Short Story | Cursed

in #fiction5 years ago (edited)


6:13 a.m.

Paranoia tends to leave me exhausted and in a hysteric bliss state. Everything brings maniac laughter out of me. I have tried to quit smoking for quite a while, but in moments like these, a cigarette is a must. So, I spend my last few dollars on getting off.

7:44 p.m.

I'm home alone. Riffs and vocals hit the speakers hard. The music gushes out of my chest, burbling until I can't resist the urge to scream the lyrics. I'm alone, and I raise my voice to kill the silence. To shut up the fear.

2:08 a.m.

Anxiety strikes me awake violently, again. I sit on the bed, trying to pace down my breathing. Even though I have read about these episodes over and over, I'm clueless of what to do, and that makes it worse. I cry myself to sleep, once again.

9:27 a.m.

The crimson red dress and the black boots are now the only fittable clothes in my closet. It feels almost stupid to be worrying about this kind of things too, but an ugly sensation can stop me from going out wearing certain attires. I can't stand the look of them over my skin.

10:33 a.m.

I had to get out of the house. This intolerable apprehension is starting to crawl and eat me up inside. I stay at the edge of the bench, hoping that the silly chitchat I hear would distract me just enough. It doesn't work. I'm lonelier than ever.

4:51 p.m.

Being in front of the computer, I feel the urge to write, but also the repulsion. There is something in me that doesn't want to speak up, to cry for help. To try to work on some fiction is almost hypocritical, and since the truth won't come out, I have no option but to close the laptop and try to get some sleep.

8:22 p.m.

Invisible burdens weigh me down so bad I think I'm about to sink into the mattress. My eyelids are sore from the endless weeping. I'm weak as fuck. I hate myself for it. Enough is enough. I can't keep going like this anymore. This time is for real. Is it?

3:03 a.m.

I should reach out to someone, anyone. But what if that person checks the inbox on the exact moment to save me? Better to say nothing, then. I wouldn't want that, would I?

5:11 a.m.

Today is the day. I guess. It seems like this time I really can't go on. But I have that class today... Maybe I should wait after all, and do one more thing, take one more step. I can always kill myself later.

You will always have that option until you use it.


The use of the selected music as a soundtrack for the story is highly recommended to enhance the reading experience.

This story was partially inspired by @arseniclullaby's post. Go check it. Some things need to be said out loud, and more importantly, heard. So, fellow, try to understand, practice empathy, raise awareness and always show love to your family and friends.


Thank you, @mariannewest, for another #freewrite challenge. Today's prompt is inbox. To learn more and take part go here.


Sort:  

Hi zoexantelamv,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

@zoexantelamv. I love 2 songs you recommended. I fell in love the instance I listen to it. Your story wrote base on Curse song is it? I didn't read the lyrics of the song. But bit of pieces i heard it something related to the song.
You have wrote the story in diary form and its new to reader. And it interesting to read story in this format. I like how you deliver your story together with the song. You was creative. I listen to Curse song twice.. even when I wrote this comment, i still listen ...
This would be another great story after your "Dope-ill-gang-her"

Thank you, @oliviackl :D I'm glad you liked the story and the recommended songs. I found Jacob Lee by chance thanks to YouTube's autoplay, and I fell in love with his music. And yes, the plot is partly inspired by Cursed. Thank you for remembering Dope-ill-gang-her and for stopping by!

I need to thank you for recommend me listen to Jacob Lee‘s song. I also fell in love with his song. Very creative of you to write story base on a song.. You always write base on a song or this was your first tried?

Posted using Partiko Android

Some of the things I've written are inspired by music, but this was the first time I intentionally linked the plot to the theme of the song. I did that to give it more strenght to the story.

And you definitely nailed it. It brought to a different feel of story reading. And a different level of enjoyment when read the story while listen to the music.

Posted using Partiko Android

It is interesting that people have the same thoughts and mood sometimes, there is a real battle inside every of us making to do what we are doing. There are many who finds a distraction in their jobs, friends, or may be hobby and that is majority but there are few of us who have that battle and we do not everyone else to know what is happening because we do not want them to think how weird we are and that can destroy us from inside too. I like that you presented your story like it is, that give a realistic touch to it. The music that you attaching has its own melancholy and makes people think.

I appreciate your words. Awareness of this subjects is much needed, in my opinion. I still have to face, almost on a daily basis, the consequences of society's ignorance (or intended blindness) about real issues like depression or anxiety. I'm glad you liked the story, thank you for stopping by!

Congratulations @zoexantelamv! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 7000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 8000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Consequences of anxiety are still undervalued by society and people suffering are still afraid to speak their mind and tell us about how they feel. Why should they be ashamed? I don't understand that. Looking 'normal' doesn't mean that someone doesn't have a serious problem.

Thank you for spreading awareness. Let's be emphatic and really listen to what other want to tell us.

Have a great weekend!

I agree with you, @delishtreats, why should we be ashamed? It's really hard to deal with the consequences of society's ignorance (or intended blindness) about real issues like depression or anxiety. Thank you for your words, have a great weekend you too! <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66095.77
ETH 3184.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.12