[Fiftywords] Her Shelves (Micro-fiction)

in #fiftywords5 years ago (edited)

Hello again everyone, this is another story for Fiftywords challenge which is managed by @jayna. The prompt this week is "book."

AhmadmangaCovers_Fiftywords.jpg

The prompt this time is interesting one, and I had many ideas but the idea I decided to use was in my head for a long time, I just didn't find the suitable prompt to write it. So here we go:


Her Shelves

Again, he sneaked into her old library.
He took a random book, and sat on the chair he believed was hers.

He read all the books before, but he'll read them again and again.
Because he might get a clearer image of the woman who died giving birth to him.

The End


What are your thoughts?

There was a saying: "To know a person, know what he reads." I based this story on imagined version of myself.

My real-life mother has a big library of books, I read many of them since I was young (not so much in the recent years) I was thinking if my mother wasn't alive I might've read the books trying to imagine what she was like. Of course, my mother is still alive so it's only "what if" scenario.

If you found any mistake in my english please tell me.
Thanks for reading.


Cover image is made using photo by Alfons Morales on Unsplash.
Sort:  

Wow. That is powerful. Sad and tragic, but very powerful.

Thanks for reading. I really hoped the last line was powerful enough!

Because he might get a clearer image of the woman who died giving birth to him.

I loved this last line. It took me by surprise and reminds me of the I Ching hexagram: #27 - The Corners of the Mouth

THE JUDGEMENT:
The CORNERS OF THE MOUTH.
Perseverance brings good fortune.
Pay heed to the providing of nourishment
And to what a man seeks
To fill his own mouth with.

Thanks for reading, I wanted the last line to be impactful, I'm glad it did so to you~

Kind of a sad take on the book prompt, but, then again, so was mines as well. Well, may the lil’ boy get to know something of their dead mother. Upvot’d and resteem’d.
74F00B40-B6FA-4CF6-AC30-B0E73E0ED9FF.gif

Yeah, I don't like the (completely) sad stories, but I love the bittersweet ones, like what I consider mine.

Nice! I can relate to it (my mother died last year, still have a lot of her books, ready to read them one day...)

Thanks for reading, wish you the best.

Great story. Surprising ending. I agree with that premise. Books tell a lot about their owners.

Glad you were surprised by the ending, that's what I was aiming for... and yeah books do tell about their owners.

Very nice, @ahmadmanga. This is really touching. I can almost imagine such a scenario based on your story. One would have a curiosity that could never be satisfied.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64549.55
ETH 3170.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13