara told me about it at the library, to what Ahmed told me and when I discovered her last night. I told her about what I told senior Marvins about her.
I finally told her about senior Pyop and what we had been planning. I laid everything bare to her. I told her the whole truth. I told her how he chased me away from his hostel last night and how I ran into the bush this morning just to evade senior Marvins and his gang and how I am now going to start living as an outlaw.

She drew me and held me in a warm hug, and I realized that’s what I had wanted all along. I longed for her arms to be around me.

I'm sorry I doubted you, I'm so sorry.

I whispered into her ears.

it’s okay baby

images (3).jpeg

source

she said reassuringly.

Bimpe has been telling me of how Lara has been snitching and saying bad things about me.
so I’m not surprised she’s the one who instigated this problem. She just wants to come in between us, and I will not let her or anybody.

I love you so much Mulla

she told me.
I've loved you from the beginning and I never stopped loving you
I told her in my mind.

I can’t reply her because I still have not made up my mind to ask her out yet.

Mulla promise me you won’t let anyone come between us.

she begged as she held my face in her slender palms.

I promise

I replied her.

Just wait for me for a little while more, everything will be over and I will openly ask you out

I assured her.

it’s okay. I will wait. Just know that I love you with all my heart

she told me.
I nodded as we picked our bags as we stepped out.

where are you going to now

she asked.

I won’t be able to go to the hostel, they are all in the hostel by now. I guess I’ll just go to the dinning area and wait. Once it’s fatigue time I’ll quickly dash into the hostel, change up and run to class

I replied her smiling as I cupped her face.

please be careful I beg you. But I still insist we take this matter to the school authority. They can do something about it

she replied me.

don’t worry it’s just a matter of few months, they will hand over prefectship to us and everything will be over

I assured her.

okay no problem, I will see you at night

she said to me.

okay dear, bye.

I replied.

I walked towards the dinning area in a renewed spirit.

My God is not asleep after all. Thank God she approached me today I said to myself

Zainab I love you so so much. Just a few months time baby, all these will be over, I’ll be yours and you’ll be mine and mine alone

I spoke aloud as I smiled at myself sheepishly.

To be Continued…

Read previous Episodes

One Summer Fantasy Episode 1

One Summer Fantasy Episode 2

One summer Fantasy Episode 3

One Summer Fantasy Episode 4

One Summer Fantasy Episode 5

One Summer Fantasy Episode 6

One Summer Fantasy Episode 7

@ungest

Sort:  

Nice one boss

Thanks fine man

Interesting piece

Interesting story..waiting for the next episode

I'll sure drop it soon. Thanks for reading through

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66363.68
ETH 3207.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27