The Impossible Decision - A Fifty Words Story

in #fiftywords5 years ago (edited)

say-goodbye-2890801__480.jpg

"I love him.

I need him.

He is my everything.

I wish I could take his pain away. I'd take it ten times over, just to see his eyes smile once more.

The law forbids it.

My heart agrees.

But, how can I deny his wish, my dearest Albert.

Goodbye."


This was my entry into @jayna's #fiftywords contest. This is a great way to get back into writing, hone your writing skills or just try out writing. We are building a super supportive little community here now under the watchful eye of @jayna. I encourage you to give it a go and be sure to check out as many other stories as you can, leave a comment, upvote them if you like what you have read and support each other :o)

This week's prompt was "goodbye", see @jayna's page for full details.

The picture I used above is not my own and the source is here

Thanks for taking the time to read my little story.

Peace out.

Ablaze.jpg

Sort:  



This post has been rated by the user-run curation platform CI! In this platform users are able to manually curate content. This is done regardless of Steem Power, for both rewards and vote size calculation.

Join in at our site here!
https://collectiveintelligence.red/

Or join us on discord to interact with the community!
https://discord.gg/sx6dYxt



This post was submitted for curation by: @theironfelix
This post was given a rating of: 0.7887772506999097
This post was voted: 79.0%

Great story, @ablaze. Hard decision to help someone leave pain and suffering behind.

Thanks @hlezama... The final goodbye was the first thing that popped into my mind for this prompt and soon after Euthanasia, so I decided to go with that theme this week. Glad you enjoyed it. It must be such a tough decision to make, but I guess ultimately someone else has made their decision, you are just assisting them. The trouble is with the law and potentially getting charged with murder. To be fair though it is a very tricky subject and must be very hard to legislate for.

Yes, it is tricky; although some countries complicate it more than others. I think that the individuals should own their bodies, decide what to do with it. No state should impose suffering to a person or their family just invoking an alleged respect for life no matter what.
States tend to do things and support actions that violate life in ways more radical and disgusting than a person's decision to end it when it's fair or they see fit.

Oh dear me, it took me two reads for me to gain full understanding, but then it clicked. What a devastating decision she must make. @ablaze, this is an exemplary use of the prompt, and a great example of a complete story in 50 words, including the characters, the conflict and the resolution. Well done!

Thanks a million @jayna. Delighted to be featured in your highlights and so good of you to resteem also.
Thanks a lot for your kind words of encouragement here too :o)

Finally got around to reading some fifty-word taskers. I must state, 'tis a saddening tale that almost echoes/reflects Antigone (of the Law of the Heart and Legalism that otherwise might not care for the Heart) in certain aspects. Upvot'd and resteem'd.
Interestin' stuff 'ere.gif

Thanks so much for those kind words, upvote and resteem.

I really appreciate it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72