Sort:  

You just planted 0.05 tree(s)!


Thanks to @viking-ventures

We have planted already 3285.20 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 19484.06
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

The Courtship of Princess Shana

Haha, this reminded me of The Courtship of Princess Leia, a tragically hilarious entry into the world of Star Wars expanded universe novels. I am sure yours is much better. There aren't dragons, are there?

no matter how many times the book is proofread, read aloud, read to my husband, etc, there are always a glaringly obvious correction to make as I read the post on Steemit!

Yes, yes, a thousand times yes! I am convinced there is a script that runs when you click the "Post" button which inserts a few random typos into your writing.

I’m still offering 1 Steem Basic Income share for any minnow who asks me a question which prompts an “Ask the Author” post!

I'll bite! When you have the idea for a novel, at what point (if ever) do you outline the overall story, and how do you do it? Do you prefer a bullet list? A dramatis personae? A rough outline? A few sentences summarizing each chapter? Or do you just jump in with a start and end point loosely defined in your head and just let the pen figure out how to get there as you go?

Thank you for the very amusing comment! (It does not help my TMJ/D to be laughing so much - thankfully, it doesn't hurt as much as it did the other day.)

"The Courtship of Princess Shana" might still end up with a different name. We will have to wait and see - after all, she was only 12 in her 850 TCE book and I'm currently working on the 851 TCE collection, where she will feature again (albeit briefly.)

I never read The Courtship of Princess Leia, though I did intend to. Now that the Star Wars Universe is mostly ruined by the JJ Abrahms lot, they may become less relevant, sadly. But yes, that universe is a major inspiration for me. My favorite book of the series remains I, Jedi - possibly the only first-person Star Wars book. My favorite scene is where Corran Horn is found with his light saber and he more-or-less turns it into the gearshift of a speeder, or something... Darn, I need to read it again!
I do have dragons - or maybe... most of them disappeared between the leya - perhaps when the invaders took over Velantia and renamed it Vendaria - about the time the A'mara were forced off the island... The gods had dragons though - as you'll find out when I serialize Brighid's Blood - and I expect they're still around. Maybe they'll come back in the time of the Troubles...

As for the random typos - I'm amazed that there's a script that simultaneously puts those random typos into my LibreOffice documents!!! Then, there's the stupid mistakes that I make - such as putting surnames on my characters only to find (in my written notes) that some of them already had surnames that I'd forgotten about... Then, to decide which name I like better - or will be an easier fix...

I like your question... I will get to work on it. :-)
(And I needed an excuse to sponsor an SBI share anyway...)

Woohoo! I used to stack silver but now I am addicted to stacking SBI :D

I love Corran Horn! I wanted an X-Wing with that green CorSec livery so bad! He was probably in my top 5 favorite characters from that universe, and the X-Wing series by Michael Stackpole and continued by that other guy were my absolute favorites in the bunch (though Zahn does give them a run for their money with his Thrawn trilogy, which adds another 2 names to my top 5 list: Talon Karrde and Thrawn himself). I think I only read I, Jedi once, but yes as you said, maybe it's time for a re-read!

Hope you get to feeling better soon!

I just looked - I'm up to 22 shares now. I started off in the 5th pool, I think it was - or maybe it was the 6th - now, I'm in the 2nd. :)
Have you joined the Discord group for steembasicincome? Good group of people.

Corran Horn and his whole concept inspired me a lot - some of those stories will turn up during/after the Troubles, but I haven't even started writing in that era yet - about two generations beyond what I've been doing recently.

Have you ever read Darth Plagueis I think that was James Luceno (love his writing!) That was just amazing - showing Palpatine from a protagonist point of view... making him into a sympathetic character. It was very good, very inspiring - and should be very warning too...

Better go and write your post so I can send you an SBI share. :-)
Don't worry, I am relaxing - the best medicine for TMJ, it seems - but writing is often very relaxing for me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61618.64
ETH 3009.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78