Short story | σχίζειν φρήν

in #fiction5 years ago (edited)

Did you run away?
Did you run away? I don’t need to know
If you ran away
If you ran away, come back home
Just come home


The warmth of a twirling sunray, guided by the wind on the bedroom curtains, slowly started to wake me up. Without opening my eyes yet, I stretched every muscle and rummaged under the sheets for a way out. The fragrance of fresh-made coffee finally gave me my sight back, along with an awakening hunger.

Sensing the cold parquet beneath my bare feet, I led to the kitchen and poured a cup of coffee. While tasting it, I tried to catch a glimpse of Alek through the window. Could he be working in the garden? Nothing. The remembrance of last night's fight frayed the thin strands of joy I had managed to gather this morning. So, I let the weight of mixed emotions carry me back to bed.


I thought my demons were almost defeated
But you took their side
And you pulled them to freedom
I kept your secrets and I thought that
You would do the same


— You don't want me anymore.

— Alek, of course I d...

He interrupted me, bursting in anger and pain. Irritation conferred his voice a harsh tone that hurt my ears.

— You're kicking me out, as you always try to do.

— I promise this is only a temporary solution. You know how much I love you.

— Then why are you kicking me out? You couldn't be more egoistic right now.

I looked down to the whitish pills in my left hand and watched the tears fall over them. I raised the glass of water and swallowed them along with the awful knot in my throat.


You're dislocated, don't be like that
And you smile when you dive in like you're never coming back
So hold my body, yeah, hold my breath
See your face when I blackout, I'm never coming back


It's minutes after midnight now. The hazy, blurred vision of a smiling house, our beautiful home, strikes me awake violently. I close my eyes, and my mind forms memories on the remaining blackness. I can see the green droplets of his stunning irises, just as clear as if he was only centimeters away from me. But he is not here. He is never coming back. He is never coming back, so I crawl and curve my body trying to ease the pain. Nothing works.

Out of despair, I scream, I hit the edges of my enclosure. I collide with the creamy color of the walls around me. Since I can't stand the things that the paint brings back from the back of my mind, I begin to scratch it, tear it down until it turns crimson red.

My door opens, and an unknown man approaches me, needle in hand. I don't understand what is happening. Fear roots me to the ground. He sticks the hypodermic to my forearm, and I can't resist, can't find the strength to fight back. I'm too scared to move. As the haloperidol kicks in, delusions start fading; I'm losing him all over again. No more home, no more garden, no more us. I sink.

See you on the other side, Alek, my love.


σχίζειν (schizein) φρήν (phrēn)


The use of the selected music as a soundtrack for the story is highly recommended to enhance the reading experience.

Sort:  

This was a great story, now try writing one in 5 minutes on today's prompt below. Make sure you tag #freewrite 🤭

I'm not going Postal, just delivering today's prompt 📬

Webp.net-compress-image__1540446451_75.1.212.152.jpg

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-384-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-small-talk

One of my dreams is that books can have music incorporated, and your story accompanied by music made me happy for a moment, what a great idea you had when doing that, I loved reading with background music. Thanks for sharing this great idea with users.

I absolutely agree with you, some books should definitely come with incorporated music! Thank you for your comment, I'm glad you enjoyed the story. Perhaps you'd enjoy some insight on the facts behind it :D Here's a post where I talk about it.

https://steemit.com/fiction/@zoexantelamv/disclosure-or-anna-and-alek-characters-from-sxizein-frin-a-short-story

Thanks for sharing your story @zoexantelamv. Love or the loss of love can be such a hard thing. I still haven't got relationships figured out. I've lost love enough to know how much it hurts.

Fantastic accompanying music. I especially enjoyed the Jacob Lee track. Thanks for exposing me to his music. It was the first time I heard him and now I'm digging into all his stuff on Spotify.

Thanks so much for sharing.

I'm glad you enjoyed the story and that you followed the soundtrack suggestions. Thank you for stopping by!

Always happy to!

Hi there! Perhaps you'd enjoy some insight on the facts behind this short story :D Here's a post where I talk about it. And yeah, Jacob Lee is awesome! I found it recently thanks to YouTube's autoplay.

https://steemit.com/fiction/@zoexantelamv/disclosure-or-anna-and-alek-characters-from-sxizein-frin-a-short-story

Awesome! Gonna check it out today. Thanks for following up.

Really liking Jacob Lee tho. Got him all over my Spotify 😂 I've been finding so many good artists just by digging through steemit and interacting with different people and posts. It's great.

Screen Shot 2018-11-11 at 7.56.15 AM.png

Oh c'mon guys this is not that hard

First we have a vivid depiction of the ordinary life of a couple, just a morning like any other, coffee and love is in the air

In contrast, comes a discussion, not everything is at it seems, life is complicated after all, but we'll do our best right?

But what is this a rude awakening, the worst is happening separation anguish and pain, solitude and darkness

But the worst is just gonna get worst..er, an enclosure, with plain walls and a guardian at the door bringing a modern pacifier... THE PLOT TWIST IS INCOMING! Our dear protagonist is tormented by demons deep inside the mind, love and life, all an ilussion, but what cause it?

σχίζειν (schizein) φρήν (phrēn)

That my friends

And that's why I love you and your short stories, they are condenced but built perfectly, masterpiece <3

What a sad story. Reading through it I understand that the argument was the last time that she talked to him. He probably stormed out of the house, got into the car and drove off. He was angry and desperate and didn't pay attention.. now he is on the other side and she was grieving so much that she got insane..

You make me think of all the small arguments that people have.. all discussion that end up in disagreement when one leaves the room angry.. all times when we said something what we regretted afterwards.. we were probably lucky and we were able to make it right but what if something like that will happen once to us? What if we will not be able to say I'm sorry anymore? We should be kind to each other. We should try to understand the motivation behind the behavior of our beloved ones until it's not too late.

Thank you for sharing and making me thinking :) Peace and love! :)

I'm glad you liked it! Thank you for your comment <3 Part of my motivation was to contribute to raise awareness somehow about mental illnesses. Perhaps you'd enjoy some insight on the facts behind this short story :D Here's a post where I talk about it.

https://steemit.com/fiction/@zoexantelamv/disclosure-or-anna-and-alek-characters-from-sxizein-frin-a-short-story

Thank you for sharing the link. I'm going to check it out.

Hi zoexantelamv,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

You’ve been featured in our weekly curation post Freewrite Favorites at @freewritehouse. Thank you for participating and raising the bar with awesome, creative freewrites! Freewrite On!

freewriteFavorites-300px.png

You story is full of emotions, the situation from real life, two who love each other but also there is always a misunderstanding why it happens to us, may be because sometimes we do not talk openly and just assume that everything clear automatically, we do not care to take a time and listen to each other. Both parts are like sparkle and fire that burns everything on its way. Wonderful music videos accompanying the story :)

Hi there! Thank you for your comment <3 I'm very glad you liked the story and that you enjoyed the music. If you'd like some insight on the facts behind the plot, here is a post I made about it :D

https://steemit.com/fiction/@zoexantelamv/disclosure-or-anna-and-alek-characters-from-sxizein-frin-a-short-story

You are an amazing writer. This story really got to me on multiple levels too difficult to explain right now. You mentioned to me you weren't sure if people were grasping the concept of this but you certainly got through to me. I wish I had to more to say at the moment but my brain's a little dysfunctional. Thank you <3333

Thank you for reading <3333 Your comments always make my day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66530.34
ETH 3251.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.36